News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I've still got my money on the US storming home to take victory. Got amazing odds on it too. I can't wait to take my winnings to the bank.

I reckon Nigeria/Pakistan/Indonesia will win but months later when nobody cares.

I've still got my money on the US storming home to take victory. Got amazing odds on it too. I can't wait to take my winnings to the bank.

What are the odds at the moment?

Pretty good assumption. Wait until it grabs hold of the tent cities. Combine that with the U.S. medical system and it could be devastating.

Yep, outside of sections the Middle East and Africa, the USA looks easily the worst placed western country at the moment to be affected.

They have the bulk population, density and majority of the country not taking it seriously for this to spread like wildfire.

Pretty good assumption. Wait until it grabs hold of the tent cities. Combine that with the U.S. medical system and it could be devastating.

Hey who is the President right now?

Yep, outside of sections the Middle East and Africa, the USA looks easily the worst placed western country at the moment to be affected.

They have the bulk population, density and majority of the country not taking it seriously for this to spread like wildfire.

It already has.

The real issue is the precarious economy.

So many people live paycheck to paycheck - even day to day.

They will be outta food and cash within a week or so with these shutdowns?

Then what happens?

I reckon Nigeria/Pakistan/Indonesia will win but months later when nobody cares.

Pick the biggest country by population and combine it with the shittest healthcare system, and that will be the winner.

We have tested almost 100k in Oz with a local GP test being rolled out in the coming days. I think they said 100k of that test and another 100k of hospital tests.

Will see more positive tests but less percentage of tested will be infected.

Pick the biggest country by population and combine it with the shittest healthcare system, and that will be the winner.

India, Indonesia, Pakistan or Bangladesh.

Take your pick.

Mexico with 120+ million, no current ban on social gatherings and looking to potentially do herd immunity is a strong late contender.

Others may be able to doublethink and pretend their very recent statements are forgotten. But there's always a record.

Here's this beauty.

two Wisconsin congressmen, Democrat Mark Pocan and Republican Mike Gallagher, introduced the Medical Supply Chain Security Act, which could give the FDA the authority to identify sourcing locations for medical supplies.

Last year, Reps. John Garamendi, D-Calif., and Vicky Hartzler, R-Mo., introduced the Pharmaceutical Independent Long-Term Readiness Reform Act that would require the Department of Defense to purchase only American medicines and vaccines.

Take your pick.

Mexico with 120+ million, no current ban on social gatherings and looking to potentially do herd immunity is a strong late contender.
India is conducting only about 90 tests a day, despite having the capacity for as many as 8,000. So far, 11,500 people have been tested, according to The Associated Press.

Take your pick.

Which one has an older average population too?

Kaaba, Mecca
saudi_arabia_coronavirus_afp.jpg

normally looks like..

Grand+Mosque+Mecca.JPG
Just confirmed that both are now fully closed to worshippers.

The predictive chart posted yesterday is actually based on % infected of the total population rather than exponential % daily increases.

Also, I don't think we've increased testing any more than we were doing 2-3 days ago, we don't have the test kits at the moment to implement what Sth Korea, Hong Kong and Singapore have done with blanket testing of a major % of the workforce that aren't showing symptoms.

I have a friend who is an ed nurse in NSW health department. Her briefings are less scary than the media but still intense.

There has been heaps of testing done here in the Northern Rivers and as of yesterday morning first thing only three cases. May have doubled since with four more. But that's still between one and five percent of the tests ... So at this stage over 90% are negative. But that could change very quickly.

Lots of foreign students, and backpackers around here.

Ha just coughed myself. Full of phlegm tho.

Referring back to this rubbish again.

1584655360949.png

Don't buy it!

Go get a bottle of methylated spirits, and dilute every 100ml with 25-30 ml of water and then you will have ~75% ethanol solution than you can spray on surfaces or your hands as sanitizer. If you apply it to your hands then apply a little hand moisturizer after it has dried. Once again, thorough washing with soap and warm water is the preferred choice for hand sanitizing.

Only one thing to be cautious about with the ethanol solution, it is flammable, so take care around naked flames and sources of ignition.

I have a friend who is an ed nurse in NSW health department. Her briefings are less scary than the media but still intense.

It's "intense" for her because she has to deal with a stampede of over-hyped people.

This is fascinating.

In under one term Trump has changed the Republican party from Paul Ryan style ultra dry economics and foreign interventionism to isolationist domestic populist Peronism.

India is conducting only about 90 tests a day, despite having the capacity for as many as 8,000. So far, 11,500 people have been tested, according to The Associated Press.

17% of the Indian urban population lives in the slums.

Around 80 million people.

India definitely poses the biggest potential catastrophe.

17% of the Indian urban population lives in the slums.

Around 80 million people.

India definitely poses the biggest potential catastrophe.

17% of India’s population is closer to 200m people.

All media hysteria whipped up to distract from the failing climate change hoax mate.

That's was your take on it.

What is interesting is that for as long as it wasn't real to them Republicans denied that covid 19 was a thing. As soon as it was more real and could directly effect them they ran to the scientists.

For a long time they have denied climate change, we just have not hit the tipping point to make them run to scientists.

Scientists that almost universally agree that climate change is impacted by man made factors. (97% of climate scientists agree according to NASA.)

What it says to me is, politicians who deny climate change have a tipping point coming for them. What that tipping point occurs they are going to absolutely shit it and the economic impacts that are currently playing out or are in the post will be dwarfed.