Mega Thread >>COVID-19 DISCUSSION THREAD<<

• Thread starter Thread starter Ralphyboy

private maybe, but not public. I'm a public worker, been told all gov workers will get paid no matter what.

Ahh that’s why the primary school teachers are keen to close down I guess

I was thinking Para legals, EAs but yes pollies as well.

Hey look if my employer says go home and be paid for a few weeks I’ll do it

I mean if I self isolate I might end up on 5000000 posts here

Our former club medico reckons it will take two years to complete this season. I think he's not far off the mark tbh

**** that if it didn’t complete in 2020 hypothetically just stop and have no premier and reset

I dont mind if they run late to November even December but can’t go over 2 years imo that’s odd

fu** that if it didn’t complete in 2020 hypothetically just stop and have no premier and reset

I dont mind if they run late to November even December but can’t go over 2 years imo that’s odd

Even more odd to have players playing every week, risking injuries and working their arses off to win games only for the season to be cut off with no final outcome. This is why I said the season is compromised and should never have gone ahead. Gil gave the green light. Now there has to be 153 games played, there has to be a finals series, and there has to be a premier. Oh but we'll have 30 day breaks at various points along the way. Give us a ******* spell Gil :rolleyes:

Can’t hurt to try though but I agree if it goes to shit then don’t make it Mickey Mouse crap

Maybe he is waiting for trumps cure

people don’t know how this goes from here

Wonder what point Gil just says fu** it lets
Play sick or not
I think Gil is having troubles with the AFLs TV contracts. Ideally they need to give the TV companies an extra year+ on the deals should the league get suspended but either way it's a loss for the AFL.

Stress has been building inside me as I’ve been contemplating exactly how I’m going to get all family members through this and out the other side. Had a release yesterday though. I had one of those Telstra technician scam calls. Usually I just politely tell them that I’m tracing the call and police will be knocking soon. But yesterday I just saw red and unloaded on the piece of crap like you wouldn’t believe.....something about tracking down the a-hole with a baseball bat. In the middle of a health crisis life or death situation unlike we’ve seen this scum was trying to scam people. Then I became Melancholy for some reason. Some people on here won’t make it through. Seriously some won’t. I try to keep people at arms length. Have for a long time I’m afraid. Don’t let anyone close you don’t get hurt or disappointed. But reality is this site and those I am close to here .....my at arms length friends are a part of my life.....a small but valued part of my life and we are under threat. I just wanted to say love to all and god bless you whilst I still can
Good! I love having a go at them, although now I don't have a home phone, I don't get them anymore.

With regard to the rest...Hang in there puke... Life at arms length is just as sad, hurtful and disappointing, you just get less of the joy, laughter and love.

Cruise ship docks 2700 peeps with 4 testing positive. Passengers told to self isolate. Why the heck didn't some govt rent out a hotel/s and put them in there for 14 days so we can be absolutely sure they don't bugger off down the shops.

Bloody tourist got diagnosed then flittered off to Hamilton Island.
said she didn't understand the self isolation instructions. She's English btw.

These people need to get thrown out the country and if not, then after recovery jailed and fined.
Stupid bitch!!!!
Fine the **** out of her I reckon.
Get Barnaby Joyce onto her right now!

A lot of people have a 'tune out' mentality in times of a crisis. Like my missus for example, just can't be effed with the influx of news and info and details about the virus. Which is fine so long as they at least understand the consequences of the virus and act accordingly. Which my gf has, taken time off work and gone into self-isolation, even if she doesn't really understand what she is isolating herself from.

Then there are those who can't be bothered reading up about it, or don't understand it, which means they must be immune to the consequences so therefore can do whatever the hell they want. They suck balls.
🤣 I want to hear more stories about your girlfriend. She sounds like a classic

Ahh that’s why the primary school teachers are keen to close down I guess
****ers! That's why they had no worries sending my son home yesterday with a runny nose. The kid's got a perpetual runny nose FFS and they know that. Don't pay them I say

🤣 I want to hear more stories about your girlfriend. She sounds like a classic

Haha one story is enough to get me in trouble :p

In all seriousness she is great but trying to get her to watch anything related to the news or current affairs is down right impossible. You'd have better luck converting Eddie into a Swans fan!

