News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

The hoarding and panic buying has been a disgrace and something we should be ashamed of.

Being a sole carer for an 85 year old and being immunocompromised myself, something as simple as having hand sanitiser becomes very important at times like now.

She's got a rasping cough this morning. The glands are up in my throat. GP appointment via phone this arvo.

Fair to say I'm as worried as fu**.
Take care mate.

Two weeks ago we had 30 confirmed infections and now we have 450 odd. That's a fifteenfold increase in two weeks. That is exactly the sort of trajectory that Italy was on early days. What makes you think it would be any different in Australia if we don't make a significant intervention?
I listen to an interview with an infectious disease specialist in Perth who is working with the current patients. He and his colleagues are pissed at the government for the slow approach they are taking implementing these restrictions, at this rate shit will hit the fan in a few weeks and nobody is ready for it. Didn't have anything positive in his view of the "chief medical officer" either.

Speaking of political opportunists, where have those idiots Bandt & Hanson-Young been hiding?

Have they immersed themselves in a vat of Dettol and sealed the lid?

...............and Winton? Where's that idiot when there's political points to be manufactured?
We can only hope.

One of the major social problems during the Great Depression of the 1930's was the high level of unemployment and homelessness. Many unemployed took to the road seeking work and bearing in mind our population was much more rural based than it is today, it was not uncommon for those people to walk the roads and knock on doors seeking work.

My grandparents or probably really my grandmother on my mothers side (my grandfathered died during the early 1930's) was one of the luckier farmers. They had been dairy farming in the Port Campbell area from 1920 on and owned the farm. During the Depression many unemployed men walked up the track to her house looking for work. She did not have the resources to employ them as the farm had to feed 8 hungry mouths - her and her 7 children all in their late teens or older - but not one of those men left without being given something to eat - usually bread, butter and jam and a cup of tea - then given some more food to take away with them when they left. She was one very tough but compassionate and caring person, something I probably never really properly understood until she died in 1968.

Fancy taking on a farm in the middle of mostly bush, with the nearest doctor then, over 30 miles away in Camperdown, the roads mainly dirt tracks and the chief transport horse and buggy.

We have had it really easy compared to those people. It was a hugely different world then yet it is less than 90 years ago.

The scars from it lasted through generations though especially the “careful with your money” line. I still hesitate when it comes to spending

Actually, the main issue is, they co-designed the F-22 Raptor, it’s export is congressionally banned and its production line was dismantled after the final one was produced.

As the Alpha strike aircraft in the world, it’s probably the most closely guarded tech in the world just about.
I should have wrote stealth technology in general. The USA chucked up a real fuss when the Chinese got their hands on USA stealth specs and data.

As expected weddings off.
I have never despised the federal government to the point it hits a high extreme but without a doubt this current mob is the worst thing to happen to Australia.
Allowing the Grand Prix to half go ahead and then the decision to accept 30,000 international students being held in third countries on Feb 16 was the pinnacle.
All cause of the dollar. Greedy scum.

I’m lucky my job won’t be hit by the virus pandemic but god I wish politicians would suffer someway.
Small business owners and casual employees should not have to endure a sleepless night whereas Morrison and Andrews would drop two loads on their wives belly before nodding off like toddlers.

Feds have no power over the Grand Prix.

That's governed by a Victorian Act of Parliament.

I should have wrote stealth technology in general. The USA chucked up a real fuss when the Chinese got their hands on USA stealth specs and data.

Let's recall how that happened - the US illegally intervened in the affairs of a then still sovereign nation of Yugoslavia,albeit as it was falling apart. Intervened on the side of some fairly sketchy characters in the Kosovo Liberation Army.

During that illegal intervention it BOMBED THE CHINESE EMBASSY.

The suggestion is of course the embassy was bombed because the Chinese had bought the shot down F117. That it got shot down is also interesting.

US military tech is nowhere near as good as they like to make out.

Noted panic Angela Merkel saying it is Germany's biggest challenge since reunification and crisis since WWII

I cannot believe that there are people who are viewing this situation through their own selfish interests.
Really? A lack of toilet paper says you are not paying attention to what people are dong.

It is a thin line between civilisation and anarchy. And from what I have seen over the last couple of weeks, it doesn't take much to push a population (or at least a large chunk of it) over the edge.

Just saw that this shit jumped from bats to pangolins to humans.

Stupid campaigners and their live animal trafficking.

Virus here jumped from bats to horses and then people.

My understanding is that people die all the time. Older people especially.

In fact in 2018, according to the ABS, about 150k people died in Australia.

So far I have seen zero evidence to suggest that older people have more to fear from coronavirus than they do from the common flu.
Then you are woefully ignorant. There is a plethora of data out there showing exactly that.

And Snake gave a very good explaination as to why this occurs.

That's in total. In seasonal flu, the mortality rate is between 0.05% and 0.1%. South Korea which probably has the best data because they have the most comprehensive testing regime, has a mortality rate of 1%. That is not an estimate. That is an actual data point.

Why are you so resistant to facts?
Soundslike an Alan Jones fan.

Or is that you Alan? You old campaigner you.

Let's recall how that happened - the US illegally intervened in the affairs of a then still sovereign nation of Yugoslavia,albeit as it was falling apart. Intervened on the side of some fairly sketchy characters in the Kosovo Liberation Army.

During that illegal intervention it BOMBED THE CHINESE EMBASSY.

The suggestion is of course the embassy was bombed because the Chinese had bought the shot down F117. That it got shot down is also interesting.

US military tech is nowhere near as good as they like to make out.
I was referring to the f-35 ‘leak’, rather then the nighthawk.

If the Chinese didn’t rate us stealth technology, then they wouldn’t have done this:
Australian and U.S. officials confirmed this week that an unnamed Australian defense firm involved in developing the F-35 fighter jet was hacked in November of 2016. The attackers, who may have been Chinese, stole large amounts of data on the F-35 and other vehicles and munitions.

It was later confirmed by defence sources that it was likely the Chinese who hacked in.

I'm struggling to get "excited" about the Coronavirus at the moment, to me it feels like the Government actions have been totally disproportionate to what is happening in the wider community and is probably exacerbating the frenzied panic we see in the supermarkets at the moment. This isn't to say I'm not concerned, but if feels surreal that our Governments can be in such a panic when the virus has currently infected about 0.00002% of Australia's population and the mortality rate is around 0.1% of those with the virus.

So looks like the "self-isolating" is not really working in Italy?

If I were to guess I’d reckon it’d be because they didn’t take precautions early and that lead to a huge spike in infections overflowing the hospitals which lead to them deciding to not treat anyone over a certain age, giving them a death sentence.