Opinion Cricket thread

He was just taking hits on the body from Wagner remember. Didn't flinch.

A different unit but no denying his courage

I watched him score 50 off about 200 rocks for Tassie, maybe two seasons ago? Everyone else was tumbling on a green deck but he just refused to give in. From that day onwards I was adamant that he deserved a test spot.

Was it hard convincing the other selectors?

Yep I don't think his technique is Test Level at times, but he certainly is not soft and is a warrior.

He's done that a few times for Tassie. He will do stupid shots but his effort is unquestionable (he's a good fielder now too after keeping most of his career)

Both he and Paine grew up in the same (nice) area but both as tough as each other (a good thing)

Yep I don't think his technique is Test Level at times, but he certainly is not soft and is a warrior.

He's done that a few times for Tassie. He will do stupid shots but his effort is unquestionable (he's a good fielder now too after keeping most of his career)

Both he and Paine grew up in the same (nice) area but both as tough as each other (a good thing)

Also not easy to bowl 130 clicks at his height. Just a good athlete.

This Indian side executes plans so well. Less talent on paper than other sides they've had before, but they're incredibly disciplined.

India have actual plans , unlike the Aussie’s.

Looks like one team wants to win it on talent , while the other has had in-depth planning for each batter

Also not easy to bowl 130 clicks at his height. Just a good athlete.

Was a very good footballer too. Yep he is plus he's ultra driven like his dad Scott was/is. (fun fact.....Scott worked for my Dad for Westpac years ago)

India have actual plans , unlike the Aussie’s.

Looks like one team wants to win it on talent , while the other has had in-depth planning for each batter

I think we've executed good plans against Kohli and Pujara. Think we've just forgotten that they're strong with the bat all the way to Ashwin these days.

I think our plans are ok.

We just aren't much good. Our bowling is fine.

Our batting line up is worst I've seen and I'm 39.

He's a flog but Warner adds a lot to our side.

I also feel that if we're going to bat Green at 6 we should think of including Jimmy Pattinson to strengthen no.8 and have Cummins at 9.

The bowling yesterday wasn't fine and the fielding was atrocious. But you're right. The Windies attack of the 80s would have been far less effective if Viv, Clive, Dessie et al were getting rolled for under 200 every time they went out to bat.

We still got them out for a pretty low score on a good wicket. Not perfect no but both teams have been atrocious in field. (Covid lack of prep.....dunno?)

Not perfect but yep it's our batting that puts us under unnecessary pressure far too often.

I reckon Paine may have won on the swings in the first innings with the run out, but lost on the roundabouts there.

That's not what DRS should be about. Unless the DRS is conclusive it shouldn't overrule the on field umpire.
Reckon that you are about right there.

Pistol didn’t seem to be pleased with that over-rule either.

Didn’t appear to have hit the bat but snicko thinks it did.

I am a bit older so remember during the World Series split in late 70s, our batting was putrid, as you would expect. Then after reunification and retirements, some of the sides in the early 80s were not much better. Fortunately we had Border and by the mid 80s S Waugh, Deano, started out followed by Boon, Taylor, etc. But I agree with your assessment of the current batting line up. Very flimsy and built around Warner, Smith and now Marnus. One or two of those out of form or injured, like now, we get this rubbish served up.

I reckon the batting line up at for Boxing Day two years ago the worst I'd seen (not counting the match after Sandpapergate when Renshaw, Burns and Handscomb came in for Warner, Smith and Bancroft) - Finch, Harris, Khawaja, Marsh bros and Head.

Smith and Labuschagne are clear upgrades when in form (which they aren't), but S.Marsh and Khawaja have better records than Wade and Burns. Head was meh then and is meh now. Finch just wasn't a Test player but Green is well, green.

The bottom line is that Australian batting from 2016-2020 has been poor. Only four players have averaged over 40 whilst batting in the top 6 in those 5 years - Smith, Labuschagne, Warner and.....Glenn Maxwell (from only 6 innings).

Its hard to pick batsman when the only other cricket being played is T20

My understanding is that it doesn't matter this year because they can't bring anyone in from the BBL as they're outside the bubble. Hopefully Warner comes in for Burns, if not Harris. Other than that there's not much they can do.

Next year is a worry - can't have Wade and Head in the top order, and somehow they have to work out Pucovski.