Conspiracy Theory Coronavirus #2: Lockdowns

• Thread starter Thread starter Werewolf

Thoughts on COVID-19? (Choose 2 options)

• It's a naturally occurring virus

Votes: 15 20.3%
  • It came from a Chinese laboratory

Votes: 31 41.9%
  • It came from a US/other laboratory

Votes: 5 6.8%
  • It's dangerous and harsh restrictions are necessary

Votes: 19 25.7%
  • It's not dangerous enough to warrant harsh restrictions

Votes: 22 29.7%
  • It's basically another flu, so restrictions are silly

Votes: 14 18.9%

Dont make up conspiracy theories yet you make this one up with zero proof or evidence?

Thats rich, where is the evidence that pharma is losing money based on this Covid?

I'm happy for you to challenge the logic - its pretty straight forward per the examples i've given you.
How can a Doctor prescribe new drugs if he can't see patients?
How can a Surgeon implant a hip if Surgery is cancelled.
How many Cancers remain undiagnosed, and therefore expensive treatments foregone because Patients couldn't visit a Doctor.

These are inconvenient truths - but are nonetheless correct.
The logic is compelling, yet the simplistic argument "its all BIG PHARMA", pervades conspiracists who have no capacity to dig deeper.

First of all you need to demonstrate how these groups have caused the Pandemic to thereby exploit it.

Then I have a problem with this simplistic theory eg Big Pharma.
For every winner eg Vaccine manufacturers there are far more losers eg those Companies that are losing compromised patients (high value customers on Chronic Therapies) using lots of drugs that are dying from COVID. Also, reduced Doctors/Hospital visits mean less drug prescriptions which means less drug sales. Less Surgery means dramatic reduction in all associated drugs, implants etc. It goes on and on. The impact is asymmetric.

Similarly all those other industries mentioned, there a both winners and losers, so you can't make a blanket statements they are all benefitting.
I have never said they caused the Pandemic just that they take advantage of a crisis, similar to 9/11, I don't think Bush and co blew up the world trade centres but I sure as hell think they took advantage of the crisis to increase government power.

In general big business have been a lot better off during this crisis than small business eg. Bunnings, Coles/Woolies, Ebay, Amazon... not many small businesses doing a roaring trade at the moment,

Why are only small businesses being shut? Why can Woolworths trade but not a local deli in lockdown?

The top 1% (political party donors) have added trillions to their wealth whilst everyone else has suffered. Forget about the bottom 10%, they'll die out

I'm not in on any of the conspiracy theory side of covid other than lockdowns being f*cking idiotic but you can't help but question the motives of this when that kind of money is at stake. For these people (Gates, Bezos etc) no amount of money/power/influence is ever enough

I agree that knee jerk lockdowns are absurd - Vic being locked down for 4 days with one active case is moronic.
But don't confuse incompetence with Conspiracy.
Who's motives are you talking about - and how is a Vic Premier linked to Bezos or Gates and benefitting accordingly.?

I agree that knee jerk lockdowns are absurd - Vic being locked down for 4 days with one active case is moronic.
But don't confuse incompetence with Conspiracy.
Who's motives are you talking about - and how is a Vic Premier linked to Bezos or Gates and benefitting accordingly.?
You need to go through my post history. I've long called it government incompetence...

But don't for a second think our politicians aren't being paid under the table. Dans security deal to a family member/friend for example. The covid safe app costing millions for a couple grand worth of work

Why are only small businesses being shut? Why can Woolworths trade but not a local deli in lockdown?

The top 1% (political party donors) have added trillions to their wealth whilst everyone else has suffered. Forget about the bottom 10%, they'll die out

I'm not in on any of the conspiracy theory side of covid other than lockdowns being f*cking idiotic but you can't help but question the motives of this when that kind of money is at stake. For these people (Gates, Bezos etc) no amount of money/power/influence is ever enough

I understand your point - but lets think about this logically.
As Govt you want to keep access to food etc - you have large chains that can do this and you have 3 contacts point ( IGA , Coles and WW) with which to coordinate and control 1,000's of stores. Imagine Co-ordinating with 1,000 stores directly, its inefficient and cumbersome.

