Cops

I didn't read mehow2g's post but why has he been observing the police for 22 years. I hope it's to write a book or make a documentary otherwise the time might have been better spent doing something else.

ahahhaahahahah

Grammar/English isnt my strength.... What I was trying to say was Ive been alive for 22 years and my experience and opinion about cops etc etc.

They pull this Rambo crap in order to psychologically destabilize their intended target on most occasions.

I'm glad the innocent victims were compensated and I hope it was handsomely, and arses were reamed at Vicpol H.Q.

I love the line in The Wire where Avon and Stringer are watching the cops prepare to raid them on their own CCTV system:

"Look at these wannbe Delta Force motherf***ers".

I have a lot of respect for cops, it must be a horrible job sometimes. Imagine attending that crash in Mill Park last year where the 5 kids were killed? And then bogans complain about 'power tripping' cops when that same cop who has just seen 5 kids in pieces does everything he can to change the behavious of other speeders/hoons/drink drivers.
The joke is on you champ.

You seem to justify Cop's behavior because they've seen some unsettling shit. That just doesn't wash.

And enough of this "most cops are good, it's only a few who make them look bad" rubbish. Let me be clear on this: this power tripping culture is the way of the force. It's not a minority. It's lots of them.

As a law abiding citizen, I take offence to be talked to like a ****wit at least half the times I deal with cops. If I get pulled over for speeding I don't want a lecture. It's not about trying to make the roads safer, it's an opportunity for them to speak down to someone. And I also take offense at being asked if I have a criminal record when the cop has just looked it up on their system. This seems to be standard police procedure:

Get license
Check on system
Ask driver if they have a record even when you know if they do/don't

It seems to be a case of "let's find out, then we'll ask the driver and see if he's lying". Yeah! baroogah! That's a good trick!

Guess what you bunch of cro-magnons: You checked up, you know I don't have a record, you're probably not going to catch me in a lie because it's unlikely I'm going to tell you I have a record when I don't have one.

I mean f*** me, why does this group of people have to consistently act like a bunch of f***wits? Why do they think they have to talk to everyone like their either a criminal or stupid?

Most of the ones I know do it for the job satisfaction,
But what is "job satisfaction"? Could job satisfaction mean "I am satisfied when I have power over other people"?

I think you'll find that a reasonable percentage of humans have personality defects in that they need to dominate other people. Some of these people see wearing a uniform and having "official power" is a good way to obtain this.

I think you will also find that policemen/women would not agree that this is true, but studies show that the police force attracts a certain type of person as does accountancy, law and other professions.

Police force. F*** yeah!

I know a bloke who is a cop. A typical cop. Pretty much fits the stereotype to a tee.

When he was young he was into stealing cars and shit. I have no real issue with this. People do dumb shit when they are young. He then went into a different career (two actually) and then in his early 30s joined the force.

This guy (like many cops) believes:

1. There's a law and regardless of what you think, it's non negotiable.

Examples are: A group of us went camping. From the campsite to beach was a 50m dirt track. He's obviously off duty. He insisted/ordered that one of his mates kids couldn't go in the car to the beach because there wasn't a booster seat for him. Had to do two trips. He also said if he one of his mates ducked off to the edge of camp site for a spliff that he would bust them.

Interesting that I've seen this guy off duty speeding in his car (approx 20kms over). And I knew he was going to his mate's house.

2. Like a lot of cops he thinks the police get a raw deal from the justice system. He thinks the police should be able to arrest, convict, and determine sentences. (srs). He's also into the whole capital punishment, and no second chance for convicted felons rubbish. Three strikes and you're having a nap.

I don't have an issue with a bloke who changes his ways (from car thief to cop). He should be applauded for this. But there's something no quite right in that he dons a cop uniform and all of a sudden has no empathy or understanding that people do dumb shit like he did early on in life.

