List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

The Great Ah Chee Cover-Up... Conspiracy Theory Time

Rumour has it that during the early days of the trade period, West Coast list boss Matt Clarke and Brisbane’s ever-calculating Dom Ambrogio met behind closed doors, or perhaps over a “totally innocent” flat white to hatch a secret plan.

The alleged plot? Keep Cal Ah Chee out of Adelaide’s hands at all costs. Strengthening a South Australian rival was simply not on the agenda.

In exchange for a gentleman’s handshake, West Coast quietly agreed not to bid on Dan Annable, and in return, the Ah Chee deal would mysteriously “fall through” just before the deadline.

Coincidentally, that’s exactly what happened — Ah Chee now finds himself sliding toward the Pre-Season Draft, where… who just happens to have pick one?

Clarke, of course, is vehemently denying any interest, telling reporters he “doesn't fit our list profile”, however insiders will later "leak" that Don Pyke himself has demanded that the Eagles come circling back with an offer too good to refuse.

Some say it’s a morally flexible masterstroke...others say it’s downright corrupt. Either way, if Ah Chee ends up in blue and gold, don’t be surprised if a few coffee tabs between Perth and Brisbane mysteriously go unpaid.

Well I for one am hoping this is true.

We would really improve with starcevich, Robertson and achee in our side along with young.

The Great Ah Chee Cover-Up... Conspiracy Theory Time

Rumour has it that during the early days of the trade period, West Coast list boss Matt Clarke and Brisbane’s ever-calculating Dom Ambrogio met behind closed doors, or perhaps over a “totally innocent” flat white to hatch a secret plan.

The alleged plot? Keep Cal Ah Chee out of Adelaide’s hands at all costs. Strengthening a South Australian rival was simply not on the agenda.

In exchange for a gentleman’s handshake, West Coast quietly agreed not to bid on Dan Annable, and in return, the Ah Chee deal would mysteriously “fall through” just before the deadline.

Coincidentally, that’s exactly what happened — Ah Chee now finds himself sliding toward the Pre-Season Draft, where… who just happens to have pick one?

Clarke, of course, is vehemently denying any interest, telling reporters he “doesn't fit our list profile”, however insiders will later "leak" that Don Pyke himself has demanded that the Eagles come circling back with an offer too good to refuse.

Some say it’s a morally flexible masterstroke...others say it’s downright corrupt. Either way, if Ah Chee ends up in blue and gold, don’t be surprised if a few coffee tabs between Perth and Brisbane mysteriously go unpaid.
You can't serve a delicious rumour pie without the sauce

Nah I think just commenting on how he’s a meat and three veg, workmanlike, get the job done type of hard nut - who is just a winner.

I like those types - Murphy Reid was one pre last draft that was all ‘just finds the footy / great vision & hands’. It’s certainly not run of the mill to consistently dominate as a junior with seemingly not too much flash or tricks to pull out. Really like what Sharp would bring to us
I was keen on reid instead of ballan as reid did come with the super smart footballer tag with his skills and has that pendlebury vibe , unfortunately it is with the flogs down the road. Im keen on sharp , hopefully his contested side and smarts get to that level

If CDT really is 204 now (and possibly still growing) that really does change things.

We also have to remember that the clubs have all the combine info, whereas we just have the top tens. If, as someone said higher up, his jumps were just outside the top ten he's definitely more appealing, which is a good thing no matter what way we go. Either we draft a more appealing prospect, or there's more drive for say essendon to get silly and offer 5+6. Can't lose.
Obviously losing a little puppy fat and gaining more muscle. His results might have a greater positive curve then others

Don’t disagree but so are Swallow and Duncan and apparently we had/have interest there. I’d take him before Swallow but I reckon he would want a 2 year deal to move and he isn’t worth that
Assuming they're depth/leadership rather than coming to play afl(i wouldnt play titch in our best 22) id take Swallow over titch comfortably

Tom Mitchell would be ideal as a rookie for a year or two.

He’s an elite preparer, can find the ball in the contest despite his size and although perhaps not the quickest has so much midfield experience that we just genuinely lack at present.

Like Starcevich has been around elite premiership winning teams as well which only be a good thing for our younger crowd. I feel like we could do a lot worse with one of our 4 extra slots. I get the feeling we want someone a bit younger but we could do a lot worse- he’s a known quantity.

Selling him coming over with a newborn on the way might be a hard sell, but could dangle a coaching opportunity as well.

He’s an elite preparer, can find the ball in the contest despite his size and although perhaps not the quickest has so much midfield experience that we just genuinely lack at present.

Like Starcevich has been around elite premiership winning teams as well which only be a good thing for our younger crowd. I feel like we could do a lot worse with one of our 4 extra slots. I get the feeling we want someone a bit younger but we could do a lot worse- he’s a known quantity.

Selling him coming over with a newborn on the way might be a hard sell, but could dangle a coaching opportunity as well.
Would be a good back up for Yeo in the injury room when Elliot is fit.

No he wouldn't. He is an elite preparer but barely gets up every week. He would end up in the WAFL side, taking valuable experience away from our young crop who have to develop in his exact position.

If we are going to spend the extra rookies spots the AFL gave us, we need to be spending them on players 21-26yo.
One of
Clohesy
Blamaris
Phillips

Clohesy would be my #1 pick for the midfield. I'd also be keeping close tabs on Will Phillips and Ben Hobbs situations. Shame Tom Mitchell is cooked, because we really are missing that sort of experience in there. Fingers crossed we see the return of angry Yeo because 2024 was glorious when he was up and going.

Tom Mitchell delisted..not a sexy option, would we go there for free? Perhaps after a few beers?

Nope, and I've been one of those thinking maybe Kamdyn McIntosh could do a job for us.

Game has gone well past him.

The way the game is going, transition football is essential and Tom Mitchell is not capable of that (and would only get worse). There's a reason not a single team has displayed interest.

If CDT really has grown to 204cm that changes things. Makes him a legitimate pick no.2 on potential. Not sure I believe it though. It’s almost impossible for a guy to be that tall and run the way he does, both over 20m and 2km.

Gotta take CDT. Looked at his video minutes, and he will be a gun, a beast. For all those that said he can't mark or ruck, what nonsense. He is a sound mark and his tapwork was on point. He is too good not to take with pick 1 or 2. Every mock has him at either 1 or 2.