Cops

My housemate is a cop and by association I have become good friends with probably 10 or so others. To me they are good people and we get on well. However if I did not know them I would possibly think otherwise. Mainly when they are off duty and in groups together on the cans.

Many of them do it for job satisfaction and trying to make a difference but there is a certain level of arrogance that goes with them that perhaps is needed? I have been fortunate that some of this works to my advantage. Aka we go to a pub or club with a huge line, we just roll straight to the front, they pull out the badges and we get straight in without hassle. Having a badge certainly does not go astray either when dealing with the opposite sex.:p

I know the job requires a certain level of confidence but sometimes they can come across as very cocky individuals. But as said that is mainly off-duty I see that. They have a hard job and when I hear about some of the stuff they have to deal with well…. Frankly I am glad it is them doing it and not me.

Yeah I’m pretty sure many of them (particularly young ones) use their job to get benefits it may bring them. Not corruption as such, just taking advantage of harmless things where they can. I’ve seen it happen.

Having said that, is there a profession on the planet where this doesn’t happen? Who apart from priests knocks back handy fringe benefits when they can get them?

It’d be in the interests of a pub or club to have a good relationship with the local cops. Hell if I owned or ran one then I’d be looking after them.

tom-croydon1-300x225.jpg

Not every cop is as hardlined as Senior Sergeant Tom Croydon

My dad is a cop
Most people who hate cops do so because they are breaking the law
Wouldn't be the job for me though. All day dealing with the scum of the earth
Are you're parents still married out of interest? If that's not a cool question I don't mind, but in my experience that sort of background can be very hard on the family.

Been through a booze bus a couple of times near South Perth maccas on Canning Hwy. Catches people leaving Burswood.

Ah yeah makes sense due to the cas.
I generally go down to the Leach highway Maccas

Are you're parents still married out of interest? If that's not a cool question I don't mind, but in my experience that sort of background can be very hard on the family.
They have had their problems but they are still on pretty good terms. The problems that they have had I don't think were to do with the job however

I'm 22 years old white and ill share my opinion about cops and some government issues.

I have never been fined not even a speeding ticket and I have never asked help from a cop.

But what I see is alot different, these people are getting more and more power everyday, firstly the government will use a story prime example is the anti association laws which is a law that if you are in a group of people if cops feel in danger they have the right to arrest you and by danger cops can simply just say the word, the media is currently using Bikie gangs and "out of control parties" as an excuse to push these laws hard why bikies? well they are those big guys who only get bad press those bad guys are used to gain opinions of the ACA/TT viewers that this law needs to be passed even though Bikies pretty much have no affect on society bikies only get violent towards other gangs/MC's they do not kill children they do not kill innocent kids it has never happened intentionally. But they are big they are bad and ugly so its an target.

What people dont understand these laws can be used anywhere anytime, EG technically a music festival could be locked down if a cop feels "threatened" if you start protesting you can be arrested with no questions asked.

Anyway back onto cops, I have a friend that is one hes done his work majority in remote areas but he was telling me most cops just want action and power, some love the thrill of a fight some even provoke people to get a reaction so the cop can use his power to smash the shit out of someone.

My friend once at Maccas got mobbed for no reason by a crack head with a crowbar, the cop shop was 2mins away he went there for help they basically said thanks for the details we will look into it, my mate had rego numbers what they looked like everything was there.

Yet a few streets away from my house there was a massive car crash with in 5mins cops start coming up to a hour later more and more cops start coming, not to help just to check it out... theres footage of cops of boarder patrol or whatever the TV show (raw footage) of a cop following a guy on a motorbike praying that he would pop a wheel up so he can start chasing him, somehow they ended up chasing and the footage says "****ing knock the campaigner off the bike".... Watching 1 piece of raw footage from 1 incident makes me think how chopped screwed media is in general.

I was talking to my boss who's brother works for one of the bikies gangs here in Perth he pretty much summed up like this Cops love the chase they love chasing Bikies through streets houses etc its fun for them because they know that the Bikies will never shoot because its more heat on them, they can say anything they want EG "my brother was at a bank and a cop recognized him and went up to him and said "ohhh man she was good last night your mum is one of a kind" praying for a reaction.

The only thing I have to worry about cops is that I own a vehicle that cops love to target which is a Japanese sports car, to tell you how low they go with these cars a friend of mine was attending an event with a car that is road legal at a track in perth on his way out he found that there was 3 cops on bikes waiting for cars to come out to start giving them defects and fines thats just pathetic.

Another pathetic thing is the abuse of money collecting EG pinning people for "speeding" on a off ramp straight off the freeway are you joking?

Cops are a gang with the law behind them they can do anything they want but if they get caught on camera then they could be in a bit of trouble all I ask for people who bothered to read my poor grammar post just question everything you see 95% of the time you are not getting both sides to a story when it comes to law and cops, you wont here about how a cop broke someones arm but you will here about how the cop was assaulted after the broken mans arm got angry.

Just take a look at their trademark "Ive got a power walk" says it all really.

Been through a booze bus a couple of times near South Perth maccas on Canning Hwy. Catches people leaving Burswood.

There always seems to be one on the causeway as well. Also for some reason there's frequently one on the way out from the domestic airport? I don't understand why that's a targeted area.

FIFO workers generally get pissed at the airport(before the flight) since their bus doesnt go back to their unit it goes straight to the airport and its generally early, I guess the cops are hoping to catch them when they pick up their car from the airport, its probably the only traffic stopping law I agree with drink drivers shouldnt be on the road.

I didn't read mehow2g's post but why has he been observing the police for 22 years. I hope it's to write a book or make a documentary otherwise the time might have been better spent doing something else.

People's experiences with cops do seem to differ pretty widely depending on what they look like. Cops definitely profile. I am a very straight-down-the-line guy, and I look like a 20-something professional - dress conservatively and all that. My brother on the other hand is the complete opposite - he plays in a ska band, dyes his hair, has a bunch of piercings etc.

We are physically very similar and he is no less a law-abiding citizen than I am (well, perhaps slightly less - he smokes a bit of weed) but it's remarkable how much attention he attracts from the police compared to myself. I've also been kind of thrown by the attitude they display towards him when I've seen it (say, when we're on public transport together and they're checking tickets).

I guess I can understand why cops generalise but the flip side is that I can understand why some people have a less-than-favourable view of police based on being subjected to those generalisations.