It's interesting that just a few days ago I heard his wife say "Oh my husband is straighty 180, straight down the line"

Well, that's not actually true. He's a former car thief and speeder. He was quite relaxed before he joined the force (always been a massive ****head though) but now he's gone hyper sensitive. Why would this be? Because it's all about him and his need for power. He's like a lot of other cops - the police force attracts certain types of people. This "doing it to serve the community" is way less prevalent to the power trip theory.

You seem to justify Cop's behavior because they've seen some unsettling shit. That just doesn't wash.

And enough of this "most cops are good, it's only a few who make them look bad" rubbish. Let me be clear on this: this power tripping culture is the way of the force. It's not a minority. It's lots of them.

As a law abiding citizen, I take offence to be talked to like a ****wit at least half the times I deal with cops. If I get pulled over for speeding I don't want a lecture. It's not about trying to make the roads safer, it's an opportunity for them to speak down to someone. And I also take offense at being asked if I have a criminal record when the cop has just looked it up on their system. This seems to be standard police procedure:

Get license
Check on system

It seems to be a case of "let's find out, then we'll ask the driver and see if he's lying". Yeah! baroogah! That's a good trick!

Guess what you bunch of cro-magnons: You checked up, you know I don't have a record, you're probably not going to catch me in a lie because it's unlikely I'm going to tell you I have a record when I don't have one.

I mean f*** me, why does this group of people have to consistently act like a bunch of f***wits? Why do they think they have to talk to everyone like their either a criminal or stupid?

No, the joke isn't on me champ because I dont have the massive chip on my shoulder you do. I am polite and courteous to cops like I am anyone else I come into contact with and guess what? They dont bother me in the slightest, they dont give me the third degree like it seems you get. I would say from your attitude that you bring it all on yourself.

And if you speed then you aren't a law abiding citizen and they have every right to stop you, and I am glad they do before you wipe out a kid or something because you cant stop in time.

My anecdote about cleaning up the Mill Park crash and then stopping someone for speeding etc just explains in my opinion why they come across to some people as overly zealous. Then there are just bogans who dont like cops cos they enforce the law, they weren't my target audience for that anecdote and I couldnt give a stuff how much the cops bother them.

Get license
Check on system

Obviously a megalomaniacal nutcase that should have his badge taken away.

They can't all be painted with the same brush.

Get license
Check on system

Because the majority of people they deal with, day after day, year after year, are either criminals or stupid.

Your post is pretty typical of those who are highly critical of police – you take the total of the few minutes of your life that you’ve spent dealing with police, and use that to generalise about them as a whole.

And they very thing you’re critical of? The cops taking the years and years they’ve spent dealing with people on the job, and using that to generalise about you. It’s highly hypocritical.

And then of course the second we need them, we’re straight on the phone.

Cops are human. Humans who are subjected to the sort of shit that they constantly are become cynical, angry, bitter, twisted and suspicious. Yet for some reason we expect them not to, they’re meant to be emotionally super-human or something. Despite the fact we don’t strive for the best – we place little stock in the training and pay them pretty shit money.

Cops are necessary. Despite what many think, on the whole they do far more good than bad. It’s a side-effect that some will become tools and be a shit to deal with. Unless they’re doing anything really out of line, if the worst you have to deal with is some bloke pulling you over and acting like a w***er for a few minutes, then it’s really not that bad. Just play his game and move on, he’ll get over it when he sees you’re not trying to make trouble.

Lol Bunsen. I'm on my phone so I can't be bothered quoting/editing your posts but

You've got no problem with your mate being a car theif? You're a law abiding citizen?

You're mates with a cop and you're angry he won't let you and your mates break the law? Sounds like someone else is on the power trip and is upset they don't get special treatment from their cop friend

Again, most people coming into this thread slagging cops are displaying typical bogan attitudes with zero references to being treated unfairly

Not at all, I would never consider myself bogan I have never been confronted by the Police or been changed as stated before, Im just telling you how I see it and logic.

