Could Essendon be big improvers

We will have in my opinion the best forward line in the competition, Lloyd, Lucas, Hird, Johns, Lovett, Monfries, Davey with possible cameos from Gumbleton, Hille and the like.

We have two of the best key defenders in the game which should also prevent us from having to use McPhee in these roles and free him up to become the player he was in 2004.

However.....how far Essendon goes in 2007 will depend on the development of the likes of Stanton, Dyson, Monfries, Winderlich, Watson and possibly some of our draftees from this year in the middle. Our midfield was terrible last year, very one-paced with poor disposal. If we can win enough ball in the middle to supply our forwards and deliver it properly! we could be a surprise packet, definitely. Whether that happens or not remains to be seen. If we see JJ, Pev, Hirdy, Campo and the like carrying the midfield on their own again this year we're ********ed though. Come on the Baby Bombers.

That forward line is potentially awesome, but I wouldn't say the best. Davey is still an unknown, you have to remember, you aren't neccessarily getting Aaron mark 2, you're gettign Alwyn, he might take longer to adjust. (hopefully he doesn't though :))

I know, their inaccuracy cost them at least 4 games I can remember.

And it wasn't against crap teams either, they could easily have kncoked off Melbourne and St Kilda had they kicked straight.

I remember that game well, we were beaten in most areas on endeavour alone and have said all year that the bombers were close to a top side, very competitive but lack something , a good midfield.
They will improve but with an ageing side will remain middle of the road for awhile to come.

I have no doubt that they will improve their position on this years finish, However, Its hard to predict such a speculative outcome when so many teams are clearly on the improve.

Personally, I would like to see Essendon perform well next year, with only 1 proviso, That my team is also up there and fighting it out at the better end of the ladder, Healthy competition is what it's all about for me.

:thumbsu:

That forward line is potentially awesome, but I wouldn't say the best. Davey is still an unknown, you have to remember, you aren't neccessarily getting Aaron mark 2, you're gettign Alwyn, he might take longer to adjust. (hopefully he doesn't though :))

Rick have you developed a soft spot for the bombers with the demons recent domination of the efc? I'm not used to this.

Just remember, Essendons Best players are all veyy old, Hird, Fletcher, Michael, Lloyd and Lucas.

They porbably will do better next year, however, if one of Lloyd or Lucas goes down with injury or form, expect a slide down the ladder. If they do better i believe it will only really be temporary. got some good younger players, Lovett, Monfries, Gumbleton, Ryder, Dyson, but not enough

Just remember that Michael didnt play at all, Lloyd only a few games. While Fletcher and Hird both missed a number of games each. So if they are indeed our best players, that means our best players missed a significant chunk of the season which is highly unlikely to happen again. Meaning the only way in 2007 is up?

Essendon could be a bit like Collingwood last year.

Everybody suspected they might rise, possibly into the 8 as their list wasn't as bad as the final position on the ladder (manufactured or not)

And it did happen in the end.

Some would say the Essendon list is irrelevant in this discussion: what matters most is if Sheedy's contract is up for renewal.
I believe it is, so Essendon will most likely make the finals & debut a bunch of new players, providing enough optimism to gain himself another 2 year contract.

Some would say the Essendon list is irrelevant in this discussion: what matters most is if Sheedy's contract is up for renewal.
I believe it is, so Essendon will most likely make the finals & debut a bunch of new players, providing enough optimism to gain himself another 2 year contract.
And if we do make the finals after finishing 15th the year before, I'd be glad for Sheedy to get a new 2 year deal. Something tells me he's still got a few tricks up his sleeve.

A Chook admiring the Bummers.....BK you fool.....answer to the thread - NO....everyone has optimism once the draft has been completed and this coupled with the new year's enthusiasm creates a false hope which can be confused with delusions of grandeur....too many aspects to consider and they still have an ordinary backline even with the gorilla in the mist....

Gees Kipster, can I win with you mate? :rolleyes:

You've made your feelings about Eagles supporters quite clear on another thread based partly on their one eyed nature, then I give a fair assessment of what I think of Essendon's chances and I'm a fool? Anyhow, I've really only touched on one of their improvements coming from the draft, that being that Gumbleton MAY slip into the senior side.

Most of the other improvements are injury returns, the addition of Michael, and the improvements they make to structure. Add a quality FB and FF to any side and they will climb up the ladder. As Ripper said (praising Essendon and agreeing with a Dockers fan all in the same thread - I've hit a new low) Essendon weren't as bad as their ladder position showed at season's end. They lost several close games which hurt their confidence, and towards the end fiddled with the team doing things like giving Rioli his milestone etc. Not tipping a premiership for them, just a strong rise up the ladder.

2006 was our 1997. Not saying that we'll necessarily win the flag in 3 years time, but we will be a very competitive outfit then. I can see us sneaking into the 8, but not doing much ... like in 1998.

If reputation is anything to go by, Essendon drafted very well. See how this group fares in 2009.

Matthew Lloyd is our X-Factor in 2007. Can he get back to his best. He really does straighten us up.

Yep the real risk is confidence.

It was clearly a matter of accuracy and injury, not lack of talent, that had them finishing 15th

Gees Kipster, can I win with you mate? :rolleyes:

You've made your feelings about Eagles supporters quite clear on another thread based partly on their one eyed nature, then I give a fair assessment of what I think of Essendon's chances and I'm a fool? Anyhow, I've really only touched on one of their improvements coming from the draft, that being that Gumbleton MAY slip into the senior side.

