News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

So who thinks we’re going to all go into self isolation?

Most businesses are already making their staff work from home (if available) and shut down for a few weeks already

Surely it’s happening soon. Why wait for the inevitable? If the government is planning to anyways just do it now

There is no food left on the shelves and my mate from Coles said they are days behind in their orders. They can’t keep up with the unnecessary panic

Yes we will.

They seem to be saving the tests for celebrities and politicians. Granted politicians are at a higher risk being out in the community but there are only 631 state and 227 federal politicians - 858 from a population of 25 million. If that ratio translated to confirmed cases, there'd be just one politician infected for every 29,000 Australians yet we already have at least three (?) politicians testing positive out of just 450 confirmed cases.
I posted an article before. There are international shortages of testing gear that affected the availability of testing kids. People who traveled and who are showing symptoms only, but we just got a major shipment
and we are ramping production of medical gear, so we may move to random testing sooner rather than later.

Don't care, we all experienced tragedies in some form or another.

I'm not copping the narrative that the country is weak. I'm not a pessimist when it comes to my own nation and I take offence to the idea of assumed weakness.

I said the we are psychologically unprepared, not that the country is weak.

People punching on over dunny paper proves that beyond doubt.

The country itself is one of the best placed in the world to respond to this across pretty much every metric there is.

You have to be brain damaged to read this and still say "he listens to the experts".

Pogues at the palace in about 1990 was unreal. Shane MacGowan made it thru about 3 songs and as many bottles, fell over, was dragged off stage and came back on about 5 minutes later with a belly arm full of something fast.

Two songs and another bottle later he fell over and passed out in the corner.

fu** the band were good tho.

Quality musos.

And it's the only mosh pit I've ever had to retire early from after copping too much of a beating.
I was there too ferbs. Wildest mosh pit I have ever been in. I just remember the crowd rolling out of the Palace looking like the war wounded, jeans stuck to the legs, walking to the tram like cowboys. "Quality musos" was right. Good times.

It is truly remarkable that the very people who are falling over themselves to defend Donald Trump by reminding us all of the importance of listening to experts, are the very same people who prefer the views of right wing nutty commentators over scientists (yes, that's right experts) when it comes to global warming. Breathtaking.

So who thinks we’re going to all go into self isolation?

Most businesses are already making their staff work from home (if available) and shut down for a few weeks already

Surely it’s happening soon. Why wait for the inevitable? If the government is planning to anyways just do it now

There is no food left on the shelves and my mate from Coles said they are days behind in their orders. They can’t keep up with the unnecessary panic
Already in self isolation here, but yesterday when I went to collect everything I needed from the office there were still heaps of people hanging out in parks, sitting in cafes, enjoying 'business as usual'. It's like we need scores of people dying to be shocked into action. My wife's work colleagues and friends from Asia, while mostly in casual work, are hoping things will be shutdown and prefer to cop the economic whack now. They are in constant contact with those at home and there is disbelief there that Australia is so casual about this. Our transmission curve is following the Italian and Spanish models while the 'flat curve' models of Singapore, Taiwan, and South Korea told us we should have been isolating 6 weeks ago. A lot of pain ahead and hope all on here ride it out safely.

It is truly remarkable that the very people who are falling over themselves to defend Donald Trump by reminding us all of the importance of listening to experts, are the very same people who prefer the views of right wing nutty commentators over scientists (yes, that's right experts) when it comes to global warming. Breathtaking.

Most of them think Pell is innocent too, an interesting metric.

I don't think lock down is as bad as it sounds. Essential services continue. The borders close, schools close, most shops close, public transport shuts down and many jobs. But the essentials - hospitals, police, supermarkets, I even think bottleshops will stay open.

We are killing it atm. Independent fine wine store in SA, traditional buyers that would grab a bottle or two on the way home from work are taking a doz at a time.

Yes it makes sense.
I was told once with regards to the flu jab, that even though it's made to work against a particular strain, there can be some 'stickiness' to other (similar I suppose) strains.
Is that your understanding??

I don't know what "stickiness" is supposed to imply other than there being an affinity for antibody binding.

"Avidity" refers to the strength of the binding properties of an antibody related to a protein sequence on a viral infected cell, but as far as I know they have a high level of specificity and do not interact with differing viruses.

Try to picture how this works by looking at a combination lock. There's approximately 30,000 nucleotides (peptides with sugar phosphate backbones) present in the Covid19 RNA sequence, consisting of 4 differing types of nucleobases (guanine, uracil, adenine, cytosine), and when particular immune cells encounter and clean up dead virally infected cells (CD4+ T helper cells) they clip a random section of that peptide sequence, express it on their receptors, and then present it to B cells to facilitate antibody activation specific to that particular sequence. These peptide sequences are between 12-16 peptides in length. CD4+ cells & B cells keep punching out random viral peptide sequenced antibodies until they get a hit with recognising (binding) viral infected cell membrane proteins, then these antibodies swarm and attack the cells expressing that sequence and wipe out the infection.

Now, try to get your head around the mathematics involved here. What are the chances that a specific antibody, activated to the exact same specific combination of between 12 to 16 peptides, clipped out of thousands to tens of thousands of nucleotides containing random sequences of 4 possible nucleobases, and possessing the ability to neutralise a particular virus, would have the exact same ability to match a sequence relating to the inactivation of another virus? The numbers are mind boggling. I'm not claiming that it could not happen, but winning tattslotto every night this week would statistically be several orders of magnitude easier to achieve.

Lady in my wife’s mothers group, just sent everyone a message (her husband is in the army) - they had a message from the government saying to be on six hours notice.

looks like lockdown imminent

Ok so lock do
Rumours of it happening over the past week but several universities in Australia have been told to cease human to human research and seek alternatives (could be short or long term). Which basically means online interviews or questionnaires :drunk:

I assume places like AIS may have to resort to canning VO2max/peak testing and replacing it with good old fashioned beep/yo yo tests at an oval or indoor courts.

Apparently up to the discretion for each department and only recommendations but that's 4 universities in 3 states (that I know of - what's Deakin doing The acurate one ). I expect others to follow suit as word spreads. Very interested to see the knock-on effect this has for research - there are those partially through studies; those that have received grants/scholarships...

It's all well and good to say delay it but it may not be feasible with many moving parts. If it gets worse recruitment may become harder in the short term (already a big issue in Australia). I look forward to legitimate Journals having fluff papers - watered-down sections until this is cleared up.

If it's happening here it'll be happening in other countries too.

As we all know we're currently in uncharted waters, Deakin has moved into work from home mode where possible. As we're one of the very few universities with qualified trade staff ( fyi- saves them millions pa- good job TAO) they really cannot work from home, so I'll join 'em in the trenches.

Research is still going ahead with no change at this stage, they have developed a business continuity plan and will follow guidelines around social distancing. They like all uni's will try to avoid stopping valuable research as far as possible.I think the greater Deakin will run two shifts where half the team rotates weekly or daily. Ensuring we have site representation.

It is truly unremarkable that a person who can only see the world through the narrow lens of the western political left-right paradigm, would arrive at such a simpleton conclusion.

Post-graduate classes and seminars have been cancelled for the moment at the University of Newcastle.

Lady in my wife’s mothers group, just sent everyone a message (her husband is in the army) - they had a message from the government saying to be on six hours notice.

looks like lockdown imminent

Be very very wary of this kind of stuff.

It is truly unremarkable that a person who can only see the world through the narrow lens of the western political left-right paradigm, would arrive at such a simpleton conclusion.

Stop abusing people and stick to the science.

What you posted above was hugely informative and useful.

You still have lots of credibility in that area.