Opinion Cricket thread

Seems like an action that will be very hard on his body.

Who was on here in the last day or so saying they didn't think CameronGreen was any good?
Slinging used to stuff my lower back. I had to revert to slow medium pacers with a high bowling arm.

I was going to make mention this morning how disappointing it was to hear that there were racist comments made during yesterday’s play , and the it happens again . Wtf is wrong with people . Disgusting
Grog plays a significant role, but there’s always a campaigner or two that are just plain shit people.

Plus all persons have assigned seating AND contact details left with whomever at SCG/ticketing
They did kick a group of four young blokes out, but I’m not sure if they were just going to question them privately or were just inebriated or were actually responsible.

Slinging used to stuff my lower back. I had to revert to slow medium pacers with a high bowling arm.

I completely wrecked my back by 21yo after multiple stress fractures. My sports Dr specialist said my spine looked like a 50yo........

Shortish in height, short run up, slinging action, long spells (10plus).....was never going to hold up in hindsight.

Grog plays a significant role, but there’s always a campaigner or two that are just plain sh*t people.

Cowards . If I was at the footy and heard a north supporter make racist comments I reckon I’d march over and drag them out myself . It’s pathetic.

Same with me. Especially my short balls I'm sure I threw it
Yea, it felt like I was guiding the ball to its target akin to a throw.

Cowards . If I was at the footy and heard a north supporter make racist comments I reckon I’d march over and drag them out myself . It’s pathetic.
That’s how you root it out. Same at local sport or vfl. Needs stamping out.

Grog plays a part, but that sort sh*t is ingrained in the yobbo cricket crowd culture.
It isn't that broad, otherwise, every yobbo in the ground at every game would be doing it.

An occasional shit bloke or group isn't indicative of a broader culture, but I take your point about past groups in yellow canary committing similar acts and being the primary culprits. It was a lot worse, even just 10-15 years ago.

I reported some Collingwood rabble for their vile racial abuse of Winston Abraham to the cops when there was a big ad campaign on the MCG scoreboard years back. The cops were all gung ho so they all came up to the area and got me to point out the abusive mob. They then went over to speak with the Collingwood abusers, but obviously were too afraid to do anything, but the cops very kindly pointed me out to the mob so they knew who it was that reported their behaviour.

It isn't that broad, otherwise, every yobbo in the ground at every game would be doing it.

An occasional sh*t bloke or group isn't indicative of a broader culture, but I take your point about past groups in yellow canary committing similar acts and being the primary culprits. It was a lot worse, even just 10-15 years ago.

It is also part of the online cricket culture. Go to any cricket stories on social media and look at comments. Young dickheads engaging in "banter" with overseas fans. Plenty of racist shit gets spouted.

Thanks to Murali he is allowed 15 degrees.
Possibly more than that from these screenshots. It is hard to tell whether he fully extends at point of release though. Ig he goes from 25 degrees and release at 10 that is legal.

View attachment 1038560

View attachment 1038559

My understanding is that it's bending and straightening that's the issue, and a natural hyperextension also goes the other way. No issue with Bumrah's action.

It is also part of the online cricket culture. Go to any cricket stories on social media and look at comments. Young dickheads engaging in "banter" with overseas fans. Plenty of racist sh*t gets spouted.
It is worse online as you have the baiting trolls and flogs that use multiple accounts and VPN's. Not just cricket, but other sports too. Aaron Hall and Eddie Betts have both copped about half a dozen times each in the last 24 months.

It's worse online but I have seen and witnessed outright and normalised racism at every club I've played with, and many I've played against. I stood up against it at every opportunity but all that I got from that was ostracisation.

It's a massive cultural problem that a few slogans on TV won't fix.