Cotchin is gone

Coming from a club that is used to be/still hasnt won anything/has Zac Dawson at fullback I believe its imperative that the club is built first. Although losing Cotchin would be terrible for your club you want to create a solid environment from the top down and if you are relying on a 20 year old to do that some of you need to think about it. He is not the messiah. He is not anything.

Look hat Judd does in Carlton's midfield all by himself. Look at how Kerr goes. Come on guys look at the bigger picture not just the fact that a 20 year old could leave. Yes he looks damn impressive however you are currently building a unit and with a unit in progress one player leave (albeit a good one) is not the be all end all as you are still figuring out who is worth their salt

Morton is rubbish.

Yeah an undersized forward taking the number 2 defender and still kicked 41 goals in 2009 is rubbish. No worries flog. He'd be your best forward.

On Cotchin. I'm a bit nervous about the whole thing. From what he's said and from what we've heard from inside sources it sounds like he's staying. It just seems strange that his name keeps coming up with Abletts. You would expect the media to be running with a bigger name if it was all rubbish.

Those saying we are bigger than one player are being ignorant. Our so called strength is our midfield class and the loss of our classiest mid would be a huge loss, especially because we wouldn't get fair compensation. With the upcoming compromised drafts it is essential we hold onto our young guns and the loss of Cotchin would be a disaster, make no mistake.

Anyway, I hope it's all rubbish but it's not looking positive.

Speaking to him two days ago, he said its absolute garbage, and that he was told of the story in the age before the hawthorn game by richmond management. 100% he isnt leaving the club.
I hope that is spot on :thumbsu:

AFL has to put a stop to this free agency shit.
Damages the core principles of club over player that most fans love in footy.
It's one of the crap things about rugby league... half way through the season you find out 2 or 3 of your teams better players have already signed on elsewhere for the following year... makes it hard to really support a player who is not 100% committed to your club for the whole year.

Creates a whole mercenary scenario that does not sit well for me...

IMO he has not shown enough (yes, and of course due to game time & injuries) to be rated as one of our best players.

You're guessing he's one of our best. It's speculation on how good he could become.

man you have NFI....he has not shown enough? he showed enough in his first 3 minutes of big time footy to those that understand what talent looks like. Like WTF is going on here? We have muppets making excuses for others, touting their young, it takes time, blah blah blah, and when this kid got his first touch, he looked like he had played 100 games.
I mean here you are suggesting he has not shown enough, and here we have the CEO of the AFL mentioning his name alongside God jnr. Do you wonder why that is the case? I will let you ponder. ;)

HUN reporting that Geelong may only get pick 26 as compensation for Ablett. So if Cotchin goes, we can expect SFA in return.

Think logically, why would he sign with the Gold Coast before he's negotiated a contract with us or anyone else? it doesn't make financial sense at all. Even think about how his performance this year could boost his currency, so based on my own reasoning there is no way he's signed or agree to play elsewhere. Just stupid. Stop this crap talk and let him play this season with us. You reactionist guys are getting more and more swayed by media spin, and starting to sound like them.

Yeah an undersized forward taking the number 2 defender and still kicked 41 goals in 2009 is rubbish. No worries flog. He'd be your best forward.

On Cotchin. I'm a bit nervous about the whole thing. From what he's said and from what we've heard from inside sources it sounds like he's staying. It just seems strange that his name keeps coming up with Abletts. You would expect the media to be running with a bigger name if it was all rubbish.

Those saying we are bigger than one player are being ignorant. Our so called strength is our midfield class and the loss of our classiest mid would be a huge loss, especially because we wouldn't get fair compensation. With the upcoming compromised drafts it is essential we hold onto our young guns and the loss of Cotchin would be a disaster, make no mistake.

Anyway, I hope it's all rubbish but it's not looking positive.
He's arguably the best unsigned kid in the league, I think they use him and Ablett hypothetically because they are both the best of their age bracket. Plus the media love terrorising supporters with apocalyptic scenarios.

If Cotchin wants to go, (which I think he won't), let him go. Any player that is not committed to the long term cause, its time to move them on.

He'd be very hypocritical IMO, after saying he wants to be a leader this year on the field, & then pi$$ off to GC nect year. This is why I think he'll stay.

Poor lad, he'll be swamped by crazy tiger fans at the family day on Sunday, if I were him I'd make myself scarce.

If Cotchin wants to go, (which I think he won't), let him go. Any player that is not committed to the long term cause, its time to move them on.

He'd be very hypocritical IMO, after saying he wants to be a leader this year on the field, & then pi$$ off to GC nect year. This is why I think he'll stay.

Poor lad, he'll be swamped by crazy tiger fans at the family day on Sunday, if I were him I'd make myself scarce.
That's the kind of bullshit that this media hype creates, as supporters we've got to chill and let him play footy.

