List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Looks all hope is gone of 7 or 8 but If the Dees don’t want to give up the picks in the 20s surely that’s where we get involved.

Dees (still overs imo)
In- 7 & 12
Out- Trac

Eagles (we get up the board)
In- 8
Out- 13 & 34 + no bids on academy players that’s a lot of points (nearly identical in points)

GC (they get their man and their kids)
In- Trac
Out- 7 & 8
Who gets 34? GC?
I assume it’s 13 to Melb not 12?

The base of this trade makes sense because 7 and 8 for a 30yo Tracc is just too much.

What kind of offers do you think a fully fit, in his prime NicNat Would be getting?

If Trac is 2 1sts then Nic would be 4
NAH hE nEeDs tO mArK iT mOrE

Insane how underrated NN was - wtf was that even about?
  • VIC bias? Either not watching him closely enough or not wanting to rate someone from WA?
  • Racism?
The tribunal decisions against NN were outrageous. The media criticism against NN were outrageous.

I'd honestly have him as one of the greatest players of the modern era.

Kind of seeing it again with Harley - so maybe write off the racism bit. The flog media talking heads just love to chop down any WC star while pumping up their own golden children.

Dons will also have pick 9 from the Hawks to play with so they'll have plenty of currency to get 2.
I expect Dons will initially offer 6 + 9 for 2 + 13.

I would counter with 6 + 9 for 2 + 33 but hold firm on 5 + 6 +21 for 2 + 13 +33.

1760340484129.png

The last being most reasonable and for me, most palatable for both parties.

We get Duursma plus whoever we really want at 5 and 6. We then get to hold 21 for a possible great slider or we sell off on the day.

NAH hE nEeDs tO mArK iT mOrE

Insane how underrated NN was - wtf was that even about?
  • VIC bias? Either not watching him closely enough or not wanting to rate someone from WA?
  • Racism?
The tribunal decisions against NN were outrageous. The media criticism against NN were outrageous.

I'd honestly have him as one of the greatest players of the modern era.

Kind of seeing it again with Harley - so maybe write off the racism bit. The flog media talking heads just love to chop down any WC star while pumping up their own golden children.
Nic also copped plenty of nonsense about having to "learn the game" because of his Fijian heritage despite growing up on a street playing footy alongside Chris Yarran and Michael Walters. Kind of shit that Chol and Aliir Aliir never seemed to have to cop, thankfully. Racism was definitely part of it.

Trade

2, 13 2027F1 for 5, 6 2026f1

Get Cochrane at all costs

Essendon do this as they have a very highly rated FS prospect in 2027
This is an interesting suggestion

When you're sitting at home staring at your PC and reading and digesting all the if, buts and maybes in this forum it's easy to fall into the belief that WC could have done better with their negotiations. Negotiations are a two-way street and what you want doesn't always result in the outcome you were chasing. Having said that I think the trades to date have produced a pretty reasonable outcome.

Personally, I'd like to see us retain picks 1 and 2 but if there is to be pick swap then perhaps 2 for two first rounders in the top 8 (unlikely).

Just watched William's and Walley's highlights package on YouTube, a bit (actually a lot) to like with these two.

I reckon we're well and truly heading in the right direction.
I think a few people here have to realise that they really don’t have any f***ing idea.

Not one bad trade this period but people are losing their sh**. We’re picking up some great players in the right age brackets, and heading to the draft with a king’s ransom.

For those wanting odds for next season, here is the post GF but before close of trade period odds.

1760341689103.png

For those looking at future value, Port and Carlton are there but Port have sold everything this year to be stocked up next year. Blues have not yet moved 10 into 2026 but are eager to do so.

Demons are ranked at 13 but I could see being without Clarry and Trac, it would only take an injury to Max and they finishing bottom 4. As it is, they are tipped to have pick 6

When I state value, it is terms of holding their future picks

I expect Dons will initially offer 6 + 9 for 2 + 13.

I would counter with 6 + 9 for 2 + 33 but hold firm on 5 + 6 +21 for 2 + 13 +33.

View attachment 2454997

The last being most reasonable and for me, most palatable for both parties.

We get Duursma plus whoever we really want at 5 and 6. We then get to hold 21 for a possible great slider or we sell off on the day.
Would take 5,6 and 21 for 2,13 and 33.

21 feels like a good chance for one of the WA lads.

Would take 5,6 and 21 for 2,13 and 33.

21 feels like a good chance for one of the WA lads.
Seems like there’s a decent chance Williams gets bid on before 21 though, so it’s a risk if we do that trade and then have to trade it on draft night for less than it’s worth because we’re scrambling.

Has there been any info that we are into Cody?
None whatsoever that I’m aware of. If we don’t trade up with our late picks he’d be a good selection at 34 if available although really should be trading all those picks either up the order this year or into the 2R next year.

Agree, I feel at 34 and he gets a good preseason under his belt he could be a steal. Develop as a KPD we need.

Only issue is list spots. If we take him that could cost us if a bid comes later for Evans on draft night

For those wanting odds for next season, here is the post GF but before close of trade period odds.

View attachment 2455018

For those looking at future value, Port and Carlton are there but Port have sold everything this year to be stocked up next year. Blues have not yet moved 10 into 2026 but are eager to do so.

Demons are ranked at 13 but I could see being without Clarry and Trac, it would only take an injury to Max and they finishing bottom 4. As it is, they are tipped to have pick 6
We need to go after melbournes F1 based on that. They will be shocking without Tracc and Oliver and with viney and gawn a year older struggling to win them games.

Agree, I feel at 34 and he gets a good preseason under his belt he could be a steal. Develop as a KPD we need.

Only issue is list spots. If we take him that could cost us if a bid comes later for Evans on draft night
Cody is comfortably the better prospect than Koby IMO and happy to take that risk, although Koby does have some terrific attributes and if he reaches his ceiling could be an incredibly damaging mid/fwd. Really, really hope they haven’t bungled the list spots.

I would hope we’ve at least asked the question, Essendon will struggle to get the points for the FS without a “high” natural first given Tassie coming in.

I think Essendon are 1/4 teams that can finish last next season.
I like it. It's left field, it's confident and it's a swing at Cochrane.

Cody is comfortably the better prospect than Koby IMO and happy to take that risk, although Koby does have some terrific attributes and if he reaches his ceiling could be an incredibly damaging mid/fwd. Really, really hope they haven’t bungled the list spots.
Could all be fixed if we just delist Barnett and move him to the rookie list. I prefer delist all together but I know we won’t do that

Looks all hope is gone of 7 or 8 but If the Dees don’t want to give up the picks in the 20s surely that’s where we get involved.

Dees (still overs imo)
In- 7 & 13
Out- Trac

Eagles (we get up the board)
In- 8
Out- 13 & 34 + no bids on academy players that’s a lot of points (nearly identical in points)

GC (they get their man and their kids)
In- Trac, 34
Out- 7 & 8

By my math that leaves Gold Coast over 700 points short of being able to match bids at 3 and 4.

Wheras 7/8 for Trac/24/28 will allow them to match those bids with all their picks downs to 36.

If Melbourne refuse to add 24 and 28 to the trade, like you are hypothesizing... I tihink it would have to be some crazy 3 or 4 team trade to get Gold Coast the necessary points.

Why would we trade 13 to get 21, when we used a similar pick to get 13
Because some options don't present themselves until other moves are made