Cox Plate

Moonee Valley
2-3 Angelic Heart - Unlucky last start - unpl
4-3 Raffaello - Should account for these. Not alot of depth to it apart from #1unpl
6-1 Apache Cat - The champ will run down Lucky Secret 1st $2.70 $1.50
7-4 Hissing Sid - unpl
8-10 Whobegotyou - Just can't go past him and his odds are longer than they should be unpl
9-4 Prima Nova - Class Edge unpl

Morphettville
3-3 Musigny unpl
4-7 Naughty Boy 2nd $1.50
6-5 Lapel - Suited by the barrier and front runners track 1st $4.40 $1.70
7-3 Barwon Express 1st $2.50 $1.40
8-5 Holy Guacamoley - Best weighted horse of the day 3rd $1.60

Average day at Moonee Valley. Bring on the main event, the Flemington carnival. :)

Well, a magic day on track!!! Bart, jeez you cannot say enough about the bloke. I was so wanting to lay So You Think on Betfair. Only reason was Bart, which saved me probably $1k. Better still, the other half liked So You Think and Zipping, so we did alright e/w. I ended up having a crack at Speed Gifted, which was a donation. Other than that it was a tough day with winners few and far between. The Sportsman!!! FMD!!!

Bring on Derby Day, the best day of racing, anywhere!!

Was out on track again today. Amazing day, beautiful ladies. ;)

Apache Cat & So You Think were the two highlights for me though.

Apache the battler got into second gear and charged home on the rails; beautiful run I could watch 1,000 times over. So You Think; well so I think?! Bart, Bart, Bart. You surprise me every meeting. You are a true legend. Pity Scenic Shot couldn't bring home the goods, but overall; was a good day.

Well, a magic day on track!!! Bart, jeez you cannot say enough about the bloke. I was so wanting to lay So You Think on Betfair. Only reason was Bart, which saved me probably $1k. Better still, the other half liked So You Think and Zipping, so we did alright e/w. I ended up having a crack at Speed Gifted, which was a donation. Other than that it was a tough day with winners few and far between. The Sportsman!!! FMD!!!

Bring on Derby Day, the best day of racing, anywhere!!
It's like Christmas Day for horse racing lovers and punters.
Getting into Melbourne Friday lunch, cannot wait.

Doesnt sound as if many had a profitable day. Me neither!
Surely some people made some change on races 2-4? They all seemed to be top raters but i managed to dodge around them trying to make the hero pick.

Hanks paid well for those keen on him...

Doesnt sound as if many had a profitable day. Me neither!
Surely some people made some change on races 2-4? They all seemed to be top raters but i managed to dodge around them trying to make the hero pick.
Like many I suppose, I was travelling quite well the half way mark but steadily gave it back with those fancied runners who were unplaced in the second half of the card (Hissing Sid, Whobegotyou and Carrara).

How did Rangi get out to $4.20 on track? Classiest runner.

Don't get many right so might be the exception that makes the rule but did get quin x 50 today, winner @ $51 early on yet still dirty I didn't lay WBGY to lose - typical punter can never win enough :D

Posted this when the $51 was freely available, mates told me better was available at the time - one had $14 @ $126 on BF or so he tells me but had much more than the lazy $14 anyway

Is it just me or does anybody else have doubts about Whobegotyou getting 2000m in a strongly run race, thought his last 100m was just fair on Saturday and actually lost ground on the winner.

Plus if it happens to be one of those Cox Plates where they all take off at the school and stagger home the last 200 then you almost have to be a 2400m horse to win it and I can see him very vulnerable at distance in the same way Lohnro/Filante were - would brain em in the trot and canter/sprint home WFA races over 2000m and yet could never run the trip in fast run Cox Plates

I actually reckon a 3yo will win the CP as don't think the WFA crop are that good as stayers are getting very close to them at distances way short of their best.

Hard to pinpoint which 3yos will run though with decisions on Denman, Trusting, So You Think, etc probably made after this week

Keep the winners flowing and have something on Downtown Babe in Tassie trots tonight, got plenty already today so don't mind sharing the spoils and should be quite backable

Like many I suppose, I was travelling quite well the half way mark but steadily gave it back with those fancied runners who were unplaced in the second half of the card (Hissing Sid, Whobegotyou and Carrara).

