Credibility?

Double Blues, WBA, Adelaide United
I am hoping you will all accept this in the spirit it is meant in, but I was wondering what it takes to have credibility as a poster on the Adelaide Board?

I have noted over the past however many months that certain posters appear to have it yet others may say the same and get no acknowledgement at all.

I have seen posters say something with no discussion made at all, yet another 'respected' poster makes the same point and it is hailed as brilliant.

So i pose the question how does one get credibility?

adelaide_girl said:
I am hoping you will all accept this in the spirit it is meant in, but I was wondering what it takes to have credibility as a poster on the Adelaide Board?

I have noted over the past however many months that certain posters appear to have it yet others may say the same and get no acknowledgement at all.

I have seen posters say something with no discussion made at all, yet another 'respected' poster makes the same point and it is hailed as brilliant.

A thread like this is a good start...Welcome Aboard AG.

An extremely valid point you raise there adelaide_girl - as always :)

Whilst this is the board of my football club and i am intrigued by many of the opinions of those who grace it I have noticed a distinct 'click' if you will.

People on this board have a habit of ignoring opinions of some of the more fringe posters on the board who raise very interesting and thought provoking points, whereas a more respected poster (no offence stiffy but I shall single you out as you are the most respected here - nothing against you mate you post top quality stuff) such as stiffy can post a similar post and everyone leaps all over it.

I think that many people on this board are what I would call 'yes men' - everything the respected people says they agree with. I'm not going to single out individuals but they do exist.

This is NOT a dig at individuals and if people are offended by it then im sorry but I'm with a_g 100% on this one - our board isn't always the most friendly of places to new people starting out. Post your own opinion for once people instead of making love to the opinions of the more respected posters. We cant all think the same ALL the time.

Take in the opinions of others - not just the ones with the highest post counts and have a think for yourself sometime.

*steps down off high horse*

Yeah I have to also agree, sometimes I find it hard to post on this board my opinion as I dont want to be torn to shreads as people might not agree entirely with what I have said, what has to be remembered what people post is purely there opinion, it isnt gospel ;)

I have noticed it too. Sad that it is reserved for certain individuals and not others.

adelaide_girl said:

Hugs AG…. haven’t chatted in a long time, I hope Amy is good, talk real soon or at least when footy comes around again, "mc_crows".

Let me say, I would not see my myself as a “yes” man as Rave Slave deemed some posters are because Iam willing to "call it, as I see it" and will speak up if l take umbrage at some of the post about the AFC (Neil Craig, Andrew McLeod, the AFC board, priority picks :mad: ).

But it is a very interesting question “how do you get respect or at least credibility? I can not answer that question on behalf of everyone but I would like to think I give everyones comments the respect they deserve (even some power supporters, now) untill they have proven then self to be a troll.

But we all know who has no footy credibility, integrity or common sense in life………once again welcome back Powerknob

P.S AG have a nice Xmas and a happy new year :)

Nice Thread AG !!...... :) ......excellent topic

I was surprised when I got here how knowledgable some people are here...particularly wrt to draft hopefuls.
I think it's all a bit of fun.....and I think that most of us here do respect each others opinions. The problem is that footy is the subject that draws out the most passionate responses. Even with tossers like JDI...it wasn't until after a few hundred posts that we started to sink the slipper...it's not like we attacked him straight up.....
From my point of view I think in my short time here I've agreed and disagreed with just about everybody ....and that's fair enough.....we all have our views.
I for one just enjoy the interaction with others who love the AFC as much as I do.
Credibility is something that is as subjective as each of our opinions....my list of credible posters might be completely different to someone else's ......credibility is not something we can measure across the board.
so all in all - we're a fairly tolerant lot....and value each others opinions I think.

Damn ........and I wanted to say something really childish with my 1,000th post..... :p

Mad Dog said:
Damn ........and I wanted to say something really childish with my 1,000th post..... :p

Save it for your 2000 post, Iam sure you will still be around and bad childish jokes never get old or funny but do it anyway

PowerKop said:
Do u think that u have credibility SpringChoke. I'd say that you probably don't.

Where did I say I did?? But I know someone who definately doesn't. Ask some of your own supporters how much credibility you have, especially after the PAFC Big Footy debacle.
No cutesy crevice comment this time, you little ass K*ssing weasal?

Now back to topic- sorry. I think this board has improved over the last month or so in that it is more welcoming that it was in say August. New posters, not only get their intial posts acknowledged, but also get a "welcome aboard" message. Newbies ( sorry ) opinions are not occassionally dismissed or attacked as they once were.

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah I have to also agree, sometimes I find it hard to post on this board my opinion as I dont want to be torn to shreads as people might not agree entirely with what I have said

you should change that habit right now mate!

remember 10000+ posts on bigfooty doesnt mean youre dealing with malcolm blight ... your opinion is just as valid as anyone elses

Mad Dog said:
so all in all - we're a fairly tolerant lot....and value each others opinions I think.
p

I think we have a great board here overall. We are all passionate supporters that love to share information and offer opinion on all matters related to the Crows. It certainly beats the cr@p that happens on the general board where its seemingly mainly pre-pubescent kids slagging each other off. If only we could ban d:ckheads like Powerknob (Jack Did it) etc it would be ever better

Some posters have contacts at the Crows - like Stiffy - so others will always be keen to hear what they have to say as we dont have access to this information ourself. This is how I feel anyway.

