News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

Oh and how well are woolies and coles doing out of this. So many empty shelves.

Might need to buys some of their shares especially if they're dipping currently because their end of year profit is going to be brilliant.

This thing will subside by August and there will be a glut of these products that won't move for weeks & months.

I suppose many will take on an element of "doomsday prepper" from this episode, which is a good thing, as I fully support personal self sustainability and the move away from overt consumer society/politics/corporations.

Maddie Roark certainly won't be affected.

Good points.

Meanwhile in the USA with a population of 330 mil they have tested approx 8000 people.

They have approx 1300 cases.

They have had very little restrictions placed on people movement, and have only recently cancelled some sporting events.

So it’s safe to assume that 10s of thousands are currently carrying the virus.

The USA will not have to worry about closing its borders to countries because in approx 4 weeks they will have the biggest number of infections worldwide.

Other countries will start closing borders on them.

Take it to the Bank.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Can we use online banking?

Some basic info if any folks want to gain some fundamental understanding of this stuff:

Virology for beginners (part 1)

It's probably a good time to introduce this in to the discussion for the novices of viral immunity.

Cytotoxic T cells = CD8+ (on graph)
Antibodies = typically originate from Helper T cells - B cell interactions.
Helper T cells = CD4+ (on graph)

1584144414096.png

Virology for beginners (part 2)

Vaccine/drug trials

Phase I Clinical Trial

Phase I clinical trials are done to test a new biomedical intervention for the first time in a small group of people (e.g. 20-80) to evaluate safety (e.g. to determine a safe dosage range and identify side effects).

Phase II Clinical Trial

Phase II clinical trials are done to study an intervention in a larger group of people (several hundred) to determine efficacy (that is, whether it works as intended) and to further evaluate its safety.

Phase III Clinical Trial

Phase III studies are done to study the efficacy of an intervention in large groups of trial participants (from several hundred to several thousand) by comparing the intervention to other standard or experimental interventions (or to non-interventional standard care). Phase III studies are also used to monitor adverse effects and to collect information that will allow the intervention to be used safely.

Phase IV Clinical Trial

Phase IV studies are done after an intervention has been marketed. These studies are designed to monitor the effectiveness of the approved intervention in the general population and to collect information about any adverse effects associated with widespread use over longer periods of time. They may also be used to investigate the potential use of the intervention in a different condition, or in combination with other therapies.

https://www.australianclinicaltrials.gov.au/what-clinical-trial/phases-clinical-trials

Virology for beginners (part 3)

...........of course it's about the lack of medical expertise or any relevance whatsoever to the issue.

FFS, leave Katamatite every once in a while.

He can't - there is no footy and when there is there'll be no spectators at games.

Here's the relevance tho. Most people relate to entertainers more than experts. People are more likely to listen to her than the former head of the ama.

Now to identify the antigen profile of these "spike proteins" in order to facilitate a vaccine, and then this ****er joins the dinosaurs.

Smokers and ex smokers have a 14 x higher chance or rate of disease progression with this virus and it's something to do with the ACE2protein but I'm not sure what. Apparently expression of ACE2 is higher in Asian men than Asian woman who smoke and higher than European men and women who smoke. It's also significantly higher than non smokers.

I have a bit of a dry cough but I've had it since the fire season. I was planning on getting it checked out before term 1 finishes but maybe not now.

He can't - there is no footy and when there is there'll be no spectators at games.

Well I could but other than a handful of people like Orange Peanut, our “Tigers-Lions-finally picked Hawks conveniently as they go on to win flags mate” and a few others there’s no need to go to Melbourne unless for Football or big events

Antiviral housekeeping

As pointed out this thing can stay suspended in aerosol droplets for ~30 minutes, surfaces for up to a couple of days depending upon conditions, and in toilet fecal matter for up to 5 days (flush --> aerosols), and don't worry if you can't see turds, it's in their anyway.

Things that Covid19 does not like:

- soap
- alcohol (metho)
- warm conditions
- ultraviolet rays (sunlight)

Getting home:

First thing the inhabitants of your abode should immediately do when they get home is -

1) Have a tray set aside for disinfecting everyday items that you bring inside (keys, cash, coins, etc), spray the tray with a fine mist of methylated spirits in a spray bottle, then place these items spread out in the tray, and apply another fine mist of spray to the exposed sides. Leave it to evaporate.
2) Wipe mobile phones down with a metho soaked cloth/napkin.
3) Remove outside clothes and place them for laundering at the end of each day, then go straight to the bathroom and wash hands with warm water and soap thoroughly, then place on clothes that are clean or have not been outside.
4) After doing this take the metho spray and a fresh paper towel or cloth, and spray & wipe car door handles, door fittings-light switches etc. you have contacted when you came inside. Your home should now be sterile.
5) Any other items like frozen food will kill the virus in your freezer, tinned/packaged stuff/non perishables can be disinfected with some exposure to sunlight.

Laundering:

-utilise a disinfecting agent (eucalyptus oil, etc.) with your clothes wash.

