News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

It's really interesting how this virus doesn't seem to affect children that much. Might be because it's a respiratory-based illness, and their lungs are young, but they don't even seem to come down with fevers, or catch it at all. And kids are the biggest fomites on the planet. I'm kind of fascinated by that. Like, what is happening immunologically there? It's also kind of fascinating to think of it in a somewhat more apocalyptic sense - the old guard being taken down by illness, awash in toilet paper rolls, while the young walk through unscathed, retiring their climate strike signs to museums as they look out upon the new world, where the corporate leaders of the fossil fuel industry have all perished, and it's no longer legal to incarcerate wild animals in tiny cages in public markets....

Anyways, Trump! Of course he passed the test, he didn't have any symptoms. Complete waste of a test, but very strategic on his part, because now everyone will move on from it. Although I highly doubt it was his strategy. I wonder who counseled him to get it over with.

And of course he can shake hands with people who come down with sickness, but HE'S okay! God, isn't that always how it goes. He'll probably never get it. Mind you, I don't blame the virus for not wanting to live on him.

I too don't want to be seen as a political defender or cheerleader either for similar reasons (same with the fire stuff too), but you are completely right. All leaders are acting on the advice of the medical experts and 'analysts'.

You look at NZ and Australia's policies up until yesterday. They were virtually identical in timing, purpose, and scope, with the main differences being stimulus packages, which NZ looking at in the upcoming week, and the new travel and quarantine restrictions instituted in NZ yesterday. I wouldn't be surprised if we followed suit with NZ's new restrictions in the upcoming week.

Pointedly, despite having virtually identical policies in place up until yesterday, NZ has only had 6 cases and Australia just ticked over 250 cases. This difference indicates that NZ has better bureaucratic checks for policy implementation and has benefited from having a smaller population, a smaller influx of people from China during this period, with Australia acting as the regional transportation/tourism hub instead of NZ, and a few other domestic and international factors.

At the end of the day, it is up to every individual to do their societal duty and use their common sense. Government policy can only go so far in covering up for the idiocy of individual citizens.

Morrison ignored expert advice about fires before and during them. Made up policy on the run and didn't co ordinate with states.

In the last few days he's ignored advice like the stuff you posted from Dan Saun to keep a religious gathering that his mate will millions off open and was gonna go to the footy after meeting Dutton till people told him off.

He is ****en useless in a crisis.

I heard (second hand tho) what prompted those people in Cobargo to shun him and frankly it was stupid behaviour. If that's true (and I'd happily believe it) he's an even bigger idiot than I thought.

You back in the scientists mate. Albanese would be doing the same thing.
It's really interesting how this virus doesn't seem to affect children that much. Might be because it's a respiratory-based illness, and their lungs are young, but they don't even seem to come down with fevers, or catch it at all. And kids are the biggest fomites on the planet. I'm kind of fascinated by that. Like, what is happening immunologically there? It's also kind of fascinating to think of it in a somewhat more apocalyptic sense - the old guard being taken down by illness, awash in toilet paper rolls, while the young walk through unscathed, retiring their climate strike signs to museums as they look out upon the new world, where the corporate leaders of the fossil fuel industry have all perished, and it's no longer legal to incarcerate wild animals in tiny cages in public markets....

Anyways, Trump! Of course he passed the test, he didn't have any symptoms. Complete waste of a test, but very strategic on his part, because now everyone will move on from it. Although I highly doubt it was his strategy. I wonder who counseled him to get it over with.

And of course he can shake hands with people who come down with sickness, but HE'S okay! God, isn't that always how it goes. He'll probably never get it. Mind you, I don't blame the virus for not wanting to live on him.

The immunological angle is interesting. During the Spanish flu outbreak (now that was a real pandemic) the old did far better than the young. The theory was that the older generation had been exposed to a flu variant close enough to the Spanish (really American) variant to give them a level of immunity that had lasted for at least a couple of generations.

The story of how it got to be called the Spanish Flu is fascinating, and says so much about how the world works.

Morrison ignored expert advice about fires before and during them. Made up policy on the run and didn't co ordinate with states.

In the last few days he's ignored advice like the stuff you posted from Dan Saun to keep a religious gathering that his mate will millions off open and was gonna go to the footy after meeting Dutton till people told him off.

He is fu**en useless in a crisis.

I heard (second hand tho) what prompted those people in Cobargo to shun him and frankly it was stupid behaviour. If that's true (and I'd happily believe it) he's an even bigger idiot than I thought.
I won’t revisit the fires stuff, as I’ve wasted enough bandwidth on that subject. But I do agree with the broad assessment that he could do a lot better.

As for the Dutton meeting:
"In advice provided to the Prime Minister this evening, the deputy chief medical officer has reiterated that only people who had close contact with the Minister in the preceding 24 hours before he became symptomatic need to self-isolate," a spokesperson for Prime Minister Scott Morrison said.

"That does not include the Prime Minister or any other members of the Cabinet."

