Catsmaninamerica

Cricket, Surfing
Sorry of this has been done. Just reading the Harley Bennell thread and thinking about growing up in Perth as an aboriginal kid and some of the flat out redneck scumbag cops we encountered. Even last year there was a story about an aboriginal fella who died in the back of an unventilated Un Cooled divvy van during a 9 hour drive to kalgoorlie.

Not saying all cops are scum, but even now when I gonna lot Perth I encounter them. Racial profiling etc.

So here is the crux of the thread. What drives someone to want to be a copper? I used to know Keiran Nicholls. Afl umpire and copper. He was on a power trip 24/7 and was hated by his UNi mates (met some out drinking one night) , by the players on the ground and was a flog in general. To me he was a typical cop. Loved the power and had a massive insecurity, inferiority complex and so tried to soothe it with a badge, a gun and a whistle... Am I wing harsh? Are there more than a handful of cops out there that join out of altruistic motive? Or are the Kieren Nicholls of the world the 90%?

There would be some good cops out there that enjoy what they are doing, however most of the cops I have encountered in Perth, which are mainly traffic cops are power tripping scum. They love to flash their badge and bully people, especially if there are 2 of them together. I have mates who have said they have blatantly made lies in court and hand out car defects like a pedo hands out candy.

Most of the ones I know do it for the job satisfaction, can be pretty frustrating at times but they like to think they are doing something meaningful in the community.

Like any workforce you get your good ones and bad ones. Unfortunately some people see some more than the other so their views are tarnished.

Most of the ones I know do it for the job satisfaction, can be pretty frustrating at times but they like to think they are doing something meaningful in the community.

Like any workforce you get your good ones and bad ones. Unfortunately some people see some more than the other so their views are tarnished.
Totally random, but your username just made me have a flashback to the 92 GF... Matera wasn't human that day. As a cats fan it killed me. As a football lover it was one of the all time great games.

I think most get into it (the ones ive met) because they believe in some way in community service. It's a full time job which can make you feel like you're actually doing something meaningful rather than just collecting a pay cheque like most 9-5 stiffs.

For others it's probably an attractive career if they've finished school and been working dead end jobs and aren't sure what they want to do. You don't need a degree or anything, once you get in it offers good security, ok pay and opportunities to climb a ladder. Also you're not necessarily stuck behind a desk, it can be interesting with every day being different.

Ive never wanted to be a cop but I can definitely think of worse careers. If you didn't have a tertiary education, a trade or qualification and wanted to get straight into something different it could be appealing.

I honesty believe there'd be barely any who get into it purely for power or to be a kent. I actually don't think they'd last all that long if that's all they were doing. It's not like they're ever crying out for recruits, numbers aren't a problem. Like any job, if you were simply a tool then you wouldn't get on with any workmates, which would cause problems. You can probably get away with losing your shit justifiably, but if you constantly picking on normal, genuine people who had just committed a simple offense, complaints would pile up and you'd be shown for what you are.

Have to remember too if you're dealing with a cop for five minutes and he's a dick, thats not necessarily all he is. Theycan spend full days dealing with stressful situations and the dregs of society and just crack it sometimes. It'd be more stress than 90% of jobs yet we cut them less slack than anybody. Theyre human, they have emotions like everybody else and shit effects them, yet a lot of the time we don't understand that when we'd excuse it for people in any other profession.

A bloke once told me "you'll never meet a bastard cop in the morning". In a lot of ways that's true.

I considered it coming out of school but the thought of spending most of the time attending horrific crashes I decided against it

My father married into a cop/security family and they have some awesome stories. It's good hearing all of the behind the scenes efforts put into high profile cases etc

I'm not from Perth but ive never had a bad experience with one and most people from my area with a **** the cops attitude are dumb yobos that hate them because they get speeding fines

If I was a cop I'd be roothless to hoons and would def come off to them as a power tripper

Even last year there was a story about an aboriginal fella who died in the back of an unventilated Un Cooled divvy van during a 9 hour drive to kalgoorlie.
Again, that had NOTHING to do with the police. It was a security contractor working on behalf of the Dept of Corrective Service.

That's a pretty massive initial fail on your behalf.

I honesty believe there'd be barely any who get into it purely for power or to be a kent. I actually don't think they'd last all that long if that's all they were doing. It's not like they're ever crying out for recruits, numbers aren't a problem. Like any job, if you were simply a tool then you wouldn't get on with any workmates, which would cause problems. You can probably get away with losing your shit justifiably, but if you constantly picking on normal, genuine people who had just committed a simple offense, complaints would pile up and you'd be shown for what you are.