So I see pragmatism nothing more.

You need to go through my post history. I've long called it government incompetence...

But don't for a second think our politicians aren't being paid under the table. Dans security deal to a family member/friend for example. The covid safe app costing millions for a couple grand worth of work

Govt incompetence is breathtaking and for mine the clear culprit is these knee jerk lockdowns.

I'm happy for you to challenge the logic - its pretty straight forward per the examples i've given you.
How can a Doctor prescribe new drugs if he can't see patients?
How can a Surgeon implant a hip if Surgery is cancelled.
How many Cancers remain undiagnosed, and therefore expensive treatments foregone because Patients couldn't visit a Doctor.

These are inconvenient truths - but are nonetheless correct.
The logic is compelling, yet the simplistic argument "its all BIG PHARMA", pervades conspiracists who have no capacity to dig deeper.

Thats a conspiracy guess no different to what you are sooking at us for doing, but lets do this

How can a doctor prescribe new drugs if he cant see patients? - I must have missed all the closing of doctor surgeries. I must also have missed the news that mental health conditions have massively dropped for example causing less people to be on anti depressants? Id love the link to the article

How can a surgeon implant a hip if surgery cancelled ? - Replace them with a new patient instead? A hip surgery is a one time patient. A guy receiving 2 vaccines every 8-12 months is a long term customer

How many cancer patients remain undiagnosed? - When did we care about this all of a sudden? We bring this up all the time and it gets rejected as a non issue. My response to this is people wont stop getting cancer all of a sudden. They are still getting it and getting treated at a lower rate. It is a cost/benefit analysus where its better to create extra revenue streams at the short term expennse of another. Businesses do this all the time

In any sense you have no understanding of well basic economic principles if this is the logic of a success of a business. Revenue and profit is secondary to the actual share price. This is what they are trying to drive and its something they are succesfully doing. Not just for themselves but for big business as a whole

I understand your point - but lets think about this logically.
As Govt you want to keep access to food etc - you have large chains that can do this and you have 3 contacts point ( IGA , Coles and WW) with which to coordinate and control 1,000's of stores. Imagine Co-ordinating with 1,000 stores directly, its inefficient and cumbersome.

So I see pragmatism nothing more.
Perhaps/probably BUT

It's too obvious it's hurting small businesses and the majority of people. Government can't be unaware of the problems they're causing so this goes well beyond simple incompetence now. They're actively going out of their way with nonsensical and illogical rules to hurt people

People tested positive half way up too
Grey nomads go from those places to where the arrows are pointing

2 cases North and south of me
I was in the town/shops of one I went to last week and I dont know who might have been to the others and come back to town

We will know in a few days
Then the masks can come off or need to stay on

Masks are only for indoors up here and you need to carry them in your pocket if asked....not too hard to do

Perhaps/probably BUT

It's too obvious it's hurting small businesses and the majority of people. Government can't be unaware of the problems they're causing so this goes well beyond simple incompetence now. They're actively going out of their way with nonsensical and illogical rules to hurt people

No perhaps about it. You co ordinate with CEOs not individual store managers.

