Cotch freekicks?

Do yourself a favour and watch Collingwoods round one game vs Freo. Those exact tactics were used to great effect on pendles and he was largely ineffective in that game.

I'll repeat myself:

The point is that I reckon that as far as holding a player when he doesn't have the ball, preventing him from getting to the play is against the rules. You may differ on that but I reckon most will probably agree with me. Now if you look at the replay, Cotchin was being held without the ball at every single contest. The fact that McCaffer got largely got away with it doesn't change that fact, and that is what has so many richmond supporters severely pissed off. Whether or not the frees were paid does not change the fact that we believe it is ouside the rules.

Not sure what that has to do with Pendlebury against Freo.

Enough. Either accept what I'm clearly saying or don't. I'm done here.

Mod comment: This is our board to discuss what we want, not for you to come in here and tell us what you think our opinion should be. Opposition supporters are welcome to contribute but be very careful how you do so, don't stir the pot.
I'll repeat myself:

The point is that I reckon that as far as holding a player when he doesn't have the ball, preventing him from getting to the play is against the rules. You may differ on that but I reckon most will probably agree with me. Now if you look at the replay, Cotchin was being held without the ball at every single contest. The fact that McCaffer got largely got away with it doesn't change that fact, and that is what has so many richmond supporters severely pissed off. Whether or not the frees were paid does not change the fact that we believe it is ouside the rules.

Not sure what that has to do with Pendlebury against Freo.

Enough. Either accept what I'm clearly saying or don't. I'm done here.
You were the one who brought Pendles into it :-p.
But regardless of that, it doesn't matter what you 'reckon', or what any other supporter 'reckons', the umpires clearly saw what was going on and deemed it to be within the rules… Caff was smart enough and strong enough to be able to keep Cotchin away from the ball without breaking any rules of the game, what did you expect him to do? Let Cotchin gain possession whenever he wanted because it would be better viewing? Lol

You were the one who brought Pendles into it :-p.
But regardless of that, it doesn't matter what you 'reckon', or what any other supporter 'reckons', the umpires clearly saw what was going on and deemed it to be within the rules… Caff was smart enough and strong enough to be able to keep Cotchin away from the ball without breaking any rules of the game, what did you expect him to do? Let Cotchin gain possession whenever he wanted because it would be better viewing? Lol
FFS the 'reckon' was ironic. The rules are crystal bloody clear. You can't hold a player when he doesn't have the ball. McCaffer was hanging onto him the entire time, whether in play or 50m off the play. That is my point. Try not to get distracted. Whether or not he got pinged for it doesn't make it any more legal.
Don't bother responding again because I won't respond again to someone who is either extremely dim or trolling.

FFS the 'reckon' was ironic. The rules are crystal bloody clear. You can't hold a player when he doesn't have the ball. McCaffer was hanging onto him the entire time, whether in play or 50m off the play. That is my point. Try not to get distracted. Whether or not he got pinged for it doesn't make it any more legal.
Don't bother responding again because I won't respond again to someone who is either extremely dim or trolling.
I thought you were done here ;-)

Ok i will put it as simply as I can, Caff didn't hold Cotchin against the rules… he blocked him within the rules, he shepherded him within the rules, he grappled with him within the rules, he bumped him within the rules….
If what Caff did was against the rules then the umpires (who were clearly keeping an eye on him) would have given a free kick to Cotchin, but they didn't, as everything he did (bar a few holds) was within the rules…. Its really quite simple…

I just hope the umpires review the game and make a note either way about what they will do when (not if) this degree of scragging happens again.
It seems with the umps the goalposts change every week. They really need to sit down and think about the direction they want the game to go. The afl were not too happy with the display and I dare say the umps will soon be put on notice.

As I said earlier the ball was 100 metres away and they were out in the open with no one in 30 metres. I saw McCaffer pulling at his arm and being a pest. How Cotchin refrained from giving him one is really quite astounding?

I thought you were done here ;-)

Ok i will put it as simply as I can, Caff didn't hold Cotchin against the rules… he blocked him within the rules, he shepherded him within the rules, he grappled with him within the rules, he bumped him within the rules….
If what Caff did was against the rules then the umpires (who were clearly keeping an eye on him) would have given a free kick to Cotchin, but they didn't, as everything he did (bar a few holds) was within the rules…. Its really quite simple…

If you catch your best mate with your mrs in the same pose will you think there is nothing in it ?

