Cricket Question

Remove this Banner Ad

carlton1995

Draftee
Oct 10, 2015
7
2
AFL Club
Carlton
Hi All,

Just a quick question for people that know their cricket well. If a batsman faces a no-ball or wide, does that delivery get counted towards their deliveries faced?

E.g. A batsman's first delivery faced is a wide, is he still 0 off 0? or now 0 off 1? Does this change between a no-ball or wide?

Does that change if a batter scores a run off the illegal delivery?
E.g. If the batter hits his first delivery for a boundary and its a no-ball. Is he 4 off 0? Or 4 off 1?

Any links to rules or anything explaining this would also be appreciated.

Thanks!
 

Art Vandelay_

TheBrownDog
Oct 28, 2012
82,445
108,014
AFL Club
Geelong
Other Teams
Bushrangers
If my recollection of Gilly’s ton at the WACA is anything to go by. No for a wide

Commentators were incensed Hoggard wasn’t called for a wide and it robbed him of the record.
 

GROTTO

Hall of Famer
Jul 5, 2013
43,932
49,486
AFL Club
Adelaide
Other Teams
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Hi All,

Just a quick question for people that know their cricket well. If a batsman faces a no-ball or wide, does that delivery get counted towards their deliveries faced?

E.g. A batsman's first delivery faced is a wide, is he still 0 off 0? or now 0 off 1? Does this change between a no-ball or wide?

Does that change if a batter scores a run off the illegal delivery?
E.g. If the batter hits his first delivery for a boundary and its a no-ball. Is he 4 off 0? Or 4 off 1?

Any links to rules or anything explaining this would also be appreciated.

Thanks!
A legal ball has yet to be bowled. So if the batsmen has scored runs of it. (like a boundary)

He is 4 runs of 0 deliveries. Only legal deliveries counts towards a batsmen balls faced.
 

(Log in to remove this ad.)

Barlos Crathwaite

Club Legend
Suspended
Sep 22, 2019
1,221
1,184
AFL Club
West Coast
Ok well I learned something here. The weird thing about it is we probably don't notice that the balls faced by batsmen usually exceed 300 in an odi innings for example. Funny that
 

carlton1995

Draftee
Oct 10, 2015
7
2
AFL Club
Carlton
Since a wide is called because it can't be scored off, it does not count to the batsman's balls faced. However, a No Ball will, as even though it's not a legal delivery, the batsman still had the opportunity to score off it.
Thank you for this. Did manage to find some information on this and you are indeed correct!
 

Top Bottom