Most of the other improvements are injury returns, the addition of Michael, and the improvements they make to structure. Add a quality FB and FF to any side and they will climb up the ladder. As Ripper said (praising Essendon and agreeing with a Dockers fan all in the same thread - I've hit a new low) Essendon weren't as bad as their ladder position showed at season's end. They lost several close games which hurt their confidence, and towards the end fiddled with the team doing things like giving Rioli his milestone etc. Not tipping a premiership for them, just a strong rise up the ladder.

forget that one-eyed moron. It's a pleasure to see unbiased commentary from opposition supporters. You've made a fair assessment as you see it (improvement, no premiership contention), and you're a credit to yourself.

Yep the real risk is confidence.

It was clearly a matter of accuracy and injury, not lack of talent, that had them finishing 15th

the risk is confidence, but it's also the reward. Essendon of '06 had a chronic lack of confidence based on a number of factors, which was the major contributing factor to the appalling performances. It may not be that way next season.

In relation to the issue of midfield pace raised by a few people.

We didnt just start drafting players with pace to break the lines in this years draft.

The process started back in the 2002 draft with Winderlich and Walsh(delisted in 04) and continued on with Stanton, Dyson, Lovett, Lovett Murray and Nash and again last year with Dempsey.

Obviously some of those players along with this years draftess will not turn out but some of those will and I will be very surprised if we still have this "slow' tag in the near future.

Big improvers I don't know but they will finish higher then 15th.

Carlton are still Poo, although not for much longer, and the Roos best players aren't getting any younger.

Could be a very even comp next year. WCE still monties.

Lets look at our possible line up for next year

B McVeigh Michael Lovett-Murray
HB McPhee Fletcher M.johnson
C Stanton Campo Dyson
R Hille Watson J.Johnson
HF Hird Lucas Monfries
F Johns Lloyd Lovett

Look in that list i havent included any of our drftees
i mean gumby weigh 92 kg - he has played wafl, his body is almost ready for footy stright away
both hislop and houli weigh mid 80s whihc is pretty good for misfielders
the only ones who are probably not ready would be davey and jetta who are both pretty small and light

other thaan that look at the following list of established players that did not make it
heffernana, welsh, peverill

and then there are others who are not all that good or maight possibly be that include bradley, laycock, cole, winderlich, slattery

all in all its not that bad a list as you can see but the problem is still the slowness of the midfield but both the forward line and the backline dont look too bad and even then both stanton and watson had really good years last year
dyson and winderlich werent too bad in patches
j.johnson will not go into the season injured and hopefully can havea pretty good year
i dont think its all doom and gloom
we also drafted a lot of quick midfielders
hopefully t they come along
thats what i reckon the midfield will tell the tale of essendon's year. if our kids rise to the occassion (npt just the new ones but even the likes of stanton, watson, dyson, winderlich, dempsey who have been around for wahile) then we may have a decent year

I can see them pushing for the 8 but I'm not sure if they will make it. They will definitely improve. Any team that can add a quality FF and a good FB will always improve.

Also as has been mentioned they lost a lot of close games. It'll be an interesting struggle for the 8 this year with many teams looking like they'll have a lot of improvement in them. I think 11th will be the absolute worst they finish.

I agree they will be the big improvers. Being Hirds last year i imagine the whole list will be looking to get off to a flyer and will be working the training track hard.

The big sliders will be interesting, hopefully its not Fremantle. I'm tipping Adelaide, but somehow Neil Craig finds a way to buck the trend when his team seems finished.

Yes, that worked well in 2006. So well in fact that they'll be doing it again in 2007.

The thought of last year being Harveys last obviously worked for a list as talented as St Kildas.

I think it will take some time for their new batch of kids to have a real impact but they should win more games next year, they were competitive in many games this year that they lost. They need to learn to play four quarters however, have not been a lot of memorable last quarters by the Bombers played in recent years.

I think you'll find it's 3rd Quarters we struggle with more than the 4th.

Essendon will be big improvers next year no doubts about that it. it wont be just because the senior players will be back theirs alot more determanation about next year to imrpove their game and become a better team.

And for anyone who thinks we dont have any pace in the midfeild you could put jetta , davey , even lovvet in their and have a good midfeild . yeh we have mal micheal he will be good for a couple of years and also will be good for the younger players to learn off him and get a few games under their belts so they can take over when mal and fletch retire.

2007 maybe kevins last year ... james hirds last .... Another crap year i dont think so....

I reckon we have the potential to go as high as about 6th if we get some good form and a decent run free of injuries, but I don't see us finishing lower than 11th this year. I reckon that would be our upper limits this year.I'd say we could win up to about 12-13 games this year, but I will be happy to see us win at least 9 games with improvement in the younger guys and hopefully they start to take more of the responsibilty from the older guys.

Essendon supporters in this post are dellusional!!!!! ..... I would be very suprised if Essendon finish higher than 12th. As already mentioned their best players are ageing, then core group of youngsters in 2006 were average and their new draftees wont have an influence for at least 2 to 3 years.

My prediction ... bootom 4.

Essendon supporters in this post are dellusional!!!!! ..... I would be very suprised if Essendon finish higher than 12th. As already mentioned their best players are ageing, then core group of youngsters in 2006 were average and their new draftees wont have an influence for at least 2 to 3 years.

My prediction ... bootom 4.
Our best players? Lloyd, Lucas, Johnson? They're all 27, 28. Or do you mean Stanton, Watson, Monfries, McPhee? Who are all 21-23?