Cox Plate

• Thread starter Thread starter BEEG

More Joyous won't run in the top few, bookmark it.

The only reason she is 2nd favourite is because she hasn't raced against the big guys down here so they can't rule her out and that's basically all her odds are, handy horse that hasn't been blown away so fools hope makes people put money on her.

Take last week as proof shes not a contender, chose to run away from facing So You Think and just barely got over the line against a much weaker field.

Anyways by all means throw your money away on any horse you like because So You Think will win, the only question is can he run 3200m because if he can its a double for Bart again.

- Whobegotyou tends to get trapped mid-back and doesn't run on in big fields, you have to go back to the 08 Guineas since his last win in a field over 10 and as it was shown last week he isn't in the same planet as So You Think.

- Zipping will be consistent and run top 3 again.

- Shoot Out for me is the only danger to the favourite. He can run the distance out well but he needs to turn 2 in front and hold him off by a nose which won't happen the way So You Think races.

My picks:
#1 So You Think
#2 Zipping
#3 Shoot Out
#4 Depends who accepts probably something unexpected with Whobegotyou & More Joyous struggling

Personally I am hoping for a horrible Barrier draw for So You Think so he drifts a little, he is as close to unbeatable as you will get anyone who thinks its hype haven't seen him race before.

----------------------

The race that excites me more should it happen is the Hay List vs Black Caviar Showdown, forget the rest of the field don't miss this chance to see these two go head to head. Champion sprinters are a dream to watch let alone 2 of them and its not something we will get to enjoy for long with both likely to head overseas. They will break the course record Saturday and will be a margin clear of the pack, don't bet just enjoy it.

Are we discarding Wall Street because it's a NZ horse...after thankgodyourhere's win last week, doesn't Wall Street rate a mention on NZ form?...

They won't run Black Caviar against Hay List yet...BC needs one or two more runs...then she'll win :)

Are we discarding Wall Street because it's a NZ horse...after thankgodyourhere's win last week, doesn't Wall Street rate a mention on NZ form?...

They won't run Black Caviar against Hay List yet...BC needs one or two more runs...then she'll win :)
Moody said he wouldn't but then he went and nominated for the same race and has Avenue to basically lead her out, she can turn 4 in front and hay list will have to pull something out of the hat to catch her on the short Mooney Valley straight.

1-2 more runs and both will be saying bye bye to Australian shores, its now or never for the showdown. My pick is Moody will beat him here and then send her overseas, he is smart when it comes to placing horses and would rather face him at Mooney Valley then Flemington.

If anyone else backed Ginger Dude like I did on the weekend and witnessed it smash the other horses, seriously needs to consider Wall Street. Wall Street has beaten Ginger Dude twice in the best weight for age race in NZ two years in a row....I have been seriously considering it for the past month and following Ginger's run on the weekend I am even more keen for it...but can it beat So you think? I don't think so.

1. So you think
2. Wall Street
3. Zipping
4. More Joyous

Some further information on Wall Street

Winner of the 2040m Kit Ormond Memorial Spring Classic (Weight for Age) this year

2010 Wall Street Michael Coleman Jeff Lynds 2:02.97

Time is faster than any horse in the Cox Plate since 1994 Solviet

2009 So You Think 2.03.90 12-1
2008 Maldivian 2.06.90 10-1
2007 El Segundo 2.06.33 6-1
2006 Fields Of Omagh 2.06.89 18-1
2005 Makybe Diva 2.09.27 1-1F
2004 Savabeel 2.06.88 15-1
2003 Fields Of Omagh 2.07.61 16-1
2002 Northerly 2.06.27 3-1 EF
2001 Northerly 2.05.84 4-1
2000 Sunline 2.07.70 11-8F
1999 Sunline 2.05.40 6-1
1998 Might and Power 2.03.54 8-11F
1997 Dane Ripper 2.07.65 40-1
1996 Saintly 2.05.73 5-1
1995 Octagonal 2.06.38 15-2

Not sure what you want to read into this other than it can run a bloody fast 2040m

Why does the sport need a champion.....it's not in crisis....I'm really dead set against SYT.

Last start Alcopop made good ground on it and failed in the cup Whobe was ridden 'upside down' and was never going to threaten it in a small field.

It bet a fairly crap field in the cox plate last year and couldnt beat All American the week after....

It has then beaten whobe by half a length first up, didnt beat a heap the next start and then had it all its own way last start...

Look its an awesome horse, but its hardly a champion. The media in the country love putting horses on a pedestal....Typhoon Tracey, Weekend Hussler, Miss Finland.....where are they now.

The only one the failed to give credit to was Starspangledbanner, for some ridiculous reason and it kept going out and winning at big odds.

This week he has to take on arguably the best mare in the land, NZ's best by a long, long way, three proven Group Performers in Zipping, Whobe and Shoot out......

It is massively under the odds and I hope all the muppet, spring experts out there loose there life savings on SYT on the weekend...

I'm under no illusions it should be favourite, but it has clearly been blown out of proportion.

Happy to eat my words come Saturday.....I'm hoping for a ripper race.

FWIW I've been on Wall Street its last two and he is a super impressive animal...I like the NZ form. It compares with the Qld Form...there horses are constantly racing in big fields were the pressure is on and it is good prepartion for these high pressure Group 1's;)

Apart from the fact So You Think was eased down over the last 50 metres two weeks ago and Alcopop failed to handle the track last week.

So You Think may have been beating up crap in your opinion but that is all we've got at the moment!

For one - you list Whobe as a proven Group 1 performer but he has been annhilated by So You Think at their only two 2000m starts.

Why does the sport need a champion.....it's not in crisis....I'm really dead set against SYT.

