Cooking Problem

• Thread starter Thread starter Urmoe

Im making my mrs a valentines day dinner tomorrow and am wanting to cook her two favourite meals, San Choi Bau for entree and peanut satay chicken for main but I have a little problem.

Lately the leaves on the lettuces around my way have been really tightly wrapped and this causes a problem trying to peel away 3 or 4 good whole lettuce leaves for the SCB.

Ive tried filling the lettuce full of water and banging the end of the lettuce on the benchtop (I know what your thinking TFW) and trying to peel away the leaves, but I have giant bucket hands and fingers the size of swiss rolls and they arent really made for delicate operations.

Anyone have any ideas how I can peel away a few good inside leaves without ripping them apart? None of the crusty looser outside leaves are any good.

Im making my mrs a valentines day dinner tomorrow and am wanting to cook her two favourite meals, San Choi Bau for entree and peanut satay chicken for main but I have a little problem.

Lately the leaves on the lettuces around my way have been really tightly wrapped and this causes a problem trying to peel away 3 or 4 good whole lettuce leaves for the SCB.

Ive tried filling the lettuce full of water and banging the end of the lettuce on the benchtop (I know what your thinking TFW) and trying to peel away the leaves, but I have giant bucket hands and fingers the size of swiss rolls and they arent really made for delicate operations.

Anyone have any ideas how I can peel away a few good inside leaves without ripping them apart? None of the crusty looser outside leaves are any good.

I make a killer San Choi Bau, Urmoe, but I often have the same problem.

This is what I do.......I cut the lettuce in two, grab a half, then with a knife or a pair of scissors, I trim around the outside (about a centimetre to an inch inside the perimeter of the lettuce....this loosens the leaves hold on each other, and also has the added bonus of neatening up the shape of the cups into a perfect circle), then I invert the lettuce so it sits with its hump upwards, then taking the bottom leaf first, you almost kind of twist them off as you go, kind of using the same action you would to twist and orange on a juicer. The size of your fingers will not be an issue, but be gentle. Depending on the lettuce, you'll still need to do a little prying.

Thank you, Urmoe. That was officially the ghey-est post I have ever written.

I make a killer San Choi Bau, Urmoe, but I often have the same problem.

This is what I do.......I cut the lettuce in two, grab a half, then with a knife or a pair of scissors, I trim around the outside (about a centimetre to an inch inside the perimeter of the lettuce....this loosens the leaves hold on each other, and also has the added bonus of neatening up the shape of the cups into a perfect circle), then I invert the lettuce so it sits with its hump upwards, then taking the bottom leaf first, you almost kind of twist them off as you go, kind of using the same action you would to twist and orange on a juicer. The size of your fingers will not be an issue, but be gentle. Depending on the lettuce, you'll still need to do a little prying.

Thank you, Urmoe. That was officially the ghey-est post I have ever written.

Thats sensational thanks mate, I need to sneak out a lettuce to the shed to practice this tonight so I dont try it on game day and stuff it up.

What about drinks, we have a few barmen here hey?

I overheard her telling the spunky young barman at the local how much she "loves coke". What can I make her that is exotic with coke in it, no run of the mill drink, needs to be special, she told him she loved coke numerous times, she must really like it.

Thats sensational thanks mate, I need to sneak out a lettuce to the shed to practice this tonight so I dont try it on game day and stuff it up.

I overheard her telling the spunky young barman at the local how much she "loves coke". What can I make her that is exotic with coke in it, no run of the mill drink, needs to be special, she told him she loved coke numerous times, she must really like it.

Might need to seek some advice on the Weagles board.

Please make sure nobody sees you sneaking into the shed with a lettuce. The police will be called and when they arrive neither they, nor Mrs Urmoe, will buy your story.

Mate Im 6ft 3 and built like a brick shithouse.....lets face it I aint sneaking anywhere...

