List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. Other Assorted Crap. 2020 Edition

Ah Chee played every game he was available for this year, it is hardly surprising on that basis that he has earned another contract.

I hope he either improves or gets overtaken in 2021 though.
Yep, I don't mind him being depth-on-call, but not best 22? (doubt that'll happen anymore?)
Does a good thing now+again, but doesn't seem consistent or able to improve beyond where he's at now...(a low key footy brain?)

All because of a big ol handball he did once

That's a bit harsh cob, he's done 3 of those his entire 10 year career.

Also stuck 2 grabs going up for a speccy from 60000 attempts which is pretty good :clapping:

And that is the interesting thing. If we don't gain and use a 1st this season then we can't trade next years 1st in any trades.

So if say to land Cripps we need to trade next year our 2021 1st can't be used.

So either we get a 1st this year or we don't trade for any top players next year on our target list. Unless we trade out players next year to land a Cripps or other option.

And I will repeat myself, I don't want Cripps unless as a free agent. IMO he will be too banged up and simply cost too much in a trade. Blues will want Judd like compensation.

I would say from a negotiation point of view that puts us in a very strong position with Carlton.

Don't match. If you do we can only trade you a future first so you're actually better off with the band 1 compo (assuming the don't make finals as Cripps is much more likely to stay if Carlton finish in the 8)

There'd be very few gettable players on our list that would make sense to move across to Carlton

BOND 007
For us that are trades and draft enthusiasts, are you able to shed some light on what is happening behind the scenes currently? - I understand that you can't give too much detailed information but any info you can give would be greatly appreciated.

The general machinations, how the players are generally ranked (by position, something more complex?), plan A, plan B, plan C or something far more fluid. How much say Simmo has on draftees/trades. Who has the final say when it's a stalemate between two potential draftees.

Anything else you think we should be enlightened about? Common misconceptions?

Cheers,
AE

Without describing trade secrets, WC & I imagine all clubs follow a pretty set path after internal discussions
1) There will be a list of top ranked players which may extend into 30's, 40's or even 50's.
2) All players will have notes about their strengths & weaknesses in the position or positions they play.
3) based on strengths/weaknesses assessments are made whether they are capable of playing other more critical positions i.e. midfield, key position.

Simmo is consulted at all times & gives input into what he is seeking.

And that is the interesting thing. If we don't gain and use a 1st this season then we can't trade next years 1st in any trades.

So if say to land Cripps we need to trade next year our 2021 1st can't be used.

So either we get a 1st this year or we don't trade for any top players next year on our target list. Unless we trade out players next year to land a Cripps or other option.

And I will repeat myself, I don't want Cripps unless as a free agent. IMO he will be too banged up and simply cost too much in a trade. Blues will want Judd like compensation.
I would wait to see what Cripps (and our list) looks like at the end of next season before deciding what we would be willing to give up for him (or any other top end players). Would be good to have the flexibility next year though and if we could turn one of next years seconds in to say GWS' end of first round pick I would be all for it.

I would say from a negotiation point of view that puts us in a very strong position with Carlton.

Don't match. If you do we can only trade you a future first so you're actually better off with the band 1 compo (assuming the don't make finals as Cripps is much more likely to stay if Carlton finish in the 8)

There'd be very few gettable players on our list that would make sense to move across to Carlton
I can't envision a circumstance where Carlton don't match. Cripps also doesn't strike me as the sort of person that would be looking to shaft his club on the way out the door by pushing for that scenario either.

Without describing trade secrets, WC & I imagine all clubs follow a pretty set path after internal discussions
1) There will be a list of top ranked players which may extend into 30's, 40's or even 50's.
2) All players will have notes about their strengths & weaknesses in the position or positions they play.
3) based on strengths/weaknesses assessments are made whether they are capable of playing other more critical positions i.e. midfield, key position.

Simmo is consulted at all times & gives input into what he is seeking.
Thanks mate. Very much appreciated!

adrian barich

@adrianbarich

·
1m

Eagles have signed Mark Hutchings to a one year rookie contract
@7NewsPerth

Would have kept Jetta over Hutchings tbh.
My thoughts exactly.
Lays to rest any arguement Jets wasnt signed because of his dodgey calfs. Hutch is way more injury prone and cant play through a busted string like Jets can play through a torn calf, leaving us short on the bench. I know that midfield depth is a concern which might have helped them decide to retain Hutch but it looks more like Jets ousting was based on personal or cultural reasons than pure football reasons.
Id love to know exactly what went on but suspect we wont for some years until Jets puts out a book.

Cedric Cox has been delisted by the Brians today. We can just sign him straight away? Worth a list spot??

Not a senior list spot, which we’d have to give him if we signed him now.

I can't envision a circumstance where Carlton don't match. Cripps also doesn't strike me as the sort of person that would be looking to shaft his club on the way out the door by pushing for that scenario either.

The only way they don't match is if they fall and the compo pick is heaps better than ours AND we do another deal such as trading say Williams or Brander for McGovern and take that full salary after another poor season from Mitch.

Which isn't really allowed but.....

Or Blues land Z Merrett as a fa for free and trade Cripps for unders.

Having not seen Cedric cox play would he be worth a rookie spot? Midfield potential?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Getting closer to the full picture.

Do we find out all the details today? Including the Cat B request stuff?

View attachment 1018235

Any chance the AFL renames the Rookie list.

Because we don't seem to see many rookies on any rookie lists these days.

Just saying!

Tigers

Derek Eggmolesse-Smith (del)

Now this kid played a couple of nice games across half back last season. Nice mover and kick, looked like he needed to work on his tank.

Any chance the AFL renames the Rookie list.

Because we don't seem to see many rookies on any rookie lists these days.

Just saying!

Yeah it doesn't really make sense.

They should just change to a single list, except make it so players in the 4th round onwards only need to be offered one year. Then Cat B separate.

The only difference with the rookie list seems to be that $80,000 of their salary doesn’t count towards the cap. There’s no age or games restriction and they can now play any time without waiting for a long term injury.

Why not just give clubs the equivalent of six $80,000 contracts (I.e $480,000) extra room in their cap? Seeing as every club seems to be spending that anyway.