Every year we are getting more and more laws power is slipping away or is already gone the boys in Blue are getting huge amounts of power eg searching a vehicle with out any a warrant or any consent.

There was a car gathering in Perth a few weeks ago the cops knew about it due to facebook there was 300 cars in a car park and Police rocked up in riot gear..? wtf is that?

In my life I dont remember when a cop has made me feel safe or saved me from something nor have I seen it.

I'm 22 years old white and ill share my opinion about cops and some government issues.

I have never been fined not even a speeding ticket and I have never asked help from a cop.

But what I see is alot different, these people are getting more and more power everyday, firstly the government will use a story prime example is the anti association laws which is a law that if you are in a group of people if cops feel in danger they have the right to arrest you and by danger cops can simply just say the word, the media is currently using Bikie gangs and "out of control parties" as an excuse to push these laws hard why bikies? well they are those big guys who only get bad press those bad guys are used to gain opinions of the ACA/TT viewers that this law needs to be passed even though Bikies pretty much have no affect on society bikies only get violent towards other gangs/MC's they do not kill children they do not kill innocent kids it has never happened intentionally. But they are big they are bad and ugly so its an target.

What people dont understand these laws can be used anywhere anytime, EG technically a music festival could be locked down if a cop feels "threatened" if you start protesting you can be arrested with no questions asked.

Anyway back onto cops, I have a friend that is one hes done his work majority in remote areas but he was telling me most cops just want action and power, some love the thrill of a fight some even provoke people to get a reaction so the cop can use his power to smash the shit out of someone.

My friend once at Maccas got mobbed for no reason by a crack head with a crowbar, the cop shop was 2mins away he went there for help they basically said thanks for the details we will look into it, my mate had rego numbers what they looked like everything was there.

Yet a few streets away from my house there was a massive car crash with in 5mins cops start coming up to a hour later more and more cops start coming, not to help just to check it out... theres footage of cops of boarder patrol or whatever the TV show (raw footage) of a cop following a guy on a motorbike praying that he would pop a wheel up so he can start chasing him, somehow they ended up chasing and the footage says "******* knock the silly off the bike".... Watching 1 piece of raw footage from 1 incident makes me think how chopped screwed media is in general.

I was talking to my boss who's brother works for one of the bikies gangs here in Perth he pretty much summed up like this Cops love the chase they love chasing Bikies through streets houses etc its fun for them because they know that the Bikies will never shoot because its more heat on them, they can say anything they want EG "my brother was at a bank and a cop recognized him and went up to him and said "ohhh man she was good last night your mum is one of a kind" praying for a reaction.

The only thing I have to worry about cops is that I own a vehicle that cops love to target which is a Japanese sports car, to tell you how low they go with these cars a friend of mine was attending an event with a car that is road legal at a track in perth on his way out he found that there was 3 cops on bikes waiting for cars to come out to start giving them defects and fines thats just pathetic.

Another pathetic thing is the abuse of money collecting EG pinning people for "speeding" on a off ramp straight off the freeway are you joking?

Cops are a gang with the law behind them they can do anything they want but if they get caught on camera then they could be in a bit of trouble all I ask for people who bothered to read my poor grammar post just question everything you see 95% of the time you are not getting both sides to a story when it comes to law and cops, you wont here about how a cop broke someones arm but you will here about how the cop was assaulted after the broken mans arm got angry.

Just take a look at their trademark "Ive got a power walk" says it all really.

Good post.

I can relate to a lot of this and I find many of the people I come in to contact with in real life concur with your understanding.

This is a brilliant way of countering a stereotype.

Combat it with your own.:rolleyes:

Not at all, I would never consider myself bogan I have never been confronted by the Police or been changed as stated before, Im just telling you how I see it and logic.

Every year we are getting more and more laws power is slipping away or is already gone the boys in Blue are getting huge amounts of power eg searching a vehicle with out any a warrant or any consent.

