News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

"Government indecisiveness" has nothing to do with it. They act on the recommendations of scientists.

Stop turning this in to a political commercial for the ALP.
And what are the “Scientists” recommending Tef? :stern look

So in Italy doctors are literally being forced to deny Intensive Care treatment to elderly sufferers of the virus.

The infection rate has meant that there are far more sufferers than treatment facilities available.

Taking drastic measures here that are designed to slow the spread of the virus before it gets a chance to overwhelm our health system makes perfect sense doesn't it?

I just don't get how this is a media or political issue.

Thats all we’re doing orange peanut , slowing the shitshow down . Is why I want to get it now , while all the medical staff are on their game.
Yeah I think I'm catching up with my 92yo Grandma tomorrow. Ideally after I've seen her, I'll catch it, self isolate and recover before the next time I see her.🤞

Gerard Whately suggested basically playing footy seven nights a week until the break comes as it is purely a TV product and no need to factor in crowd convenience. I think that is reasonable.
How's this. A mate come round yesterday. We sat outside away from each other and caught up. He rings an says he's been feeling weird and feverish.

He did say it was exactly like Ross River, he's had that before and people relapse.

He also inhaled a pot of mushy and cactus juice after he left here. Someone shoved it under his face and it smelt weird. If he has a fever or similar again he's going to Drs.

No coughing and he's a tobacco smoker.

He was fine before he got here he says.

This is the thing. If he has it so does everyone on the coast...

So as GarnerSmash said up thread 200 cases is where things go **** up and that's where we're at.

I am not a Doctor but I am tipping that it’s the mushy/cactus shit he sniffed

It's all about flattening the curve. If too many people get infected at once the health systems wont be able to cope with it and it things will spiral out of control. People will die from generally more mundane causes because they wont be able to get proper treatment. Doctors and Nurses will go AWOL because they're over worked and getting damaged, or because they're prioritizing caring for family etc.

If you can delay gluts of infections and continue to improve the capacity to deal with the virus then the long term effects look one hell of a lot less worse. Individuals just have to take personal responsibility for themselves and the ones they care for, to try and prevent infection, and if infection does occur you want them to get as much rest and treatment as possible AT HOME to prevent the hospitals being inundated.

Here. we've stocked up on about ~3 weeks of food and other supplies, cancelled a bunch of things, gotten permission to get scripts in advance etc etc. Just to reduce the likelihood of infection because we have a family member that is heavily at risk due of a severe case due to being immunocompromised. We're in a lucky situation though where not much interruption will occur to study/work related things, but most people aren't that lucky.

Just quietly though, the idiots buying 300 rolls of loo paper and 20kg of rice are insane.

And celebrate it with gusto

Won’t help us in the draft.

If the season is postponed after Rd 1 it will give BBB more weeks to get over his calf.

I hope we get in to see *. Hooker needs a boo #pat on head incident

Razor Ray. Who will keep him honest from the outer?

At least we may be spared Roving Brian

Looking forward to Bruce getting misty eyed and chin quivering as he talks about the lack of crowd

Basil’s nose will self isolate by itself

Expecting Eddie Cam of him popping a vessel on his couch

Warrior be blabbing on about an AFL Industry in “crisis talks”

Caro will have a sauce from the Wet Market

It's all about flattening the curve. If too many people get infected at once the health systems wont be able to cope with it and it things will spiral out of control. People will die from generally more mundane causes because they wont be able to get proper treatment. Doctors and Nurses will go AWOL because they're over worked and getting damaged, or because they're prioritizing caring for family etc.

If you can delay gluts of infections and continue to improve the capacity to deal with the virus then the long term effects look one hell of a lot less worse. Individuals just have to take personal responsibility for themselves and the ones they care for, to try and prevent infection, and if infection does occur you want them to get as much rest and treatment as possible AT HOME to prevent the hospitals being inundated.

Here. we've stocked up on about ~3 weeks of food and other supplies, cancelled a bunch of things, gotten permission to get scripts in advance etc etc. Just to reduce the likelihood of infection because we have a family member that is heavily at risk due of a severe case due to being immunocompromised. We're in a lucky situation though where not much interruption will occur to study/work related things, but most people aren't that lucky.

Just quietly though, the idiots buying 300 rolls of loo paper and 20kg of rice are insane.

You got a freezer? Ours is half empty. Might go buy some meat and frozen veggies tomorrow

Yes, but it's small so we've ordered a chest freezer we had been umming and ahhing about for the last 6 months anyway :p
Yeh we have one. We had a side of beef cut up a few years ago for $500. It was ok but probably too much casserole type meat
Can’t remember what Lamb tastes like...it’s the Woolly Lobster

stay at home, do not go out, the virus dies down after 3 months........if there is well enforced isolation.

And what are the “Scientists” recommending Tef? :stern look

In his defence everything he has posted about this recently will help you deal with this and maximise your chances of avoiding infection.

Read it.

That's all well and good in theory, but would you assume that those who are tourists would voluntarily isolate themselves for two weeks?
Wont have to worry about that as Im pretty sure there wont be any tourists coming here .That's the intended idea of the travel policy.
The one positive is that it will much safer driving in the tourist areas of NZ now !

Wont have to worry about that as Im pretty sure there wont be any tourists coming here .That's the intended idea of the travel policy.
The one positive is that it will much safer driving in the tourist areas of NZ now !

Posted this here earlier Kiwi but with your large population of Pacific islanders the last thing you want is the virus to appear in places like Kiribati, Tuvalu, Tonga & Samoa. Health systems there wouldn't cope.

Morning,

Checking in from the Dandy Ranges outpost . It would seem overnight the supermarkets were hit by a large group of people with NFI. No white bread left ( rolls eyes) Not much meat except corned beef, thanks for that and expensive cuts, yeah I only buy them anyway.

Most of the canned stuff was gone , they did leave some flavours that might not have been the most popular ( like that matters)

Nuts and grains were by the look not touched- really peeps?

I'm a non conformist and for me to even consider the need to have some 'stock ' means we probably all should. I'll eat it all at some stage anyway.

Oh got a note on the dating app from youngish martial arts expert- am going to ask her to marry me today- come at apocalypse.

Crazy thing is where we normally shop is pretty quiet. In & out in 10 - 15 minutes, might be 15 - 20 people in a huge supermarket.

Go now and there's 50 - 70 people there if not a 100. Now if anyone has got it corona you're more likely to catch it panic buying more so than doing your normal shop 😎