• Cotchin

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • M.Murphy

Votes: 0 0.0%

To be fair on Murphy he has had to do it really tough and still performed really well. His disposal while not great isnt that bad. Gun player.

Cotchin looks to have the goods buut i followed him very closely and his kicking was not consistently good by a long stretch.

Potential though ? Lets wait and see until the Cotch has atleast played a full season and gets more attention, cause Murphy has dealt with already and come out on top in my opinion.

Cant be any more unbiased than that.

Murphy had a great year and will only get better as he works on a couple of his weaknesses. Cotchin looked great aswell. Honestly cannot split them in potential so I have no idea.

Cotchin probably will win the poll though, we aren't liked much around ere us Carlton folk. That will affect the result unfortunately.

No.

The fact that Cotchin is a superstar in the making, whilst Murphy can't hit a barn door will affect the result.

I think if most clubs had number one pick that year then they would have picked up Murphy, now im not going to be a biased supporter cause there's nothing i hate more. I believe Murphy has done great since he debuted, was on track in his first season to come close to grabbing the rising star, except for his shoulder in round 13, last year was coping the number 1 tag each week cause in his second year of footy he was carlton's best midfielder, and this year i think he had a great seaon coming second in our best and fairest. All of you guys are right though his disposal does let him down at times, and is one of the major flawes to his game. I still believe that other aspects of his game, still show that he could be an elite player, and disposal can be fixed. As for Cotchin I didn't watch enough of him to have a high opinion but i do remember his game against carlton this year where he chased down murph and tore us up in the first half. Cotchin does seem to shine in area's murph lack's such as class and disposal. Give cotchin another season or two and i think it would be far to rate the two but for now we have too very good players begining there caree's it seems a bit pointless to compare.

Murphy = Palmer

I think if most clubs had number one pick that year then they would have picked up Murphy, now im not going to be a biased supporter cause there's nothing i hate more.
And yet you are probably one who thinks Tambling is shit because he hasn't been better than Franklin?

lets see how cothcin deals with getting the best tagger week in week out
if the opposition decide to tag him...
he is a classy player
but lets wait till he is tagged by a ling or crowley
then we will talk
oh and cotchins first year was very similiar to murphy's first
team coming off the bottom
murphy missed a chunk of matches at the ned
cotchin missed a chunk of matches at the beginning
but murphys first year > than cotchins
he averaged 11.4 kicks and 6.7 handballs 5.6 marks 2.1 tackles and 0.6 goals a game
and his last game he got injured early with 3 possesions which affected his stats dramatically
if you dont count that game his figures are
12.2 kicks 7.2 kicks 6.1 marks 2.1 tackles and 0.7 goals a game
cotchin averaged 8.9 kicks 7.4 handballs 4.9 marks 2.2 tackles and 0.6 goals a game
very similiar but murphy just in front
who knows who will be better in future years
next year definately murphy though

tambling wasn't number one pick. I do think that delideo was the right choice for number 1 selection has been a gun, buddy is a freak, but back in the draft ppl were unsure about what he was gonna be

Murphy had a full AFL pre-season.

Cotchin essentially walked in off the street.

Big difference, especially in your first year ;)
one problem with that logic mate
his average disposal count is 16.4
his first game he had 16 disposals
hardly makes a diff
also once he was into the game he didnt nessecarily play better than at the start
first 8 games-avergae 15 disposals
last 7 games - average 17 disposals

The way that Richmond supporters orgasm every time this kid touches the ball disgusts me. When he wins a game of his own boot then I'll admit he has potential to take over Murph, but for now I'm going to take what is rather than what could be.

i voted Cotchin. i have watched this guy play a few times and has
more awareness, skills and balance that i have ever seen. Will be an
elite footballer . Nothing against murphy though both brilliant in there
own ways!:thumbsu:

murphy is probably the safer option but i think cotchin has more potential.

and murphy's skills are no where near as bad as people make them out to be, he's in carlton's top 3 or 4 in terms of best kick to a lead and he's kicked some ripper goals from 40 and 50 out on the boundary as well as left footers after sharking the ball from a throw-in. i would say his skills are one of his bigger strengths. what he does lack is the ability to take a ocntested mark and the ability to sprint away from a pack.

Cotchin hands down.

Murphy is an extremely good player but his disposal IMO lets him down. Still think Carlton should have taken Ellis with #1 pick.

Cotchin is the beez kneez has so much time, will be an elite player of the highest sought.

Why would we want Bones ahead of Murphy?

hmm very tough one. i'm probably leaning towards cotchin. just. but it's very hard to call, both will be great players.

lets see how cothcin deals with getting the best tagger week in week out
if the opposition decide to tag him...
he is a classy player
but lets wait till he is tagged by a ling or crowley
then we will talk
oh and cotchins first year was very similiar to murphy's first
team coming off the bottom
murphy missed a chunk of matches at the ned
cotchin missed a chunk of matches at the beginning
but murphys first year > than cotchins
he averaged 11.4 kicks and 6.7 handballs 5.6 marks 2.1 tackles and 0.6 goals a game
and his last game he got injured early with 3 possesions which affected his stats dramatically
if you dont count that game his figures are
12.2 kicks 7.2 kicks 6.1 marks 2.1 tackles and 0.7 goals a game
cotchin averaged 8.9 kicks 7.4 handballs 4.9 marks 2.2 tackles and 0.6 goals a game
very similiar but murphy just in front
who knows who will be better in future years
next year definately murphy though
that's a good indication.
definately not final though.

that's a good indication.
definately not final though.
thats what i said in my post
murphy had a better first year
but we will have to wait and see who is better by watching cotchin get tagged next year and in future years
in summary
first year-murphy was better
currently-murphy is better
next year- murphy will be better
in 5 years-who knows

Murphy just isn't as good as Cotchin, accept it :)

Lets see Cotchin actually do something before comparing him to a gun like Murph. If Cotchin played for anyone but Richmond, he might have actually had a chance to do something with his career, you guys have stuffed it all up for him.

someone is pissed of they didnt choose trent with her 1st pick:o

Na thats another story, Kreuzer and Cotchin are two very different players are they not? We needed a player type like Kreuzer, our midfield is already very good so we took what we needed. Both will be very good, win win for both clubs.