News Coronavirus (COVID-19) Discussion Thread II

So my best little mate and I have recently begun this thing where we walk along the beach, towards either Rye or Rosebud, depending on whichever takes our fancy. While we walk, I do my dogooding bit and pick up rubbish, he gallops about like a madman shooting me with whichever bent stick has taken his fancy as the worlds greatest weapon. Anyway, once we reach our destination, we flip out onto the road, grab a takeaway coffee and head back home. We call it "walkin' and talkin' and drinkin' and thinkin' ". Anyway, this arvo we headed towards Rye, beach had been scraped over by the council so no rubbish, and barely anyone at all to say g'day to. On the way back, drinkin' and thinkin', we came across a fella pulled over by a couple of Victoria's finest. Fella was an Asian looking guy, might have been pulled over on suspicion of eating bats (can you say that). Anyway, he was almost pleading to the Officers that "we are still allowed outside". He was then reminded that he was a long way from home. Sounded to me like he was about to become a fair bit poorer too.
When my boys are a bit older, I'm hoping to move to St Kilda so we can grab some books and scooters and head out for a bit of readin' and speedin' followed by some scootin' and rootin'.

Might be able to pop out some duckin' and divin' and wheelin' and dealin' too 🙃

I think my rant over the last two days would make such a pointed question superfluous. I feel you have nefarious intent Sg?
i don't mean to come across as nefarious, ill happily admit it's lazy questioning on my part.

Something about the blame the one guy for everything reaction to this is also lazy in my mind. And people keep on using the stupidest of nicknames to try to reinforce this point, much like a certain other ******* deplorable person does all the time. He's a dictator, no he's a socialist, no he's a communist, no he's dumb, that sort of thing.

But back to the sack the premier idea, it's such shallow look at it. Something goes wrong somewhere? Well that's on the premier then, and sacking him will surely fix it all. Nevermind the hoards of people with different responsibilities in different areas when things happen. No, just sack the premier. It reeks of party politics and nothing more.

NOT GOOD!

=====

Eight Alfred Hospital staff members contract virus

Eight staff members at the Alfred Hospital have tested positive for coronavirus, while two Coles employees have contracted the virus. A statement released by the hospital this morning confirmed five of the cases are not linked and are believed to have contracted the disease through community transmission. The other three were identified through contract tracing.

Alfred Health said that currently no patients have contracted COVID-19 within the hospital. Chief Executive Professor Andrew Way said the hospital is taking “every measure” to keep patients safe. “I have confidence in the rigour of our cleaning and waste removal process. We now have a 24/7 response to any cleaning issue that arises,” Prof Way said. “Feedback from staff is essential in this effort and we encourage frontline staff to raise their concerns directly, which they do. As a community we must take collective responsibility for ourselves and others. We need everyone to follow the stringent protocols in place; they are there to keep us safe. We cannot afford to become complacent. And as this pandemic demonstrates - behaviour really matters.”

The hospital confirmed that it has doubled its cleaning resources on infectious diseases ward and all staff visiting the ward must check in with a concierge before entering. The Alfred has also tightened its restrictions on visitors to the hospital, with each patient allowed just one visitor per day for a maximum of one hour. All visitors must wear masks before entering the hospital. Each person will also be temperature checked and questioned about their health.

Coles have confirmed that two employees have tested positive for coronavirus. The supermarket giant revealed that a worker employed at their Woodend store and a staff member at their Derrimut Village store are self isolating after contracting the virus. In a statement on their website posted on Saturday, Coles said that the two stores will continue to trade and “the risk of transmission for customers and team members is very low”.

The supermarket also said that the new case related to the Derrimut Village store doesn’t appear to be linked to another case that was confirmed on July 9. “We have not identified any link with a team member from the same store who returned a positive test earlier this week,” the statement said. “No other team members from this store have been required to isolate as a result of the latest positive case.”

Back to home-schooling we go... Time to put my "GOOD COP" hat back on and save the day once the inevitable barney breaks out between mother & child.

=====

Prep to Year 10 will go back to remote and flexible learning from July 20

Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews says school students in Prep to Year 10 in lockdown areas will do flexible and remote learning from July 20.

These rules are for schools in metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire. There are no changes to Victorian students outside of Metro Melbourne and the Mitchell Shire.

From tomorrow:

- All Year 11 and 12 students will return to school.
- Year 10 students who are undertaking VCAL (Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning) subjects, they will be back at school for face to face learning.
- Specialist schools will also go back to school tomorrow.
- Children with special needs who attend a mainstream school, can go to school.

" Been in Vic. over the last few day's mate ?
Nah.
Ok, through you go "

How do you prove you have not ?
[/QUOTE]

Mini-bus of Victorians caught lying on their stat. dec's. trying to get into Qld.

Who woudda guessed ?

" Been in Vic. over the last few day's mate ?
Nah.
Ok, through you go "

How do you prove you have not ?

Mini-bus of Victorians caught lying on their stat. dec's. trying to get into Qld.

Who woudda guessed ?

First trail in dual propose vaccine passport, MasterCard service hits West Africa.

I am sure this "mark of the beast" will set off the Christians. :stern look

and the tin foil hats wearers, will be jumping up and down saying ‘i told you’se so’ when they’ve used the covid safety application to track protestors.. don’t mind they’d have to get off the couch to protest in the first place.