There was a car gathering in Perth a few weeks ago the cops knew about it due to facebook there was 300 cars in a car park and Police rocked up in riot gear..? wtf is that?

In my life I dont remember when a cop has made me feel safe or saved me from something nor have I seen it.

So you're admitting to never having run ins with cops and you're argument that they're power trippy is them wearing riot gear to a large gathering of people.....and their 'walk' which apparently says it all there is to say about them

Do you feel safe living in this country?

hopefully you never find yourself in a situation where you need help from the cops, and I think the fact that that hasn't happened yet is a decent testament to their existence and effectiveness

Who would ever rely on the popo to help them?

Idiots would.
What a silly statement.

Generally speaking cops aren't massively altruistic, but they're not out to get you either. In my experience, the priorities of cops are something like this:

1. Ensuring their own safety / the safety of their colleagues
2. Doing their job, often measured in terms of KPIs (quotas, clear-up rates, etc.)
3. Assisting the general public

When you think about it, that's not actually that unreasonable a ranking of priorities for a rational person (even a nice person). It explains why the Police Association is constantly asking for draconian powers, and why they close ranks over police shootings, and why a cop who is probably a normal guy can treat you differently because of how you're dressed or what car you drive. It doesn't necessarily mean they're on a power trip.

Cops can absolutely be helpful to ordinary citizens in a whole range of situations. The mistake most people make is assuming that helping them is a cop's top priority. It's not - not even close. As long as you realise that, and remember it when you're dealing with them, you'll be fine.

I have trouble believing that anybody who willingly takes on a position that empowers them to a level whereby they are able to personally unleash a maelstrom of statutory terror upon their fellow citizens, can be fundamentally viewed as a "good person"

Most rookie cops tend to be gullible, but well meaning young people that eventually gain wisdom, become frustrated with their chosen career, and leave the job.

The true psychopaths hang around and make a life out of it.

That strikes me as a bit hyperbolic. Most senior cops I've met are more technocrats than anything else. There are definitely a few cowboys (Robbery Squad seems pretty much entirely populated with them) but plenty of cops seem like pretty normal people.

For cops.

I have trouble believing that anybody who willingly takes on a position that empowers them to a level whereby they are able to personally unleash a maelstrom of statutory terror upon their fellow citizens, can be fundamentally viewed as a "good person"

Most rookie cops tend to be gullible, but well meaning young people that eventually gain wisdom, become frustrated with their chosen career, and leave the job.

The true psychopaths hang around and make a life out of it.
LOL@calling high level and long term officers psycopaths. We have one of the longest serving sargents in Victoria roaming around our area who refused despite many pleas to go higher due to his skill because he liked the day to day work on street level and keeping the rampant number of bogans off the streets and away from the shopping mall who cause problems through their drinking and drugs. End result is in the last 15 years when the gang behaviour was at its wildest the area has been pulled back into line and there is little to no trouble compared to what was present when I first moved here which was a stabbing a week.

As for most rookie cops being gullible, many leave because of the pressures and mental harm they suffer as a result of this job. I have one guy in my law subject who was an ex cop and aboyt 39 now who was a cop from the time he turned 21 and has become sick of turning up to do his job in Darwin and being met by a group of louts who try to target him even when he is simply returning a drunk home. He has realised that as a senior sargent even he is risking himself to do his job and is one day quite conceivably going to be met with harm because of his role from some psycho. Decision was made to undertake a Law course 5 years ago and is now in the process of finally completing it and working as a prosecutor.

Just because you have a personal reservation towards police based on your past doesn't mean that you are sufficiently qualified to make assessments on what type of people make police. I know plenty of people who gained wisdom and became cops when they were older.

Maybe we should view weed smokers for example in the same way you view cops.

