News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

Feeling pretty pissed off at the world at the moment, lost my job like a lot of other good people... This footy club has always been one of the best things in my life and i can see some very hard times in front of us ( although we are not the only ones, and we are use to it) Time for the weak arse AFL to start showing some real support to the clubs that have made this game what it is.

Will be ok Bugsy, always darkest before dawn. Not really sure what that means , but yeah sounds positive 😬.

Health mate comes before everything else.
They bred us Shinboners tough mate 👍

Was hoping someone might be able to explain the rationale behind 17 games as opposed to 22 ? Currently the afl is pushing ahead with games to be played in empty stadiums but why have they reduced the season by 5 rounds ? I personally think that within a few weeks no games will be getting played and the season will be abandoned. Hopefully we then get the demons second pick or whatever it was based on last years ladder

Season?

Wat about our whole Club?

This is bigger than Gold Coast.

We are looking right down the barrel

He also said the the antibodies the body makes to fight off the infection means you can't catch it twice for a period of between 1 year to a lifetime depending on how long the antibodies remain in your system.

Bingo!

Listen to Gilligans press conference. He explains it pretty well.

Basically 17 weeks give more flexibility to suspend for a couple of weeks. And if they suspend for months they will play though til December

Season?

Wat about our whole Club?

This is bigger than Gold Coast.

We are looking right down the barrel
Can you expand on your thoughts for this?

I've seen it a couple times now with another North poster intimating the same, so I'm interested in the rationale.

The rationale is that based on the best available advice the AFL knows there is no way they can get through this season without having to shut the whole thing down at some point, If on player tests positive there will be no games for at least 14 days.

Listen to Gilligans press conference. He explains it pretty well.

Basically 17 weeks give more flexibility to suspend for a couple of weeks. And if they suspend for months they will play though til December
Thanks . I just can’t see them playing this season . What happens when a player tests positive and the entire team gets quarantined. Then 3 weeks later another player tests positive. I suppose they can only try and work with what they have , I just cannot see the season been completed

AFL journalist Caroline Wilson has blasted Australian Rugby League Commision chairman Peter V’landys after an attempt at securing public money for the NRL throughout the virus outbreak.

V'landys declared an Australia without rugby league "is not Australia" as the code deliberates on a way forward amid sporting lockdowns around the globe.

Wilson took V’landys to task on Monday, accusing him of failing to grasp the bigger picture.

“At a time when people are falling ill, potentially dying, businesses are going under and people are losing their jobs, to open the conversation by demanding public money demonstrated a lack of grace," Wilson said.

“Your behaviour reminded me of those selfish panic merchants who have stripped supermarket shelves and have highlighted the worst of Australia’s response to this terrifying plague.”

Can you expand on your thoughts for this?

I've seen it a couple times now with another North poster intimating the same, so I'm interested in the rationale.
The Saints are the ones who are in real trouble.

Yeah I don't see how we're automatically in the gun, tbh.

I reckon a time like now is where a "lean and mean" operation like our is a strength.

Pokie reliant clubs will be really exposed.

I am a bit surprised that we haven’t heard much from China about vaccines considering the scientific and medical resources they are pumping in to find one.

I don't know where they sit when it comes to immunology, but they are a world leader when it comes to chemistry.

As always, ours are punching above our weight. Our medical research fields are much better than our technology development fields.

There were cops at the QV Centre Woolies keeping order at the checkouts. A group of students packing a suitcase full of eggs not giving a shit that they were blocking access for everyone else.

Given what happened on Wall Street last night, Morrison and Frydenberg need to shut the ASX today or our banks will go under.

No issues here, trump just need to ask his neighbour for help..

COVID-19 surged in the Chinese city of Wuhan in late December 2019, and by January 2020 it had hit Hubei province like a tidal wave, swirling over China and rippling out overseas. The Chinese state rolled into action to combat the spread and to care for those infected. Among the thirty medicines the Chinese National Health Commission selected to fight the virus was a Cuban anti-viral drug, Interferon Alpha 2b. This drug has been produced in China since 2003, by the enterprise ChangHeber, a Cuban-Chinese joint venture.

Cuban Interferon Alpha 2b has proven effective for viruses with characteristics similar to those of COVID-19. Cuban biotech specialist Dr. Luis Herrera Martinez explained, “its use prevents aggravation and complications in patients, reaching that stage that ultimately can result in death.” Cuba first developed and used interferons to arrest a deadly outbreak of the dengue virus in 1981, and the experience catalyzed the development of the island’s now world-leading biotech industry.

As always, ours are punching above our weight. Our medical research fields are much better than our technology development fields.

In Victoria - where Doherty Institute is - you can thank government for that.

Political decision made to priotise medical research, fund it adequately, create the Bio21 precinct.

We punch way above our weight in the field of tech too..

We come from the luckiest country on earth and I think everyone’s about to see it.