I agree with RaveSlave that some people seem to agree with virtually everything Stiffy says (even his opinions, as opposed to more factual stuff) whilst ignoring the same points from 'lower profile' posters.

But overall we should be pleased with the level of intelligence and civility we display to each other. Cheers

Rave Slave said:
our board isn't always the most friendly of places to new people starting out.

With this one I have noticed. Not so much opinion is argued but ignored.

At the end of the day; I don't care if I have crediabilty. As long as I get to air an opinion that suits me just fine.

A_G; you know I value your imput highly :)

Very good topic!

I do agree with everything you have said, but it is definately not confined to just this board it is the same throughout all the boards on BF.

I am also of the opinion that there is nothing that can be done about it unfortunately. If people recognize one of my posts, great, if they choose to ignore it and acknowledge a near mirror image made by someone else then, oh well, at least my point is being talked about and discussed which is the point of a forum. I joined up on BF to discuss all things Crows and Footy not to gain any cred or "rep" it may get frustrating at times but thats life.

I am happy with our board and sincerely enjoy coming on here.

That is all :D

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah I have to also agree, sometimes I find it hard to post on this board my opinion as I dont want to be torn to shreads as people might not agree entirely with what I have said, what has to be remembered what people post is purely there opinion, it isnt gospel ;)
post away buddy....there's always someone out there who will agree with you - maybe others are thinking what you are thinking but don't have the guts to say it first up.
You might be surprised !!!

Blue Red and Gold said:
Very good topic!

I do agree with everything you have said, but it is definately not confined to just this board it is the same throughout all the boards on BF.

I am also of the opinion that there is nothing that can be done about it unfortunately. If people recognize one of my posts, great, if they choose to ignore it and acknowledge a near mirror image made by someone else then, oh well, at least my point is being talked about and discussed which is the point of a forum. I joined up on BF to discuss all things Crows and Footy not to gain any cred or "rep" it may get frustrating at times but thats life.

well said

I just have to say this; Many have mentioned Stiffy. I think that's a bit harsh. Stiffy does come up with points and great pieces of information. In fact his trade views are highly reguarded. If people agree with him, that's their perogative; however if you disagree, debate it.

Dont need to argue, debate instead.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Very good topic!

As Mad Dog said - excellent post.

I remember starting off as a newcomer myself, and the posters of the day - many who are no longer here - gave me a similar welcome to the one that newcomers get today.

As for the respect, or credibility issue, you just keep posting and posting. If you say enough sensible things often enough you'll certainly get responses - and that's talking from personal experience.

As for Stiffy, I think he has been unfairly singled out. I often respond to his posts, not always to agree with him, but often to argue with him!! :D But he just posts and posts and does so passionately, which always encourages a response, either in the affirmative or to disagree.

And then there's the number of posts that he makes. Someone who posts 10 opinions per day is far more likely to get a response than someone who is saying the same thing but only posts once per day.

Nothing in life is perfect, but overall I think this board is a pretty reasonable place to post, otherwise I'd be outta here. ;)

AngelEyes said:
I just have to say this; Many have mentioned Stiffy. I think that's a bit harsh. Stiffy does come up with points and great pieces of information. In fact his trade views are highly reguarded. If people agree with him, that's their perogative; however if you disagree, debate it.

Dont need to argue, debate instead.

Stiff isn't being used for derogatory purposes though AE.

People see Stiff as the most in the know poster regarding issues to do with our beloved club and so he is the first person people think of when using examples. The point is when stiff posts opinions and 5-10 people agree with his opinion completely without disputing it just frustrates a little.

Stiffy is a great bloke who knows what he's talking about but people really need to formulate 'opinions' for themself. There is a big difference between opinion and fact and people should really try and put their own spin on things.

The most important point to remember is we all have the one great thing in common - our club. Its us against the other 15 groups of them come 2005 so get behind the club, just do it without being a sheep and try and have your own opinions on matters concerning the AFC.

:)

Rave Slave said:
Stiff isn't being used for derogatory purposes though AE.

People see Stiff as the most in the know poster regarding issues to do with our beloved club and so he is the first person people think of when using examples. The point is when stiff posts opinions and 5-10 people agree with his opinion completely without disputing it just frustrates a little.

Stiffy is a great bloke who knows what he's talking about but people really need to formulate 'opinions' for themself. There is a big difference between opinion and fact and people should really try and put their own spin on things.

But that is not Stiff's fault. Its other people that chose to agree, and generally yes they do agree with him because he does know what he's talking about. if they disagree you dont slander the guy, you debate it. many people i have seen disagree with him but instead of debating it, slander him.

AngelEyes said:
But that is not Stiff's fault. Its other people that chose to agree, and generally yes they do agree with him because he does know what he's talking about. if they disagree you dont slander the guy, you debate it. many people i have seen disagree with him but instead of debating it, slander him.

I dont think anyone in this thread has bagged Stiffy at all - quite the opposite actually. He has everyones respect here - if you reread mine/RaveSlaves posts then I think you will see this