snags

Footscray and Footscray
Once again the Victorian public have been treated like crap,Channel 7, MMM,3LO,and 3AW all covered the same game on Saturday night BLOCKBUSTER no.5726 for the year at Colonial.

Even when the game became embarassing, there was no attempt by the radio networks to switch to another venue. I finally gave up and turned the tele over to sky channel and had a punt on the dishlickers and the cheats-on-seats.

Forty years ago,all games were covered on the radio, haven't we come a long way?

Originally posted by snags
Once again the Victorian public have been treated like crap,Channel 7, MMM,3LO,and 3AW all covered the same game on Saturday night BLOCKBUSTER no.5726 for the year at Colonial.

Even when the game became embarassing, there was no attempt by the radio networks to switch to another venue. I finally gave up and turned the tele over to sky channel and had a punt on the dishlickers and the cheats-on-seats.

Forty years ago,all games were covered on the radio, haven't we come a long way?

And they call it progress. Who remembers six saturday arvo games, covered by 3LO, 3UZ, 3DB, 3AW, 3XY AND 3GL.
If you didn't like footy - tough. There was always 3AR.

Another sign of progress - we used to have the Sporting Globe in our McKinnon newsagency by 6pm sat. with full games results and descriptions.

For those who grew up in the computerised era, the times past were not always slower