Add more psuedoephedrine.:thumbsu:
Nah mate, doesnt mix well with the flunitrazepam I need to slip her to get her into bed (and before anyone takes offence I am joking and laughing at my inability to 'close the deal' unaided and definitely not making fun of or do not condone any attrocities against women)

MODS!!!!

It is bloody hard to find, but if you can, track down a drink called Agwa. It is a Coca bean liqueur (the stuff they use to make Coke, yeah both 'cokes') and it goes superbly with Cola. Seems a perfect fit.

What are these lettuces you speak of KL?
vl_lettuces.jpg

butter lettuce is bottom left. Sometimes it's called a round lettuce. Point is it has green sweet leaves (like iceberg) but is less tightly packed. You could also go cos (bottom right) but I think the shape will be wrong.

Is now the wrong time to mention ice water to crisp your lettuce, or will TFWs head implode at this point?

butter lettuce is bottom left. Sometimes it's called a round lettuce. Point is it has green sweet leaves (like iceberg) but is less tightly packed. You could also go cos (bottom right) but I think the shape will be wrong.

Is now the wrong time to mention ice water to crisp your lettuce, or will TFWs head implode at this point?
Thanks KL, but I dont want to mess with the type of lettuce as it may spoil the taste of the san choi bau. Do you know if its freely available and whether it tastes and has texture like an iceberg (i know you mentioned the sweetness but is everything else similar?). Maybe I should ask GR about the availability, might need to pop down to 'Epping plaza mate'.

My those lettuces look crisp and fresh.:thumbsu:

I'll bet you keep them in these.:thumbsu:

tupperware1.gif

No that would be stupid. Lettuce needs a special box.

p10056909000_detail.jpg

Feel free to contact me should you need further tupperware advice.

Thanks KL, but I dont want to mess with the type of lettuce as it may spoil the taste of the san choi bau. Do you know if its freely available and whether it tastes and has texture like an iceberg (i know you mentioned the sweetness but is everything else similar?). Maybe I should ask GR about the availability, might need to pop down to 'Epping plaza mate'.

OK well maybe your other option is to get an organic lettuce (can someone catch TFW, I think his head has hit the floor) because it'll be less tightly packed.

Are you trying to flog Tuppaware? Because if you are, I'd like to buy some.

Me too, Id love to get my hands on those plastic containers that fold flat....

they're a little awkward if you don't push them out all the way and getting the lids on them can be a challenge.

But the colours are nice.

OK well maybe your other option is to get an organic lettuce (can someone catch TFW, I think his head has hit the floor) because it'll be less tightly packed.
Thanks, I tried TOD's idea out the back and I think its gunna work, just got to watch I dont pull it too hard too early (still with us Filthy?)

And to those people sending PM's to me with suggestions dont worry, plenty of guys cook these days, you should neverbe ashamed of posting cooking suggestions in a public forum, you could have just posted them in this thread....but thanks anyway...you know who you are

they're a little awkward if you don't push them out all the way and getting the lids on them can be a challenge.

But the colours are nice.
Are you warning me off the containers? Id like to know, be honest.

I think I am. I've got a couple of them, and they're not as handy as you'd think. It's really hard to fill them and not have them collapse when you put the lid on. I'm sure there's a trick but that would mean an actual conversation with my tupperware dealer and I try to avoid those.

That said, I am an absolute tupperware freak, and I own just about everything in the range (best scissors on the face of the earth, and the sandwich boxes rock. As for the fridge storage thingys . . . magic :thumbsu:)

(for those of you who JUST KNEW I loved tupperware, I hope I haven't disappointed. :rolleyes:)

I have nothing to say about the abhorrent subject matter being discussed in this thread. It sickens me. Lettuce leaves, tupperware, obscure cola beverages, Valentines day dinner for the missus and sneaking to the shed to practice the selection and removal of lettuce leaves. I mean, **** me swinging.

I'm out. Enjoy the year, nice to post here for 5 years, nice to meet some of you and I hope our footy club does well.

Goodbye.