I understand what the AFL is doing.. If there's one company in the world that'll do well out of this, its FOX. More people than ever watching tv and signing up to FOX. Lets play as many games as possible and get paid as much as possible
17 rounds - faire enough.. It means FOX has to pay the AFL(even if the games are shit), so theres more money for all involved in footy (including the Swans).
Short quarters - fair enough.. Means clubs can squeeze in games as there is less of a work load on the players. Buddy will benefit from this.
Short quarters coupled with a season that doesn't really mean what it should/could, also gives the Swans the opportunity to play McInerney, Foot, Bell, McLean, Warner, Gould, Stephens etc..... If ever there is a season where we finish bottom 4, this is it. Lets get that early draft pick,, lets give the opportunity for all these 1st, 2nd and 3rd year players to play with each other and see how they stack up,, lets use this season purely as a development year.

Someone posted something about playing this season over two years.. NO WAY!!!! Next year start again. If we only get ten games in that's fine. Next year start again.

I understand what the AFL is doing.. If there's one company in the world that'll do well out of this, its FOX. More people than ever watching tv and signing up to FOX. Lets play as many games as possible and get paid as much as possible
17 rounds - faire enough.. It means FOX has to pay the AFL(even if the games are shit), so theres more money for all involved in footy (including the Swans).
Short quarters - fair enough.. Means clubs can squeeze in games as there is less of a work load on the players. Buddy will benefit from this.
Short quarters coupled with a season that doesn't really mean what it should/could, also gives the Swans the opportunity to play McInerney, Foot, Bell, McLean, Warner, Gould, Stephens etc..... If ever there is a season where we finish bottom 4, this is it. Lets get that early draft pick,, lets give the opportunity for all these 1st, 2nd and 3rd year players to play with each other and see how they stack up,, lets use this season purely as a development year.

Someone posted something about playing this season over two years.. NO WAY!!!! Next year start again. If we only get ten games in that's fine. Next year start again.

That development year plan is fine in theory, as it definitely would benefit those seven you mentioned to be getting games. But there are two problems:

1. It doesn't help us win. We need to start winning games and building a winning culture. Eight last year was disappointing but respectable. It should be non-negotiable that we have no less than eight wins again this year, ideally more. So while I'm sure Gould and Foot and Warner & co would have a lot of fun running around out there for the senior team, rather than in the NEAFL, what does it do for other young guys already in the team who haven't really experienced our winning culture much? Like Dawson, Florent, Hayward, McCartin, Blakey, Rowbottom? These are the guys who need to start experiencing success, not failed seasons that can be a slippery slope into Carltondom.

2. Who makes way for these young guys you'd want to pump games into? There are a handful who are automatic selections in our side - Rampe, JPK, Parker, Buddy, Aliir, Heeney, Mills, Papley, Hewett, Lloyd. They aren't going anywhere. So who comes out to accommodate the likes of McInerney, Foot, Bell, Warner, Gould and Stephens?

That development year plan is fine in theory, as it definitely would benefit those seven you mentioned to be getting games. But there are two problems:

1. It doesn't help us win. We need to start winning games and building a winning culture. Eight last year was disappointing but respectable. It should be non-negotiable that we have no less than eight wins again this year, ideally more. So while I'm sure Gould and Foot and Warner & co would have a lot of fun running around out there for the senior team, rather than in the NEAFL, what does it do for other young guys already in the team who haven't really experienced our winning culture much? Like Dawson, Florent, Hayward, McCartin, Blakey, Rowbottom? These are the guys who need to start experiencing success, not failed seasons that can be a slippery slope into Carltondom.

2. Who makes way for these young guys you'd want to pump games into? There are a handful who are automatic selections in our side - Rampe, JPK, Parker, Buddy, Aliir, Heeney, Mills, Papley, Hewett, Lloyd. They aren't going anywhere. So who comes out to accommodate the likes of McInerney, Foot, Bell, Warner, Gould and Stephens?
Yep, of course winning is important. Of course creating a winning culture is important. I'll back the Swans culture to win very soon, slipping into Carltondom is a looooong way off.
Some might argue that we won't win the flag this year. Some might argue that a very heavily compromised season doesn't count for as much as it should/could. Some might argue that effort is the backbone of winning, talent is the legs, physical strength is the arms and experience is the head. Next year we'll be stronger than this year.
What playing all the kids does is give a chance for the young crew who are best 22 to play with the young crew who might become best 22. This leads to better cohesion, and with effort, talent, strength and experience,, the wins will come.
Have you noticed the Swans aren't talking about winning, they're talking about effort. They know where we are at.
We also get to have a look and see which of the young crew will make it, and where our strengths and weaknesses are, so where the holes are that need filling before we have a serious crack at the flag
Is Florent, Rowbottom, Warner, Stephens, McInerney going to be a gun midfield in 5 years time? What type of player do we need to trade in?? Is McLean, McCartin or Amartey going to be a good tall forward?? etc etc.. All fair questions.. lets find out as best we can in this compromised year rather than next

