News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

Victoria up 22% today.

Nationally up 23% at 1pm, another death announced in NSW.

This looks like being statistically one of our worst days since the outbreak.

Based off the increasing measures, increased testing and the like, should see an increase over the next 7-10 days then start to level off. That is if the measures are effective enough. Testing is up to five days so there is a bit of a lag. Would expect our rate to hit a few thousand nationally before slowing down.

If both parties would implement / maintain the same measures, what difference does it make if it is blue or red team in charge?

Stopping public gatherings, tracking / controlling movement, giving police power to arrest people for doing nothing wrong other than being outside...

Take away the irrational, fear-based save us from the enemy mindset, and how does all of this look?

Conspiracies always abound. But the reason for these measures is very simple, very fair and very much justified. They are designed to save as many Australian lives as possible. There are many older Australians who will die if covid-19 gets out of hand, They will die prematurely and they don't deserve to die prematurely.

There are other, younger Australians, with compromised immune systems, for whatever reason, who are also highly susceptible and may die prematurely. They do not deserve to die prematurely. A close friend of Mrs. Horace, who has MS and has had it for years, has a highly compromised immune system as a result of her condition and the drugs she has been on in treating her condition. She is terrified that she will catch covid-19, because it could be a death sentence for her.

If people are breaking the rules, thus potentially endangering other peoples lives, then I am absolutely in favour of these rules. To be restricted in some of our personal freedoms for a relatively small period of time, is something all reasonable Australians should be prepared to tolerate.

I cannot believe that there are people who are viewing this situation through their own selfish interests.

"Always find the debate about working from home vs. working in office interesting. As someone who's done the former now for a fair while, can I just say absolutely nothing beats the sensation of churning out an articulate, witty, insightful masterpiece clad only in one's jocks. "

Yes you can cook 2-minute noodles in a thermos.

Boil water. pour over 2 broken packets of migoreng. Seal for 30 mins. Mix in sriracha sauce.

Remember this the next time you go to the footy. Add that to the hotdog recipe.

Sorry with human contact being limited research must continue.

Zero interest rates and money printing.

Neo liberal capitalism in rude health.

Can I have some?

The banks will laugh hang up the phones and carry on with business.

Zero/negative interest rates are inevitable under looming world monetary policy anyway.

The banks will laugh hang up the phones and carry on with business.

Zero/negative interest rates are inevitable under looming world monetary policy anyway.

Which is why Comrade Coronavirus could be the best thing that's happened in decades.

Same as how the Black Death killed feudalism. Comrade Coronavirus will kill contemporary financialised neoliberal feudalism.

Shit getting real now

There's no great issue with the young & healthy all getting infected and becoming immune to the virus, thereby ceasing to be sources for replication (vectors) and further infections. In fact, that is a good thing.

That's a bit of myth. Between three and ten young people in one thousand could die from this, according to some credible reports, even with no risk factors at all.

That's not to mention lung damage which could shorten life expectancy and wreck quality of life.

Apparently epithelial damage as the virus binds to its receptor (enzyme known as ACE2) and is destroyed by an immune response can result in scarring. Even in patients with a mild form of the disease.

Dunno the specifics so if anyone wants to chase them up feel free.

ACE2 is associated with anti inflammatory action and is possibly also a factor in some hypertension medications so this could be the reason why people with hypertension are at risk and anti inflammatories could be dangerous but again I don't know enough to really say.

Here's it's wiki page for anyone interested.

That's a bit of myth. Between three and ten young people in one thousand could die from this, according to some credible reports, even with no risk factors at all.

What were the respective patient health and medical treatment factors?

ACE2 is associated with anti inflammatory action and is possibly also a factor in some hypertension medications so this could be the reason why people with hypertension are at risk and anti inflammatories could be dangerous but again I don't know enough to really say.

Here's it's wiki page for anyone interested.

Cheers.

~6 weeks ago:

you’d have to be a pretty ordinary person to send your kid to school crook at the moment

It's specifically an issue in terms of children developing the symptoms at school, not arriving at school with them but yeah that will be a problem too. Some people will feel they have no choice if they are working and living pay check to pay check.

Adding food science to the repertoire, guru?

The man has no limits.
Leaders rise-up during times of crisis.

While some are predicting the end of the world and panicking, I say **** it, I'm ****ing ready. Let's go storm the gates of hell, snatch Satan off his throne, grab him by his ****ing nuts and drag that mother ****er down. I'm ready.

Then I heard the voice in my head saying, "Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?" And I said, "Here am I. Send me!" - Groin 6:8

What were the respective patient health and medical treatment factors?

Cheers.

~6 weeks ago:

I don't know.

According to Drs Norman Swan on the abc and Bruce Aylward of the WHO China mission no comorbidity factors and no age factor either.

It's a low percentage but as numbers of infected increase so will the fatality rate.

It's possible we may lose AFL Players. Two of our players have had pneumonia already. Jed nearly died from it 5 years ago and maybe his ToG limitations stem from that.

This is the abc article referring to risks to younger people. It's not the first time I've seen that info and wasn't what I was looking for to post but covers most of it.

My wife is on hyper tension medication. I'd like to find out if it might increase her risk. Our kids would be so devastated if something happened to her, they'd cope with my dying better I reckon. (So would I.)

I don't know.

Cheers.

According to Drs Norman Swan on the abc and Bruce Aylward of the WHO China mission no comorbidity factors and no age factor either.

If they are unaware of age related decrease in immunity response, then they have no right to even be consulting a first aid certificate course.

ABC is dung mate. These things are put together by people who have no medical or science training (https://au.linkedin.com/in/tegantaylor)

Refer to better sources, such as the scientific data.

Loans across the globe should be frozen until this blows over. It been reported that France has ceased to tax everyone. Not sure if that is correct but I heard on the radio.

well, that's just commie talk now.

(Yes they should.)