Last start Alcopop made good ground on it and failed in the cup Whobe was ridden 'upside down' and was never going to threaten it in a small field.

It bet a fairly crap field in the cox plate last year and couldnt beat All American the week after....

It has then beaten whobe by half a length first up, didnt beat a heap the next start and then had it all its own way last start...

Look its an awesome horse, but its hardly a champion. The media in the country love putting horses on a pedestal....Typhoon Tracey, Weekend Hussler, Miss Finland.....where are they now.

The only one the failed to give credit to was Starspangledbanner, for some ridiculous reason and it kept going out and winning at big odds.

This week he has to take on arguably the best mare in the land, NZ's best by a long, long way, three proven Group Performers in Zipping, Whobe and Shoot out......

It is massively under the odds and I hope all the muppet, spring experts out there loose there life savings on SYT on the weekend...

I'm under no illusions it should be favourite, but it has clearly been blown out of proportion.

FWIW I've been on Wall Street its last two and he is a super impressive animal...I like the NZ form. It compares with the Qld Form...there horses are constantly racing in big fields were the pressure is on and it is good prepartion for these high pressure Group 1's;)

WBGU is stupidly overrated.

do yourself a favour and go to TVN online and have a good look at the Toorak Handicap race. Avienus was ridden completely upside down and then Boss also took the wrong option when she entered the straight - he takes her inside immediately and she wins (beats More Joyous) - she had the best closing 600m sectionals in the race and i think rightloy deserves her place in this field.
Anyone else beleive Avienus shouldn't be in the field?

In the past, the MVRC have set a standard of only including horses with proven Group 1 form (generally a Gp 1 placing is required). They went away from this last year by including SYT even though he had finshed 5th in the Guineas.

Surely Avienus finishing down the track in her only Gp 1 start in the Toorak doesn't really qualify as being up to Cox Plate standard?

Thoughts?

My early thoughts of the Cox Plate is that none of the "locals" can beat SYT, if he runs up to his potential.

So that leaves the international horses, the "unknowns" if you will, and after Ginga Dude's win last week, surely Wall Street (NZ's best WFA horse since Sunline according to some reports) and Luen Yat Forever might be the 2 "blowouts".

I'll be on Wall Street each way, although I still believe SYT wins if nothing untowards happens (think Naturalism:o).

Ill be putting 5 bucks each way on wall street, but thats it.. no other horses in the race are as talented or powerful as so you think..dont forget it won last year as a 3 year old!.

on another note, im really pumped for the MOIR stakes..I wanna see the hulking brut Hay list...This will be his toughest competition to date..

I would have loved to see Black Caviar run against it...But im looking forward to seein melito and hot danish run against the Western Australian monster

i was on Ginga Dude early @ 13.00s on saturday(check daily punt thread if don't believe).

ill be watching the geelong cup and keeping a keen eye on The Hombre. If he does well i will be backing Wall Street the moment the race ends. Don't get me wrong SYT is a top-class horse but @ 1.55 anything can happen and will search for some value.

wall street will be backed if the hombre does well.

Mate, two days ago you pmed me asking what a quaddie was, please dont come on here sprouting bullshit just to be heard.

I asked you if that was your quaddie...

http://www.racenet.com.au/news/638/63882.asp

More Joyous out gallops So You Think
Clinton Payne
Tuesday, 19 October 2010

A regular track watcher has declared More Joyous as the star Cox Plate track worker at Flemington on Tuesday.

Both More Joyous and So You Think steered clear of Moonee Valley’s Breakfast with the Best trackwork session to complete their final main gallop at their Flemington base ahead of Saturday’s $3 million weight-for-age championship.

Regular Flemington clocker Warren Huntly was at Moonee Valley but Racenet has tracked down another regular trackman who said More Joyous’s gallop was “textbook stuff”.

“She worked over six [furlongs – 1200m] in 1.22.00 and ran her last 400 metres in 22.90 seconds,” he said. “It was outstanding work, she went whoosh.

“If it’s a sit and sprint on Saturday I think she could beat the good horse [So You Think].”

So You Think was also clocked for the final 1200 metres of his gallop which was run in 1.20.00 and he came home his final 400 metres in 24 seconds.

“He worked as well as he always seems to do,” he said. “It’s just the mare was stunning.”

How much prizemoney has SYT won in about a third of the starts?

So there should be an enquiry if anything else wins?? Like there should have been when Descarado won..........:o

On Wall Street at $30 and $28 to win and had a good go at the $4.5 place on betfair...hope he can run over the top of them..

SYT is currently $1.63 for you followers

Have you ever been involved in horse racing or you just one of those armchair experts? You clearly have no idea about racing.

How much prizemoney has SYT won in about a third of the starts?

They are not talking about SYT its irrelevant what its won.

They are talking about whether WBGY is a good horse or not. Its won 2.6million and i believe it still hasn't shown its best.

Don't think it will win Saturday but as for saying it is "stupidely overrated" well that's just stupid in itself...

Have you ever been involved in horse racing or you just one of those armchair experts? You clearly have no idea about racing.

Just decide to pop up on here around spring racing time do you???

SYT has beaten the best of a fairly average bunch so far...The Cox Plate field is getting up there but still no where near a peak field. "If" it wins on the weekend, that will be great and a back to back Cox Plate winner is awesome, "if" it wins the Cup it is a very special horse....And maybe then a Champion..

DO you think more people will tune in or go to the Melbourne Cup to see So You Think in action? No probably not, this is why I think the whole, he's the champion that racing needs crap is over rated and exaggerated..

And yeah I own a horse and am involved in the industry.....so does that make me an expert? I wouldn't reckon