Solved Corby to be paroled?

The whole idea of some sophisticated international smuggling conspiracy wasting their time exporting pot from Australia to Bali seems absurd to me. If such a network was in place they would be smuggling high level narcotics or other high value items into Australia. Bulk amounts of low level drugs like pot indicate to me an unsophisticated conspiracy, like a family of bogan petty criminals.

Exactly. The accusation was there was baggage handlers smuggling pot between each other interstate, and Corby's bag was meant to come off on a stopover.

For the relatively small money available in interstate pot trafficking, as if they'd be taking risk with planes when stuff can be driven between capital cities in under a day.

Then of course theres her lawyer who admitted they made the whole story up out of thin air.

I recall there was some talk of her possibly being released if she just "admitted guilt". Could never really work out why she wouldn't just do this if thats the case (whether she'd done it or not).

I know a few baggage handlers, a couple of them were quite senior (supervisors etc, as senior as you can be as a baggage man I guess), they’ve always said that whole story / excuse is completely absurd. It’s what made me suspicious of her as soon as it all happened.

Baggage blokes putting packages of drugs in random people’s luggage to transport to their baggage mates interstate / overseas? It’s ridiculous, it could never be done with any secrecy, the amount of people that would need to be “in on it” makes it a conspiracy theory – ie complete bulltwang.

You not been reading the customs thread. This isnt a schappelle comment cause she's as guilty as but Customs have been exposed for having high numbers of corrupt officers systematically getting drug dealers ino the country. And so have Baggies in the past http://www.theage.com.au/news/Natio...-on-drugs-trade/2005/05/13/1115843370558.html

Most of this is Sydney based but some Melbourne e names from customs have been withheld by order, but not for much longer.

I recall there was some talk of her possibly being released if she just "admitted guilt". Could never really work out why she wouldn't just do this if thats the case (whether she'd done it or not).
Well, it is so often the way, sir, too late one thinks of what one *should* have said. SirThomas More, for instance -- burned alive for refusing to recant his Catholicism -- must have been kicking himself, as the flames licked higher, that it never occurred to him to say, "I recant my Catholicism."

The thing that got me was why would you take a boogy board to Bali? As an experienced Bali visitor, Corby would know the cheap cost of a board over there so why bring your own. For a couple of Bhat, buy one, play with it and then give it away to some kid when your finished with it. It saves having to lugg one around with you.

Rupiah is the currency of the Republic of Indonesia
FWIW I reckon she is guilty, the pot in Indonesia is low grade hemp to say the least.
Her sister living there may have requested she bring some decent pot over for their own use / profit.
As for the laws, The Indonesian's have the right to set their own penalties & no amount of whingeing from Aussies is going to change that, they are what they are so be wary.

No, not interested in discussions about the sentence.

Or philosophical discussions about sentences as deterrents.

Discuss the crime here but keep it on topic, and to the board rules.

if you want to discuss other stuff, like the above, go to SRP.

Last warning for a few of you.

The whole idea of some sophisticated international smuggling conspiracy wasting their time exporting pot from Australia to Bali seems absurd to me. If such a network was in place they would be smuggling high level narcotics or other high value items into Australia. Bulk amounts of low level drugs like pot indicate to me an unsophisticated conspiracy, like a family of bogan petty criminals.

Like smuggling ice to Antarctica

She did it
She was the drug mule in a scum-crime syndicate involving people such as her sister

The idea was she was too "pretty" to get searched

But the Australian media decided she was pretty and deserved shitloads of attention so I guess her tears are worth more than real evidence?

I reckon it's also a bit of her family and friends trying to use the media to pressure the police and the courts to let her go. I wouldn't put all the blame on the media acting on their own initiative, even though they wouldn't need much encouragement. The approach didn't work of course, and probably made matters worse.

They Rekon the pot out of Java and Thailand is heaps good quality and heaps cheap, piss easy to get into Bali as well on the back of a local drug mule

They rekon that things like hookers are really cheap and so is drugs.

I don't know why you would take pot at Queensland prices over to Bali, if pot is as cheap as they say.

They Rekon the pot out of Java and Thailand is heaps good quality and heaps cheap, piss easy to get into Bali as well on the back of a local drug mule

They rekon that things like hookers are really cheap and so is drugs.

I don't know why you would take pot at Queensland prices over to Bali, if pot is as cheap as they say.
The pot out of Java is crap & not much is grown there. Most pot in Indo is crap & is grown in Sumatra & use to be by GAM (free aceh movement) to buy weapons with. Even this has now slowed to a trickle, due to the cease fire / peace agreement.
Not much pot is imported from Thailand I can assure you. As per other posts in this thread why would you bother with such a large bulky item for a small return?
Pot prices are comparable to Oz prices, it is not "heaps cheap" as you have been led to believe. The locals don't really get into pot in a big way & it is an expat market.
Plenty of people I know would jump at the chance of buying the expensive queensland pot over the local Indo product.

Would not be surprised if the Indo authorities were tipped off by the AFP.

This, i've always thought her and maybe her sister had smuggled small quantities of weed and gotten away with it (obviously) but that the AFP were watching and then she went for the big payday and instead of stopping her at our airports they let her leave Australia and made the call.
Makes you wonder what sort of sentence she would've gotten in Aust if they had apprehended her at Brisbane or Sydney, prolly would've walked with a good beak.

This, i've always thought her and maybe her sister had smuggled small quantities of weed and gotten away with it (obviously) but that the AFP were watching and then she went for the big payday and instead of stopping her at our airports they let her leave Australia and made the call.
Makes you wonder what sort of sentence she would've gotten in Aust if they had apprehended her at Brisbane or Sydney, prolly would've walked with a good beak.
A fair bit smaller than her Indonesian one I'd assume

I wish the media would just let it die. Let her do her sentence for a crime she obviously did (none of this conspiracy crap washes one little bit) and talk to her after she gets out if you have to. I realise the lawyers and her family keep running to the media trying to drum up support for getting the government to help get her out, but seriously, she is not getting out until her time is up ( even with allowances for good behaviour and stuff, she is still doing a fair stretch) and no amount of sob stories about how she is suffering in their jail and she will die is going to convince most of the Australian public to give a rats about her.

I certainly don't.

I wish the media would just let it die. Let her do her sentence for a crime she obviously did (none of this conspiracy crap washes one little bit) and talk to her after she gets out if you have to. I realise the lawyers and her family keep running to the media trying to drum up support for getting the government to help get her out, but seriously, she is not getting out until her time is up ( even with allowances for good behaviour and stuff, she is still doing a fair stretch) and no amount of sob stories about how she is suffering in their jail and she will die is going to convince most of the Australian public to give a rats about her.

I certainly don't.
But you just posted about her, hence becoming part of the 'media'.