No, the joke isn't on me champ because I dont have the massive chip on my shoulder you do.
So if I don't particularly like a group of people I have a chip on my shoulder? Don't think so. The police have never inhibited my life. I just observe they are a bunch of tossers with poor attitudes, poor culture, abuse of power, and common corruption.

I am polite and courteous to cops like I am anyone else I come into contact with and guess what? They dont bother me in the slightest, they dont give me the third degree like it seems you get. I would say from your attitude that you bring it all on yourself.
I se, so if you're not being as nice as pie you deserve to be spoken to like a child?

And if you speed then you aren't a law abiding citizen and they have every right to stop you,
Not sure why you assume I have a problem with speeding fines? If i spend then I can't complaint at getting a fine.

Care to explain why I deserved this treatment:

I had a lodger. Decent guy. Stayed for a couple of years. Moved out. 18 months later the police come to my door asking for him. I tell them he moved out and I haven't seen him since (the truth). They keep coming back and I keep telling them the same story. They're cops and deal with scum every day so I understand why they think I might be lying. Only historical percentages can make them think this as I'm clean cut professional looking dude. I don't look rough, I don't have tatts, I don't have a silly haircut, I do wear a suit, I do have a degree, and I do have a high end job.

So the next day my wife is out the back on the patio topless and the cops just waltz straight around the back. They didn't knock on the door because they believed we had been lying to them and he still lived here and they felt they would catch him running out the back or something. My wife told them that this was uncool and they need to knock before entering the rear of our property. She called up the police station and complained.

Their response? They did it again the very next day.

So why don't you explain why I deserve to be treated like that?

Then there are just bogans who dont like cops cos they enforce the law
And then there are professional and educated law abiding citizens like me who are sick of the poor attitude, culture, and behavior of our police force. I'm all for law, order, and justice, but our police forces are something to be desired. They're not up to scratch and then there's bogan cop lovers like yourself who support them unconditionally. You're as bad as the bogans who have a chip on their shoulder about law enforcement. You are almost the same as the people you despise.

You've got no problem with your mate being a car theif? You're a law abiding citizen?
Not sure why that is so hard to get your head around?

People steal cars. People do dumb shit when they are young. I don't lose sleep over it.

You're mates with a cop and you're angry he won't let you and your mates break the law?
Angry? What are you on about? I just think he's a petty f***wit. Happy to break the law himself but whilst he's off duty a million miles from anywhere he has to act like a dick. Clearly it's not about upholding the law. He has f***wit disease.

Sounds like someone else is on the power trip and is upset they don't get special treatment from their cop friend
Just to clarify: it wasn't my child. I'm not upset. I just think he acted like a total knobend.

Read and weep:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/police-brutality.903844/

And I'd be interested in what your definition of a bogan is. Why don't you describe and I'll tell you if I fit the mould.

Because the majority of people they deal with, day after day, year after year, are either criminals or stupid.
Yep, yet they don't have the capacity to hold their opinions until they know for sure, and often do it to people who clearly aren't scumbags.

Not acceptable. They need some people skills training because as a group they are very very poor.

Your post is pretty typical of those who are highly critical of police – you take the total of the few minutes of your life that you’ve spent dealing with police, and use that to generalise about them as a whole.

Nope. I've dealt with them many many times and can see a pattern. Whilst all police aren't as I describe, enough of them are to be able to make a judgement on the police force as a whole.

And they very thing you’re critical of? The cops taking the years and years they’ve spent dealing with people on the job, and using that to generalise about you. It’s highly hypocritical.
But here's the difference:

When I talk to a cop I don't assume he's knob. I know there's a high chance of him being one, but I sit back and observe before I make judgment.

Stereotyping and grouping people is fine. It's actually intelligent. Groups can have characteristics that separate them from other groups, but it's important to understand that not all people in that group have the characteristics. It's not rocket science.

I suspect the difference is I have a degree and a cop has a cop exam.