Mr Morrison will not be tested for COVID-19, based on medical advice.

I get the rumours swirling around Hillsong, who are a strange bunch, but it is a little bit of a stretch.

Apparently on why the 500 thing was delayed to Monday:

'It's very precautionary,' the spokesman said, adding the decision was based on the advice of all the chief medical officers to allow the federal government time to formulate protocols and guidelines.

The decision to introduce the ban from Monday was agreed upon by the prime minister, as well as state and territory leaders based on advice from Australia's Chief Medical Officer Brendan Murphy.

Folks acting like Murphy is some independent umpire, he's a political appointment who will also be Secretary of the Department of Health, in what is a highly unusual state of affairs.

But obviously politics would never come into this, it is all just straight up science.

Word is the Victorian Government thinks Morrison and the Feds aren't handling it properly and are about to go out ahead of them.

That's exactly what happened in the fires, and Andrews was utterly vindicated there, I expect he will be again.

Folks acting like Murphy is some independent umpire, he's a political appointment who will also be Secretary of the Department of Health, in what is a highly unusual state of affairs.

But obviously politics would never come into this, it is all just straight up science.

Word is the Victorian Government thinks Morrison and the Feds aren't handling it properly and are about to go out ahead of them.

That's exactly what happened in the fires, and Andrews was utterly vindicated there, I expect he will be again.

Without defending anyone response to bushfires is largely a state responsibility, as will a lot of on the ground response to the Corona virus.

It became a national crisis with fires joining up across state borders. Morrison stuffed that response, everyone knows it.

Hasn't been that bad this time, but isn't great either.

A lot of people did. This is where having an understanding of politics is quite useful.

The Chinese do not put a city the size of Wuhan (11m people) let alone a region like Hubei under 100 per cent lockdown over a mere flu.

The implications are enormous.

Similarly when news broke it was in Iran and crucially Qom, I knew it was going global. Iran has been under sanctions for so long that it's health system has no chance of coping.

And Qom is a Holy City in Shia Islam and has a continuous stream of pilgrims coming from across the Middle East and Central Asia, all in very tight confines etc.

As soon as it was there, it meant it was across that whole region, which meant it was going hard into Europe and Africa.

Two continent with community transmission - pandemic.
The Chinese lockdown was a hint but could have been manufactured to deal with HK but as soon as I heard about Qom, via you iirc, I felt a weird feeling in my gut.

That this was gonna be serious. It was an event the likes of which we've never seen.

The Chinese lockdown was a hint but could have been manufactured to deal with HK but as soon as I heard about Qom, via you iirc, I felt a weird feeling in my gut.

That this was gonna be serious. It was an event the likes of which we've never seen.

I compare it the Boxing Day tsunami. For all my lifetime, huge tsunamis were something that happened in history or Hollywood movies, like, you knew it could happen but never actually thought it would.

Then one came along and killed a quarter of a million people in a morning. Ten years later another one came and you're like, ohhhh, yeah, these are the real deal.

Same with global pandemics. I actually reckon we'll see more and more of these, especially with a booming metropolitanised global population

Andrews seems to be in his element in these situations. He instinctively seems to have a good handle on how to deal with disasters. He allowed himself to be blindsided a little by the Grand Prix, though.

These are the times when I don’t feel so much of an economic failure for still renting, not owning a credit card and having managed to put aside around 6 months worth of savings.

Home loan can wait. Let’s see what happens over the next 6-12 months.

You're good bro.

Nobody knows for sure but one of the current theories is that children that are bombarded with coronaviruses that cause common colds, which adults are immune to, have caused their immune system to be hyperactive while growing up has seen their immune system attack infected cells much quicker and prevent their immune systems to become overloaded.

There are some coronaviruses that impact children as much as adults, some are more dangerous to children but not adults. In flu pandemics, children are more vulnerable than adults when it comes to developing serious health conditions because their hyperactive immune system often does serious and irreparable damage to vital organs, where a less active immune system gives the body more time to repair the damage caused by viruses.

Politicians are morons and they are influenced more by people who tell them what they want to hear than by those who tell them what they don't want to hear.

We, nor the United states, have undertaken the full measures advised by the WHO and the WHO are complicit in dropping the ball and being far too slow to act, if we are behind where the WHO is then we are in trouble.

I compare it the Boxing Day tsunami. For all my lifetime, huge tsunamis were something that happened in history or Hollywood movies, like, you knew it could happen but never actually thought it would.

Then one came along and killed a quarter of a million people in a morning. Ten years later another one came and you're like, ohhhh, yeah, these are the real deal.

Same with global pandemics. I actually reckon we'll see more and more of these, especially with a booming metropolitanised global population

S**t will hit the fan once Jupiter slings that 30km wide meteorite in our direction instead of crushing it like Shoemaker-Levy.

It’s been hypothesised that because the common cold is a coronavirus and on average school kids get a cold 4 times a year their immune system is more ready to deal with it.