How did Rangi get out to $4.20 on track? Classiest runner.

probably due to all the bashing people were giving it after Corey Brown fell/jumped off at breakfast with the stars.

must admit it wavered me away for a tilt just because I assumed those people would have a better grip on a horses mentality than me, and how that links to its performance.

Devils Melody
Zaleba EW
Avenue/L B Encosta box exacta
Rangirangdo
Carrara
Lucky Secret W Light Fantastic EW
Ista Kareem W Irazu EW
Whobegotyou
Moment in Time

Devils Melody - fantastic 2nd. Was closing fast. Follow!
Zaleba - too up an down, probably softer tracker
Avenue - gun, LB Encosta let the team down and has had its heart broken too much this prep now
Rangirangdoo - class horse, if it wasnt the Valley would have had more on
Carrara - didn't get the trip, bit dissapointed Vasil ran him now
Lucky Secret - went ok, tough sprints this spring. LF flat 2nd up
Ista Kareem - stinker, Irazu - NEARLY! Follow, he is back
Whobe - better luck bext year
Moment in Time - NEARLY! Good little horse maybe needs more distance

Below is form assessment, market, speed map and notes on the Crystal Mile (Race 4).

Please find the following below which is our blueprint for establishing tactics etc.

Think Rangirangdoo is the lay of the century at the $3:20 Tab have got him. Maybe Richard Calendar has set the market? He’s been dominant over Strat’s Flyer & Cullen Castle before not wanting to run past Drumbeats and Rock Kingdom with perfect runs and 3kgs less than he’s got here. From his barrier he’ll either be planted or try and take on two pretty tough front-runners and then suddenly find previously absent courage.

I’m set to look a nice pickle too as they’ve got Raffaello at $3:40 and I can’t give it a bonus getting back in a small field off just an ok run in the Toorak.

Reckon Sound Of Nature is in this up to his ears and Lucky Thunder and/or Maxisun will be a ripper for him to chase.

Ralphy

Market:

$6:00 Maxisun
$6:00 Lucky Thunder
$8:00 All American
$9:00 Raffaello
$9:00 Sound Of Nature
$11:00 Philda
$12:00 La Rocket
$15:00 Rangirandoo
$21:00 Bolle

Speed Map: (Pace big chance of being only fair)

(From backmarkers to on-pacers)
Bolle, Raffaello
All American, Magical Pearl
The Fonz, Sound Of Nature, Rangirangdo (no idea how he gets in unless he leads)
Maxisun, Lucky Thunder
Philda, La Rocket

Work Notes:

Rangirangdoo – woeful signs at trackwork during the week. How much left in tank at 7th run in just 2nd prep? Tricky barrier. Blinkers first time.
Magical Pearl – 6th this race last year and 4th to Whobe and Mic Mac in Dato + win and third from 4 starts here. How much left in tank at 8th run for prep?
Raffaello – massive + M Rodd back on and drawn wide. Barrier 1 was shocking for him last start. He will go back so chances are pace dependant.
All American – nil from last 17 but is going super this time in. Ollie stick, with good barrier. Equal fastest last 400 inToorak and only Raffaello better sectionals in Rupert Clarke.
Maxisun – First go at the distance and absolutely every possible last start but may get the breaks again.
Philda – meets Maxisun 2.5kgs better when ridden back due to mad speed predicted, big weight and ordinary barrier.
Bolle – just edged out by Road To Rock, then nice win again at last to runs this track/dist.
La Rocket – leader and track specialist with Philda and Exceltastic form.
Lucky Thunder – Was pushed forward to third the fence last start due to on-pace bias. Last time this dist 3rd Heart Of Dreams Australian Guineas. Look s for big peak ratings here with perfect draw and weight drop.
The Fonz – Has had enough chances to post a quality figure and while always running on has yet to do so. Not on dry track.
Sound Of Nature – Nice weight drop and position in running bonus. He meets Maxisun 3.5kgs worse for beating him 1.1 lengths with the easier run. Conversely should have more upside this distance.

Ouch. Lot easier after the event though!

ROFL!!

Yeah, ol Ralphy would have been bleeding had he laid Rangi on Betfair!!
I think the events during the week put punters off. As Lockyer said in a previous post, he and many others would have gone harder if it wasn't the Valley.

He was right about Sound of Nature. I thought it was a good run for a horse progressing through the grades at the moment. Nowhere in the league of Rangi, but will win a handy race soon.

Cox Plate