Cops are human. Humans who are subjected to the sort of shit that they constantly are become cynical, angry, bitter, twisted and suspicious. Yet for some reason we expect them not to, they’re meant to be emotionally super-human or something. Despite the fact we don’t strive for the best – we place little stock in the training and pay them pretty shit money.
Do yourself a favour and read this thread:

I say exactly the same thing but think they should be given the proper training to deal with people. Not everyone they are going to meet is a violet thug. Not every person they pull over for a traffic offence needs a lecture. Not everyone they are dealing with are lying to them.

They need this stupid attitude and culture trained out of them.

Cops are necessary. Despite what many think, on the whole they do far more good than bad.
Is there any particular reason you are telling me this?

Again, you really should read this thread:

Perth cops and riot gear. wtf?

I remember when the cops first starting wearing riot gear to parties in the late 80s. After that it seem every week there would be a party attended to by cops in riot gear. A party wasn't top notch unless the riot squad came. People were pretty much going wild to get them along for a laugh.

Why the police thought this would do anything is beyong me. It's like taking a red rag to a bull.

They do the same thing with bike gangs. Just dumb policing. If the cops wanted to smash down the bike gangs it can be done. Would cost a bit but it can be done.

The police force is a must and they do make us safer, the problem is that they are really pretty crap at policing in general. I've been in a number of scenarios where I've witnessed cops escalating situations rather than calming them down. Biffo breaks out and if the cops had proper training (or weren't complete power hungry knob-jockeys) they would be able to diffuse many situations. But instead the go i heavy handed just like they're another group in on the biffo. They essentially just join the fight rather than diffuse it. I'm sure they get trained to diffuse such situations properly but obviously not well enough.

So if I don't particularly like a group of people I have a chip on my shoulder? Don't think so. The police have never inhibited my life. I just observe they are a bunch of tossers with poor attitudes, poor culture, abuse of power, and common corruption.

I se, so if you're not being as nice as pie you deserve to be spoken to like a child?

Not sure why you assume I have a problem with speeding fines? If i spend then I can't complaint at getting a fine.

Care to explain why I deserved this treatment:

I had a lodger. Decent guy. Stayed for a couple of years. Moved out. 18 months later the police come to my door asking for him. I tell them he moved out and I haven't seen him since (the truth). They keep coming back and I keep telling them the same story. They're cops and deal with scum every day so I understand why they think I might be lying. Only historical percentages can make them think this as I'm clean cut professional looking dude. I don't look rough, I don't have tatts, I don't have a silly haircut, I do wear a suit, I do have a degree, and I do have a high end job.

So the next day my wife is out the back on the patio topless and the cops just waltz straight around the back. They didn't knock on the door because they believed we had been lying to them and he still lived here and they felt they would catch him running out the back or something. My wife told them that this was uncool and they need to knock before entering the rear of our property. She called up the police station and complained.

Their response? They did it again the very next day.

So why don't you explain why I deserve to be treated like that?

And then there are professional and educated law abiding citizens like me who are sick of the poor attitude, culture, and behavior of our police force. I'm all for law, order, and justice, but our police forces are something to be desired. They're not up to scratch and then there's bogan cop lovers like yourself who support them unconditionally. You're as bad as the bogans who have a chip on their shoulder about law enforcement. You are almost the same as the people you despise.
Busen Burner I would not blame the police for keeping on coming back. Unfortunately the law (made by politicians) requires the police to reattend the same last known address on the system until they resolve the matter with their person of interest. We had the same issue with transport fines being sent to our address because some idiot gave us our address as their own when really they were a bum living on their own in various share houses and other places. Apparently when finally apprehended for his other warrants they found that he used to live in the street in the early 90s and the metro officers bought his line. As much as it pissed us off writing to the DOT and telling them there was noone at this address with this name we still got multiple letters including a summons and written judgement order from the court case sent to our address. So before some just blame cops immediately for their action look at the law and whether they are required to do something first.