Could you survive without television?

Catfish Alley . You said you have just got Netflix, I think ? ^^ I haven't heard of it before

It's big in North America. Not sure where else in the world it is. Don't think you guys have it yet. Basically, you connect your TV online and it offers tons of movies, series and documentaries. Only $7.99 a month.

I've noticed some Aussie stuff on their too like Wentworth. It's pretty good. Seriously considering canceling cable and saving the money.

It's big in North America. Not sure where else in the world it is. Don't think you guys have it yet. Basically, you connect your TV online and it offers tons of movies, series and documentaries. Only $7.99 a month.

I've noticed some Aussie stuff on their too like Wentworth. It's pretty good. Seriously considering canceling cable and saving the money.
I'd do that, streams of the footy and cricket aren't hard to find and you can do it happily in the knowledge you're depriving the Dirty Digger of another ivory back scratcher.

Yeah, sport is the issue really. Footy and cricket I could get easy enough. Hockey and NFL a bit harder. I'm just lazy and can't be bothered working out jumping from sites and streaming to save $70 a month.

Incidentally, I have a mate who is on his second warning from Warner Bros. For downloading iligally.

Serious question. How long would you cope without television? And do you ever wonder if maybe the television is having a subtle yet horrible effect on your mind?

These clowns are all actors. Well-paid actors. The are beamed into your house every morning and pretend they are your friend and that they care about you. In actual fact they are staring at a camera, reading from a script they didn't write, don't know you, and couldn't give a **** about you or anybody you care about.

They are salesmen and saleswomen, but worse, they come to your lounge room - every day. And what do they call their 'breakfast television' shows?

Programming. For a reason.

Of course it is programming or at least manipulation to illicit a specific reaction to attempt to direct people to a course of action. Newspapers do much the same thing. In fact television and newspapers don't even pretend to be underhanded about this at all, it is pretty much there in full view for all to see.

In answer to the question, could quite easily live without television. Don't watch a lot except for sport. If I want a show/movie I tend to download/buy the DVD.

Haven't had a functioning TV for two years (I lived behind a hospital which cut out the reception) and can barely stand it these days. Even the ABC and SBS chronically shit me, if it isn't their as-bad-as-Sunrise morning cack crews, it's their dullard programming (Black Comedy, Upper Middle Bogan, Josh Thomas... tragic and simply offensive in their levels of bad). I've barely missed it and in the years, have stopped reading magazines and started trying to reading a book a week (usually ends up a book every 2 and a half, though...).

How many inner suburban hipsters are also homophobes? Are you the first?;)

As soon as free to air focused on reality shows they made TV's pretty useless in my opinion.

Anyone with half a brain can download and watch quality TV shows from overseas that once were shown on commercial TV for free, with no ads and no week long waits for the next show.

The only thing which I think is the issue for many males is sport. It's still way more convenient to watch the footy/cricket or whatever else appeals to you on TV.

Women are the ones who lap up the shit that is served up these days. Today, Sunrise, The Block, MKR, Keeping up with the Kardashians etc....
Did they finally kill The View yet?

Smiling Buddha I still think newspapers and news sites are far more powerful.

Just look at how Murdoch's rags wrote off the Labor party last election and made Tony Abbott seem like a good choice for PM to the knobs who read that stuff for insight. :straining:
As opposed to those fed up with Labor's crap who wanted to teach them a lesson? I'm almost positive there is a safe percentage of those voters.

Please.

They relentlessly attacked Gillard and Rudd not just as leaders but as people, and Murdoch got what he wanted. You're kidding yourself if you don't think News Limited had a massive effect on voters last election.

Plenty of voters let the media influence who they vote for. They barely do a lick of research and they'll end up voting for the person who they find likeable and of course has had less bad press. I know people like that

They had Rudd on the front as Nazi. Come on.....You don't think idiots lap up that stuff?

Haven't had a television for almost two years. If there's live sport on I want to watch then I stream it or go to the pub with friends. Asides from that I torrent the 2-3 shows I watch. It's had no impact on my life as far as I can tell and I spend my downtime doing other things instead.

Okay, let's just that Labor did dole out crap...

Surely, when you're dealing with a nation of 22 million people, you should govern on what's good and right and how to attain your vision of a great Australia.

But now federal politics is about "teaching" the previous government a lesson?!

And that's what it is every time big Tony gets up there in his double-collared dad-jacket in his George W-inspired get up and brings in something new. Because it's all down to spite. And hate. And getting one over Labor. And belittling them. It's about things totally irrelevant to government and helping the country; it's a bit like being elected chairman of a local footy side... the previous owner hated the colour green, you're indifferent to you, but to "teach him a lesson" you end up making the team wear green.

What a ****ing deplorable country we are when voters see this as a totally fair thing to do in government of an entire developed country.

And a great argument for never watching television ever again.