Must be a Queensland thing then, because we get bombarded with recruitment campaigns about every six months. :eek:

Totally random, but your username just made me have a flashback to the 92 GF... Matera wasn't human that day. As a cats fan it killed me. As a football lover it was one of the all time great games.

Haha he's my favourite ever player. No greater sight in footy than seeing Matera go for a run down the wing. To this day have yet to see a bloke who is able to execute at top pace like he could.

Again, that had NOTHING to do with the police. It was a security contractor working on behalf of the Dept of Corrective Service.

That's a pretty massive initial fail on your behalf.

^^^^Is a douchebag power tripping copper!

Must be a Queensland thing then, because we get bombarded with recruitment campaigns about every six months. :eek:

Ah fair enough. Pretty sure in Victoria there’s always a fair few more applicants than positions. I think a lot of them have to apply more than once before they eventually get in.

Unless you were female during the reign of Christine Nixon :)

Fine line between being assertive and being seen to be on a power trip. For the most part cops do a great job under duress and in tough working environments. Like any other occupation, you will also get the odd rubbery steak.

I have a lot of respect for cops, it must be a horrible job sometimes. Imagine attending that crash in Mill Park last year where the 5 kids were killed? And then bogans complain about 'power tripping' cops when that same cop who has just seen 5 kids in pieces does everything he can to change the behavious of other speeders/hoons/drink drivers.

Most of the ones I have met do the job for basically the right reason. Especially the beat cops. Assertiveness does often come off as arrogance, and also the job engenders a siege mentality, so often they doesn't come across well.

The few cops I've met who have a twisted idea of the job tend to be detectives for some reason.

The clique at the top of VicPol requires a certain "type" of cop.

These types are more likely to consider themselves above the law.

My fiance works with the police (not a cop though) so i've attended quite a few police social occasions and i've always found them all to be quite decent blokes (and ladies), however these were all detectives/inspectors and not the local constable on the street if that makes a difference. But then again i've never had problems with police outside of those occasions either...

That bloke hasn't had the SOG's kick his door in and put a shotgun in his mouth.

Actually know a bloke who this happened to (not the same guy obviously!)

10-15 blokes smashed the door in and stormed in screaming at 5am, threw him and his old man (the only ones home) out of bed, onto the floor and held them there forcibly and at gunpoint while they went through the place.

The whole time him and his old man are yelling “WTF IS THIS???”

Cops had the wrong house. Unbelievable. Like something out of a bad police comedy movie.

Only thing that wasn’t like the movies is they didn’t once say “Police!” when they stormed in, or the whole time they held them down. They obviously thought they were the target of some violent robbery or bashing or something. The morons didn’t actually identify themselves as police until it was all over and they had established it was a **** up.

The old man claimed PTSD, handy settlement (settled out of court).

They pull this Rambo crap in order to psychologically destabilize their intended target on most occasions.

I'm glad the innocent victims were compensated and I hope it was handsomely, and arses were reamed at Vicpol H.Q.

My sister's fiancée wants to be a cop, he's among the best people I've ever met. I have hated all of her (incredibly nice boyfriends) instinctively so when I saw this one it was difficult to get over the fact that no matter what he did it was impossible to dislike him. He's riding past a bottle-o on a 40 degree day after spending all day training in the sun and he'll drop in and pick up a 6-pack of my favourite beer to share, because he saw it was on special. Nevermind he has to carry it on the handlebars and still has another 20 minutes of riding to go.

He works as a personal trainer and a P.E. teacher and a swim instructor; working mainly with kids and the elderly and I've never seen him raise his voice at anyone. Even when he has been screwed over terribly and had weird rent, electricity and collection agencies after him for what a previous tenant did he will listen to their side of the story before stating his own calmly and then resolving the matter. He's a good guy and good with people.

People might say I'm being naive to believe all cops are like this (and they are not), but I'd like to think the majority are there because they didn't go to Uni and want a stable job and aren't interested in solely a desk job/labouring. The few run ins I've had with police they have been very understanding and let me or friends off; to a stage where on a few occasions I really think a mate of mine should have been arrested.

I think they get a bum rap, because people forget all the chest puffing is simply to make their work environment safer for themselves and their clients (us). We don't live in America where there is certainly a lot of bad stories yet we are constantly exposed to American cops being ******s and associate them with our own.

I quite like cops.