I will think something will come of this. Either they will continue to ignore it or they will stamp it out completely by issuing multiple free kicks. If they ignore it then it is going to be open slather on this type of tactic which is unfortunate.

Teammates should have helped Cotch.
Macaffer did a great job getting away with it.
Umpires need to open their eyes!

Teammates should have helped Cotch.
Macaffer did a great job getting away with it.
Umpires need to open their eyes!

In the umpires board someone has stated that Hayden Kennedy, the umpires' boss did not like the tactics used on Cotchin last night. Hopefully the umpires involved get a reprimand for letting that kind of crap get out of hand. If this is the case expect a lot more frees to be paid in the future.

Fat lot of good it will do now.

Cotchin is a elite player, I love to watch him play he exciting where as McCaffer is a plodder.So the unskilled plodder is allowed to hold onto OFF the ball a champion of the game that most people want to go see play. Where is our game going?? so now all teams will have a player that just goes to the other teams play maker and hold onto him all game.Who wants to watch that??

Good picture in the Herald Sun Sports pages today, Cotchin fully focussed on the ball & McCaffer with one hand on his shoulder & the other hand pulling Cotchin back by the elbow. ball not in sight!:rolleyes:
And that little peanut, Jay Clark gave McCaffer a vote:mad:

KczgZdJ.png

Douchebag tactics, douchebag glasses and hat. Sums him up.

Interesting to read that the Umpires boss didn't like the tactics he used. Crack down on that shit next weekend then you flog. It's getting to the point where one umpire has to keep a constant eye on pricks like him. By the 5th free kick in the first quarter he would have gotten the message if the Umpires knew wtf they were doing and how the game SHOULD be played.

The umpires have the matra of 'let it go' this year.

As expected though, the half-wits are unable to make the decision of where to draw the line.

It's the lack of game feel that has dominated the umpiring ranks, with guys (that other than a few exceptions) for the most part have never played the game and have little feel for it.

Let the game flow by all means but if a free kick is there pay it FFS!

Was saying during the broadcast if my captain was being molested like that I would have lined up McCaffer and absolutely polaxed him. Cop the weeks if they come but send a message that you are not going to just watch it happen.
Dusty, Jacko, Thomas, Arnot I'm looking at you.

Yep your right we needed to make an example of him and nail him. Rough him up and demand respect and make other clubs fear us. They asked the question and we didnt respond. We need to harden up mentally...

Exactly right.

Mentally we are soft. Physically we are soft.

If we had any backbone, we would have had Jackson, Arnot, Thomas and whoever else go out of their way physically abuse that dud Macaffer and whomever else wanted to have a dig.

When Maxwell swiped Cotchin, only Cotchin went after him. Go figure. It should have been the line in the sand moment there when that squib thought a lesson.

Instead. Nothing. We are so soft. Embarrassing from Dimma.

Not an excuse as we were flogged , but seriously. Cotch was scragged , dragged , suplexed and at one stage hit with a chair off the top turnbuckle from the unskilled professional drone Macaffer without any free kicks.. Pathetic how it was not picked up by the umpires. The AFL love child Pendels would have been given a golden ticket with that treatment.

Poor. Very poor.

Well Crowley does same thing and Cloke gets that every week and get's no Free Kicks

Saw Deledio and Cotchin on Gameday and Steve Johnson on the Sunday Footy Show and they were very diplomatic about MacAffer's tactics but did feel neither Johnson or Cotchin got the backup from their teammates they should have. They suggested the ruckman should have run through him. Not sure about that one, I think the umpire would pull that one up and it could get someone suspended unless they got it 100% right. Best solution would be just to go back to the rules. Stevie J was showing how MacAffer did not grab per se but would place his arms around someone and bring them in like a crab's claws.

Well Crowley does same thing and Cloke gets that every week and get's no Free Kicks
Crowley is a campaigner as well. Show we one time Cloke should have got a free on the weekend.

Saw Deledio and Cotchin on Gameday and Steve Johnson on the Sunday Footy Show and they were very diplomatic about MacAffer's tactics but did feel neither Johnson or Cotchin got the backup from their teammates they should have. They suggested the ruckman should have run through him. Not sure about that one, I think the umpire would pull that one up and it could get someone suspended unless they got it 100% right. Best solution would be just to go back to the rules. Stevie J was showing how MacAffer did not grab per se but would place his arms around someone and bring them in like a crab's claws.
Someone should just Barry Hall one of them. That would put a stop to it. Tyrone Vickery can handle himself in a ring and we want him dropped so the old 2 birds 1 stone.