I don't think Demetriou said players such as Ablett and Cotchin - it sounds more like Caroline Wilson added the names in.

If Cotch is going to go we need him to have a blinder of a season so as we get good compensation for him. If we are going to lose him then two draft picks in the first 6 might be good for us. That would potentially give us pick 2, 4, 6 if we finish bottom. A draft like that would greatly assist our rebuild. Just look at West Coast post Judd.

Having said that i'm not sure if he would be too keen to leave. Before he was drafted it seemed like he and his family were keen to stay here. He also has a girlfriend here who i think is at uni.

Also don't forget that we probably have a fair bit of room in the salary cap so we should be able to pay him a fair bit if it comes to money. It's clubs like Geelong, Western Bulldogs and St Kilda who have a very tight cap with a lot of stars where players will be tempted by cash. I wouldn't be surprised if Harbrow leaves. He was on the cusp of the All Australian Squad and he is probably on 200k a year while we have twos players like McMahon on 330k per year.

From everything ive heard about cotch i couldnt imagine him leaving for the GC, loves victoria and hopefully with Martin coming in this year can really build something with Deledio Cotchin Martin as our gun midfield
Were in a fortunate position were one of the few clubs that can afford to pay 19-23 year olds huge money and compete, the GC salary cap isnt unlimited we should all be hoping they Land Gaz and give him all the money thats being talked about, the only reason a player would go to a Mcdonalds franchise club like the gold coast or 17 or whatever they are calling themselves is the coin.

Think logically, why would he sign with the Gold Coast before he's negotiated a contract with us or anyone else? it doesn't make financial sense at all. Even think about how his performance this year could boost his currency, so based on my own reasoning there is no way he's signed or agree to play elsewhere. Just stupid. Stop this crap talk and let him play this season with us. You reactionist guys are getting more and more swayed by media spin, and starting to sound like them.

Not a bad point this. Why would he sign for x dollars now with GC, when if he has a good season, the Tigers may offer him more than that at the end of the same purely based on performance?

Personally, I assume his manager is doing a good job of throwing the boy's name out there to drive his price up when the time does come to re-sign with the Tigers. Along with that, he will just be doing everything on field to do the same performance wise.

There was a small window in the pre-season where the GC were allowed to sign players, which it seems clubs were not very aware of. I wonder when player managers became aware of this. If GC were suddenly knocking on players doors at the last minute to get signatures during this small window, I doubt a young guy like Cotch will have made a such a major decision in such a short time, when he knows that if he ever did decide he wanted to move, he can do so come the end of the season, after due consideration.

When demetriou says players like ablett and cotchin could have legitimaly signed he is giving us a heads up.

And as for the club now starting negotiations knowning the possibility of what may happen, just shows how amatuer we are.

Too Late She Cried

Oh well, if we're as amateur as the Cats I for one won't be complaining.

As for the overall situation, I reckon the GC and West Sydney are going to be the beginning of the end of the AFL's football code dominance. Demetriou should have just forced the Kangaroos to go to the Gold Coast, and in a few years time send the Saints or Demons or Dogs (or us) to West Sydney.

Cotchin will be my most hated player in the league if he goes. That would be f-ing scheissenhausen. We'll get nothing for him. Imagine Ablett going for pick 26, Cotchin then pick 60.

All I know is that I have zero influence or say in where he goes. So I sit back and wait and ee how things pan out.
That's all we can do.
I think supporters have an influence, and this is an over exaggerated hypothetical, but if you were to go to the club everyday, based on no evidence he was leaving, and wait for him at the carpark with a sign that said "F off", i'm sure it would affect him negatively. Just as being supportive would make him feel wanted.

This is what i'm saying about jumping to conclusions based on hear say. If as supporters we title threads "Cotchin is gone" then of course that sentiment spreads through the media and inadvertently influences the situation, and it may only be a small percentage, but it is influential.

Right my compensation scenario was obviously a fair bit off. Surely Cotch would be regarded as a first round pick though which would mean we would be given the next pick after our first pick. Not what we would get if he was traded to a rival club but not the end of the world.

Anyway we should end this talk and just follow the development of the boys. The media only mention his name as he is a good young player, he is currently uncontracted for next year and they know we will tune in.

All I know is that I have zero influence or say in where he goes. So I sit back and wait and ee how things pan out.
That's all we can do.

Indeed tuggs. Thing that worries me most is that the AFL will do absolutely anything to make these new "franchises" work and a player like Trent Cotchin fits the bill perfectly as a young, marquee signing. If there is a sniff of Cotchin being interested in GC, the AFL will have its big, dirty paws all over it.....