This is basic common sense

Thats a conspiracy guess no different to what you are sooking at us for doing, but lets do this

How can a doctor prescribe new drugs if he cant see patients? - I must have missed all the closing of doctor surgeries. I must also have missed the news that mental health conditions have massively dropped for example causing less people to be on anti depressants? Id love the link to the article

How can a surgeon implant a hip if surgery cancelled ? - Replace them with a new patient instead? A hip surgery is a one time patient. A guy receiving 2 vaccines every 8-12 months is a long term customer

How many cancer patients remain undiagnosed? - When did we care about this all of a sudden? We bring this up all the time and it gets rejected as a non issue. My response to this is people wont stop getting cancer all of a sudden. They are still getting it and getting treated at a lower rate. It is a cost/benefit analysus where its better to create extra revenue streams at the short term expennse of another. Businesses do this all the time

In any sense you have no understanding of well basic economic principles if this is the logic of a success of a business. Revenue and profit is secondary to the actual share price. This is what they are trying to drive and its something they are succesfully doing. Not just for themselves but for big business as a whole

Revenue from clinics down 30%

Clearly my point stands - all medical services down - means less drugs and Pharma gets hit.
Only Vaccine manufacturers are winners, a lot of Big Pharma are losers.

You need a new theory sport - the fact's don't lie.

Clearly my point stands - all medical services down - means less drugs and Pharma gets hit.

September 6, 2020 — 7.01pm

You realise Big Pharma doesnt mean revenue from Australia? Pfizer wouldnt give a ****ing shit about that article. We are talking globally here.

Also Dr Bills surgery isnt big Pharma at all.

You realise Big Pharma doesnt mean revenue from Australia? Pfizer wouldnt give a ******* sh*t about that article. We are talking globally here.

Also Dr Bills surgery isnt big Pharma at all.

You wanted evidence you got it.
Now wipe the egg off your face and listen.

If as you believe this is a Big Pharma Conspiracy then you cant have Big Pharma losers - I've shown you they exist.
If this is Global Strategy by Big Pharma then PFizer cares about ALL markets particularly First World and yes they are concerned by the MILLIONS of Dr. Bills Surgeries that prescribe Pfizer drugs AND are vaccinating patients.

Anything else?

Perhaps/probably BUT

what is the motivation or benefit to a Govt. in hurting people as you say.

You wanted evidence you got it.
Now wipe the egg off your face and listen.

If as you believe this is a Big Pharma Conspiracy then you cant have Big Pharma losers - I've shown you they exist.
If this is Global Strategy by Big Pharma then PFizer cares about ALL markets particularly First World and yes they are concerned by the MILLIONS of Dr. Bills Surgeries that prescribe Pfizer drugs AND are vaccinating patients.

Anything else?

The struggles of Big Pharma are one for the ages.

igrubjE.png

Surely they need a govt handout?

The struggles of Big Pharma are one for the ages.

igrubjE.png

Surely they need a govt handout?

laughable - Moderna is NOT big PHARMA they are a minnow. They are a bad clinical trial away from a collapsing share price.
They are an R&D company, they don't make profits.
I could show you heaps of speculative Biotechs with similar share price surges.

BIG PHARMA's include BMS, ASTRA ZENECA, GSK, ABBOTT, J&J, Pfizer.

cringeworthy because you can't offer a credible explanation - I get it.

Im just flabbergasted that someone has such blind faith in our government given well basic fundamental history?

Im more curious as to why you have the faith if anything. Ill answer back after you tell me why? No offence but I dont know how to reply as im insanely confused as to how you got to the narrative that govt always helps the people?

Im just flabbergasted that someone has such blind faith in our government given well basic fundamental history?

Im more curious as to why you have the faith if anything. Ill answer back after you tell me why? No offence but I dont know how to reply as im insanely confused as to how you got to the narrative that govt always helps the people?

I have faith in the facts - not concocted baseless theories.

I have rebutted all of your arguments using facts.
I have shown you that your beliefs are unfounded, and that many of your opinions are baseless or inaccurate.

You are the one that needs to explain, despite all the FACTS I've offered to you, why you continue to believe in these fallacies, despite clear facts to the contrary.

You can't be serious. How do you look at the last year and have such faith in the morons who 'lead' us.

Yeah man, Dan definitely has your best interests at heart...

I've agreed they are incompetent - but its up to you to prove they are intentionally harming people and explain their the motivation to do so.