If teams are forced to play 2 games / week for a few weeks (which may happen), who makes way? Everyone makes way. No-one can play 4 games in 2 weeks. The AFL are talking about the possibilities of top up players, play who's on the list first. Preserve the bodies for next year rather than hammer them this year... and if this means we lose games (we may not, as all clubs will be doing the same) but leave nothing out on the park, then thats fine. Bring on a high draft pick

The AFL seems pretty determined to play a season. 17 games + finals. Its a money thing Im sure. And fair enough, clubs will go broke without a season, Clubs are likely to go broke with this compromised season. .... The Swans lost $600k last year, what if they lose $30 million this year? Who bails them out? None of their 4 sponsors will make a profit this year, infact, VW, Real-estate . com, HSBC are already recording record losses and may give the Swans less. The AFL can't bail everyone out, they'll lose money this year.

Yep, of course winning is important. Of course creating a winning culture is important. I'll back the Swans culture to win very soon, slipping into Carltondom is a looooong way off.
Some might argue that we won't win the flag this year. Some might argue that a very heavily compromised season doesn't count for as much as it should/could. Some might argue that effort is the backbone of winning, talent is the legs, physical strength is the arms and experience is the head. Next year we'll be stronger than this year.
What playing all the kids does is give a chance for the young crew who are best 22 to play with the young crew who might become best 22. This leads to better cohesion, and with effort, talent, strength and experience,, the wins will come.
Have you noticed the Swans aren't talking about winning, they're talking about effort. They know where we are at.
We also get to have a look and see which of the young crew will make it, and where our strengths and weaknesses are, so where the holes are that need filling before we have a serious crack at the flag
Is Florent, Rowbottom, Warner, Stephens, McInerney going to be a gun midfield in 5 years time? What type of player do we need to trade in?? Is McLean, McCartin or Amartey going to be a good tall forward?? etc etc.. All fair questions.. lets find out as best we can in this compromised year rather than next

If teams are forced to play 2 games / week for a few weeks (which may happen), who makes way? Everyone makes way. No-one can play 4 games in 2 weeks. The AFL are talking about the possibilities of top up players, play who's on the list first. Preserve the bodies for next year rather than hammer them this year... and if this means we lose games (we may not, as all clubs will be doing the same) but leave nothing out on the park, then thats fine. Bring on a high draft pick

The AFL seems pretty determined to play a season. 17 games + finals. Its a money thing Im sure. And fair enough, clubs will go broke without a season, Clubs are likely to go broke with this compromised season. .... The Swans lost $600k last year, what if they lose $30 million this year? Who bails them out? None of their 4 sponsors will make a profit this year, infact, VW, Real-estate . com, HSBC are already recording record losses and may give the Swans less. The AFL can't bail everyone out, they'll lose money this year.

lets be honest we lost close to 10 million last year

how much did the afl give us

**** all clubs are near profitable without a handout

Cruise ship docks 2700 peeps with 4 testing positive. Passengers told to self isolate. Why the heck didn't some govt rent out a hotel/s and put them in there for 14 days so we can be absolutely sure they don't bugger off down the shops.

The truth is way worse than that.

Firstly - they never should have been allowed to disembark from the boat at all. No need for a hotel. 14 days quarantine should have been mandatory.

Second - they were allowed to wander off in to the community with absolutely no restrictions at all. Not even temperature checks. No screening at all.

Just see ya later - Go spend your money and have fun!

Mostly white Americans on board. An absolute corona bomb!

Was a whole 24 hours later that the government figured it out an then made a public statement for them to self isolate.
Many of them were all over the place and most wouldn't have got the memo. They could literally be anyway. Some went to airports and got planes.

Absolutely diabolical error by our administrators an government. Truly incompetent.

How does this happen?