Toilet:

- Always flush with the lid down, and hit the toilet area with a burst of disinfecting spray as you exit (Glen 20). Disinfect your toilet regularly.
- Try not to use public toilets, but if you have to, be wary of the surfaces and aerosols.

Health:

- Breathe through your nose where possible and do not tolerate the bad manners of anyone who consistently coughs without covering their mouth. Call them on it!
-
Need to use ATM's/fuel bowers etc,.? Use a disposable rubber glove.
- Vitamin D3 is good for immune boost. Get it.
- If you get a cough or flu like symptoms, ISOLATE YOURSELF IMMEDIATELY AND INFORM YOUR FAMILY FRIENDS.

- Jump on your kids about this!!!

This is not a difficult or expensive thing to mediate.

Metho, soap, spray bottle, disinfecting spray, disinfecting wash, paper towels/cloth should set you back no more than 25-30 bucks

That was posted by Tef

I'm quoting it without anything to link to him so those of you who have him on ignore can read it.

It's really good information and more important than our petty squabbles at this time.

Thanks for posting it Snake_Baker

Antiviral housekeeping

As pointed out this thing can stay suspended in aerosol droplets for ~30 minutes, surfaces for up to a couple of days depending upon conditions, and in toilet fecal matter for up to 5 days (flush --> aerosols), and don't worry if you can't see turds, it's in their anyway.

Things that Covid19 does not like:

- soap
- alcohol (metho)
- warm conditions
- ultraviolet rays (sunlight)

Getting home:

First thing the inhabitants of your abode should immediately do when they get home is -

1) Have a tray set aside for disinfecting everyday items that you bring inside (keys, cash, coins, etc), spray the tray with a fine mist of methylated spirits in a spray bottle, then place these items spread out in the tray, and apply another fine mist of spray to the exposed sides. Leave it to evaporate.
2) Wipe mobile phones down with a metho soaked cloth/napkin.
3) Remove outside clothes and place them for laundering at the end of each day, then go straight to the bathroom and wash hands with warm water and soap thoroughly, then place on clothes that are clean or have not been outside.
4) After doing this take the metho spray and a fresh paper towel or cloth, and spray & wipe car door handles, door fittings-light switches etc. you have contacted when you came inside. Your home should now be sterile.
5) Any other items like frozen food will kill the virus in your freezer, tinned/packaged stuff/non perishables can be disinfected with some exposure to sunlight.

Laundering:

-utilise a disinfecting agent (eucalyptus oil, etc.) with your clothes wash.

Toilet:

- Always flush with the lid down, and hit the toilet area with a burst of disinfecting spray as you exit (Glen 20). Disinfect your toilet regularly.
- Try not to use public toilets, but if you have to, be wary of the surfaces and aerosols.

Health:

- Breathe through your nose where possible and do not tolerate the bad manners of anyone who consistently coughs without covering their mouth. Call them on it!
-
Need to use ATM's/fuel bowers etc,.? Use a disposable rubber glove.
- Vitamin D3 is good for immune boost. Get it.
- If you get a cough or flu like symptoms, ISOLATE YOURSELF IMMEDIATELY AND INFORM YOUR FAMILY FRIENDS.

- Jump on your kids about this!!!

This is not a difficult or expensive thing to mediate.

Metho, soap, spray bottle, disinfecting spray, disinfecting wash, paper towels/cloth should set you back no more than 25-30 bucks

That was posted by Tef

I'm quoting it without anything to link to him so those of you who have him on ignore can read it.

It's really good information and more important than our petty squabbles at this time.

Thanks for posting it Snake_Baker

I sent that to a couple of people, so thanks Snake_Baker

Edit- I also sent that recipe for sanitiser 👍

Oh and how well are woolies and coles doing out of this. So many empty shelves.

Might need to buys some of their shares especially if they're dipping currently because their end of year profit is going to be brilliant.

Went to school with a bloke who sells toilet paper amongst other things. He has been licking his lips. He also had a decent career with the Qld Reds and played a few tests for wallabies so he is doing ok for himself.

Just got back from shopping. Everywhere reasonably busy, but with a smile and well behaved.
Only 2 of us so a normal weekly shop.

Anyone here got 3 - 4 kids ?

Mrs Keating does our shopping online and we pick it up Saturdays. This week she couldn’t because all the spots were taken. First time ever

Smokers and ex smokers have a 14 x higher chance or rate of disease progression with this virus and it's something to do with the ACE2protein but I'm not sure what. Apparently expression of ACE2 is higher in Asian men than Asian woman who smoke and higher than European men and women who smoke. It's also significantly higher than non smokers.

I have a bit of a dry cough but I've had it since the fire season. I was planning on getting it checked out before term 1 finishes but maybe not now.

Interesting. I suspected it had to do with compromised lung function. I did read something about the Han Chinese having higher expression of ACE-2, which would make for a greater number of binding sites.

Women, of course, generally have a better immune system as people age, and this would be the prime factor in the numbers.

l have a daughter with Autism who has an obsession with hygeine . We go through a lot of toilet paper . Its going to be interesting to see how she handles this virus...

The only two common symptoms of sickness this virus doesn’t have are sneezing and diarrhoea. Which makes the toilet paper situation even dumber