News Coronavirus (COVID-19) Discussion Thread III - L6ckdown

I wonder what prompted a big turn out.
Maybe the findings of covid in western suburb's sewerage ?
Makes sense. I was in the wild west last week and I am thinking of dropping off a richard the third for testing. Can I mail it in?

There were actually a whole bunch of Eastern suburbs also listed the next day, so I do think that combo is why the testing results increased.

I did have a giggle at how it was all "west, west, west" in the mainstream media though. We may as well have Jeff Kennett reading the 6pm news these days.

There were actually a whole bunch of Eastern suburbs also listed the next day, so I do think that combo is why the testing results increased.

I did have a giggle at how it was all "west, west, west" in the mainstream media though. We may as well have Jeff Kennett reading the 6pm news these days.

Don't forget every single Eastern suburb is great. Apart from the ones with shopping centres off major highways.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Re reading that first 10 pages of the first thread is a step back to a mix of mild concern, good humour and sh*t talk, but one stood out and that’s Grogg, how are you doing a year on mate?
Pretty good thanks Gaso. The new normal took some getting used to, which meant minimal contact with the outside world, online shopping, feck all contact with friends and family who a large proportion are health care workers, as I was as well before I took over a full time career role for my old Ma. We went through radiotherapy for a bit of cancer at Peter Mac and that was not the greatest but all things considered, a good result. I can't speak highly enough of the care and support those guys gave..... absolute legends. We have a follow up with the specialist in a week or so, so that should be ok, given it was for a melanoma and there doesn't appear to be any recurrence from my untrained eye.

It's been good to slowly get back into a " normal" life with some social interaction and I'm really looking forward to the footy on Saturday.

Thanks for the shout out, man, hope you and yours are all well too 👍👍

Pretty good thanks Gaso. The new normal took some getting used to, which meant minimal contact with the outside world, online shopping, feck all contact with friends and family who a large proportion are health care workers, as I was as well before I took over a full time career role for my old Ma. We went through radiotherapy for a bit of cancer at Peter Mac and that was not the greatest but all things considered, a good result. I can't speak highly enough of the care and support those guys gave..... absolute legends. We have a follow up with the specialist in a week or so, so that should be ok, given it was for a melanoma and there doesn't appear to be any recurrence from my untrained eye.

It's been good to slowly get back into a " normal" life with some social interaction and I'm really looking forward to the footy on Saturday.

Thanks for the shout out, man, hope you and yours are all well too 👍👍
Melanoma sucks.
Good to hear; you were the trending story one year ago across those first pages of this shitshow year

Melanoma sucks.
Good to hear; you were the trending story one year ago across those first pages of this shitshow year
Yep.

Everybody has had there own s**t to deal with, but by and large, I reckon all Australians should be proud of how we as a nation have responded.

if not going back to normal includes people now actually washing their hands after they use the bathroom then i'm ok with it. That was some disgusting normal.

People probably never stopped being gross. They just had to do it at home.

Ya think? It could be summarised as "just tell us everything will be fine and by when".

They answered that- when everyone is vaccinated. I’ve had several people tell me that “things are never going back to the way they were before”. * that. Everything will go back to how it was before.

I hope we don't completely snap back to how things were before.

COVID has exposed a lot of things, long commute lifestyles, people using socialisation to hide from miserable home lives, mental health issues, public health incompetence, inadequate social security, etc. Hope we learn and move forward rather than snapping back to the stone age.

People probably never stopped being gross. They just had to do it at home.

They answered that- when everyone is vaccinated. I’ve had several people tell me that “things are never going back to the way they were before”. fu** that. Everything will go back to how it was before.

It should be once all vulnerable persons are inoculated, then life goes back to the way it was.

However many that is, I have no idea.

Not a bad article. It’s American based but I’ve noticed a similar sentiment here about vaccines and going back to normal.

My understanding is that you can still get Covid once vaccinated but the impact will be less. Therefore you could still pass on the disease
although hopefully at a lower rate.

I can see masks, where 1.5m distance is problematic, and contact tracing processes last through 2021.

My understanding is that you can still get Covid once vaccinated but the impact will be less. Therefore you could still pass on the disease
although hopefully at a lower rate.

I can see masks, where 1.5m distance is problematic, and contact tracing processes last through 2021.

Even the one that’s 66% will still save your life.