List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. 2021 Edition

Follow link below for contract status of all current players

I think "Weagles" is something that started as derogatory but then became accepted as a nickname by the fan base. I have heard plenty of Eagles say "Weagles" in an affectionate manner.

I can see this as an absolute disaster of a rule. The game will be riddled with 50m penatlies for the first quarter of the season until the umpires work out how the fu** to interpret it. Most AFL players should be able to actually kick over the man on the mark regardless of where they stand. Yet more sh1tf*ckery from AFL house.

It actually makes the umps job easier. Previously players were moving sideways and the umps had to interpret if they had encroached. Needed to make another decision.

Now it is black and white. Move sideways off the mark you infringe. Stand the mark your fine.

It simplifies the situation and umpiring it.

Will they allow multiple players on the mark for a shot on goal late in a game as they've done for years? The new rule sounds like it scraps this.

I hope so, I so hate that crap. Should only be one on the mark. That was one of the first rules I was taught when starting out in the game.

Or can you just take a step back from the mark and make a lateral movement?

Exactly.

Nothing stopping me from moving 10cm back off the mark, THEN moving laterally to "cover the corridor".

If they don't allow that and they're going to make some pleb stand still with his hands up like netball, it's gonna look dumber than the ruck nomination.

That Web BS, was made up by Vic commentators just so it was ok to belittle the club by making it ok to say 'Weagles' . Some flogs still say it when commentating.
Not sure where your evidence comes from. I recall Gerald Healy explaining it for the first time in an episode of "On The Couch". It was insightful and full of praise for the Eagles coaching staff and players.

I would go further and say that Healy is one of the biggest West Coast admirers and is usually full of complements about the club.

You might want to mute the sound on the TV when "Big Boy BT" and "Farts, Dicks and Bums Brayshaw" are on the commentary and stay away from Channel 9 and whatever is left of the Footy Show. They dribble sh1t and embarrass themselves.

Exactly.

Nothing stopping me from moving 10cm back off the mark, THEN moving laterally to "cover the corridor".

If they don't allow that and they're going to make some pleb stand still with his hands up like netball, it's gonna look dumber than the ruck nomination.
Have you heard that they are looking at introducing positional bibs for players in the pre-season?

It actually makes the umps job easier. Previously players were moving sideways and the umps had to interpret if they had encroached. Needed to make another decision.

Now it is black and white. Move sideways off the mark you infringe. Stand the mark your fine.

It simplifies the situation and umpiring it.
I bet it doesnt and the first couple of rounds will demonstrate that when there is an inevitable blow up due to all the 50s being paid for **** all. Its not that hard, if you go over the mark it is 50, if you stay behind it you are free to move in any direction. The ump draws the imaginary line, step over it and get a 50, they dont mark out an arc. Ask an umpire what the 20 hardest rules to interpret are in the game and I bet not one will say manning the mark.

I bet it doesnt and the first couple of rounds will demonstrate that when there is an inevitable blow up due to all the 50s being paid for fu** all. Its not that hard, if you go over the mark it is 50, if you stay behind it you are free to move in any direction. The ump draws the imaginary line, step over it and get a 50, they dont mark out an arc. Ask an umpire what the 20 hardest rules to interpret are in the game and I bet not one will say manning the mark.

Bull sh!t.

Ump sets the mark and you don't move off it.

No imaginary line needed. Its the mark.

Jump up and down on the spot your all good.

Move sideways off it you are pinged. Easy to understand. Easy to enforce.

How can anyone think that policing an imaginary line with players moving sideways along an imaginary line is easier to police than don't move off the mark.

Imaginary line.......that's a hint.

Now will this new rule cause soft 50's paid? Maybe. But it isn't hard to follow or understand. It's just soft.

There is no such thing as a "great change", unless you're dropping the sh*t rules which have been implemented and slowly ruining our game over the past decade.

Stricter rules around concussion and head knocks have been good. Sometimes interpreted inconsistently, but concussion is scary af and any changes towards making it less likely is good.

This debate about the mark.

I reckon it’s an easy problem to solve.

We can get the groundsman out and get them to paint a one metre diameter circle on the mark. The umpire would need to set the mark - maybe borrow from grid iron on this point and this would remove all confusion.

It will also provide clarity to,umpires, crowd and players as once a toe nail, is over then line - bingo 50m penalty.

We would also have to extend total game time to allow for the ground marking to occur.

At the end of each quarter the grounds would washed in green dye so there is no confusion created by all those circles.

Simple really - you guys do over-complicate things. [emoji12]

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Exactly.

I think once you are on the mark you have to stay there . No hand overs like they used to be able to do .

You could probably just not man the mark in the first place but I think its the closest person to the mark or free can man the mark now .

The no lateral movement on the mark will now allow players to kick positively forward on a 45° into the corridor rather than a switch that gains 0meters or be forced to kick up the line to a contest .

I think once you are on the mark you have to stay there . No hand overs like they used to be able to do .

You could probably just not man the mark in the first place but I think its the closest person to the mark or free can man the mark now .

Pathetic

Yes but on steroids. Half a step? 2 steps?a sideways glance? what will be sufficient to be lateral movement? Pretty much everyone will be looking to play on around the mark because as soon as you look to do that, instinct will be for the MTOM to move in that direction to start the chase but if play on hasn't been called, they will get pinged 50m. I thought the 10m protected zone was (and still is) rubbish, but with this added to the mix, it wont be unusual to see up to 20x 50m penalties a game early in the piece which will completely ruin the game until they rein it in and realise what a dumpster fire they have started.
That's a danger. Over officiating the lateral movement by the player on the mark could result in a lot of 50m penalties.

The one thing the umpires have to do is...
If the player on the mark has no freedom to move off his spot (laterally or forward), then the guy with the ball has to get the same strictness for a 'play on' call if he moves so much as an inch off his line.

Bull sh!t.

Ump sets the mark and you don't move off it.

No imaginary line needed. Its the mark.

Jump up and down on the spot your all good.

Move sideways off it you are pinged. Easy to understand. Easy to enforce.

How can anyone think that policing an imaginary line with players moving sideways along an imaginary line is easier to police than don't move off the mark.

Imaginary line.......that's a hint.

Now will this new rule cause soft 50's paid? Maybe. But it isn't hard to follow or understand. It's just soft.
Umps to start carrying spraypaint like soccer refs and spray around the feet of the man on the mark