• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who is better?

• Harry O'Brien

Votes: 0 0.0%

Tell me the last time he dropped a mark?, if he did have a problem he's certainly solved it now.

Unfortunately he did it against St Kilda last week. Harry's very strong when the balls at ground level, but a liability in the air....

Enright wins this one though the comparison is somewhat strange. I'd have thought Shaw would be a more apt comparison to Enright...

Unfortunately he did it against St Kilda last week. Harry's very strong when the balls at ground level, but a liability under the high ball....
He isn't the only one to drop the odd high ball mate, he did take a few tough ones as well, i'm not saying he's super strong in the air but he's hardly a liability.

Exactly, he is 24 and when he reaches around 28 we'll be able to assess his best (his prime years)

Silly comparison

Oh, so because they're an enormous 4 years apart in age, they shouldn't be compared?

Never mind the fact that they're similar players, playing in similar positions and have equally good reputations. The fact that one is older than the other means this becomes a stupid comparison?

Utterly stupid logic.

He isn't the only one to drop the odd high ball mate, he did take a few tough ones as well, i'm not saying he's super strong in the air but he's hardly a liability.

Of course he isn't, but you asked the question of when the last time he dropped a mark was and I provided the answer.

He dropped 2 overhead marks in the last quarter alone last week. O'Brien has many strengths, however he struggles overhead plain and simple I don't know why you'd bother saying otherwise.

That's a myth that started after Harry looked awkward under a high ball earlier in the year, he's been very solid in the air ever since, and with the bigger opponants, so what?
Struggles against an undersized KPF in Crameri.

See, needless pot shots can be made by all.

Of course he isn't, but you asked the question of when the last time he dropped a mark was and I provided the answer.

He dropped 2 overhead marks in the last quarter alone last week. O'Brien has many strengths, however he struggles overhead plain and simple I don't know why you'd bother saying otherwise.

Agree to disagree i suppose, i think he's improved a lot in that area this year.

Struggles against an undersized KPF in Crameri.

See, needless pot shots can be made by all.

The whole team was struggling mate, pretty hard tio defend when your midfield's on a smoko break.

What?

You won by 30 and 70 points the two games.
As i said, we were struggling. :D

Thought you meant when Crammeri kicked a couple of first half goals last time we met.

FTR, i'm sure i could find the odd opponant who's got on top of Enright as well, everyone has their off days.

I know, that's kind of my point.

Nit picking isn't exactly constructive.

Who's nit picking?, i'm certainly not the one saying i don't rate the current AA HB or saying he's a C grader, clearly he's a very very good footballer.

Heat Shaw would be the comparison based on how they play

We simply don't have that type of 30 year old defender playing that role for a really serious comparison though

Enright comfortably, Collingwoods backline is similar to Geelongs, Shaw, Tarrant, Reid and Brown (when he was there) made the likes of O'Brien and Maxwell look alot better than they are. Geelongs Scarlett, Enright and Taylor make Mackie and Hunt look alot better. As said Shaw v Enright is a better comparison but i would probably still say Enright, just.

Hunt's footskills are absolutely elite though, very under-rated player back there.

So is this just who you would pick for this season or are we looking ahead?

Because if I could have either player, while I would admit Enright is the better player at the moment what about in 3 years when Enright is 33 and most likely retired while O'Brien is hitting his prime? Who would you rather have then?

Absolute Monty to pick Harry if we are looking beyond this year :thumbsu:

Hunt's footskills are absolutely elite though, very under-rated player back there.

Does have a laser shoe, but much like Gilbee is very easily exploited going the other way. Hence my statement they are made to look very good by the guys around them, imagine him at Richmond without the guns around him, his bloke would kick 5-6 every week.

Why are we comparing Harry to a player in the twilight of his career? :confused:

Harry shouldn't be mentioned next to Corey Enright full stop.

Harry O is the most overrated footballer in the comp, whereas Boris is a future HOFer.

And right now, I wouldn't pick Enright over O'Brien under any circumstances.

Harry shouldn't be mentioned next to Corey Enright full stop.

Harry O is the most overrated footballer in the comp, whereas Boris is a future HOFer.

And right now, I wouldn't pick Enright over O'Brien under any circumstances.

Seeing as Harry only matured last year you are probably 6 years away from making that call

Like I said Tarrant v Drum is the same ages in reverse :rolleyes:

KMR, can you handle someone saying a player from a different club is better than one from Collingwood? Or are you the epitome of a flog and think nothing and no-one is better than Collingwood?

Already admitted Enright is the better player at the moment, he's had his entire prime to impress

But lets not kid ourselves.. go offer both players to every club and see how many pick Enright at 30 over Harry at 24 :rolleyes: