Opinion Cricket thread

With apologies to Marstermind

ODI Cap No. 230 – Cameron Green

Cap 30: Alan Turner, 6 Matches (1975)
Cap 80: David Boon, 181 Matches (1984-1995)
Cap 130: Andy Bichel, 67 Matches (1997-2004)
Cap 180: Graham Manou, 4 Matches (2009)

Alphabetically between
Shaun Graf, 11 Matches (1980-1981)
Brad Haddin, 126 Matches (2001-2015)

Other Camerons to play:
Cameron White, 91 Matches (2005-2018)

Other Greens to play:
None

Other CGs to play:
None

Last 10 Debutants from Western Australia
228. Ashton Turner (2019)
227. Jason Behrendorff (2019)
226. D’Arcy Short (2018)
224. Jhye Richardson (2018)
222. Andrew Tye (2018)
221. Hilton Cartwright (2017)
211. Joel Paris (2016)
208. Ashton Agar (2015)
204. Nathan Coulter-Nile (2013)
190. Mitchell Marsh (2011)

Six of the last ten ODI debutants from Western Australia (seven if you include Stoinis, who was playing for Victoria at the time), three from the same club (Subiaco-Floreat), and four if you add Stoinis, who plays for them now.

Agreed. He was also seen as a selfish player (probably true) so in much the same way as Clarke the Australian public never warmed to him. Amazing striker of the ball and added fantastic balance to the team. Makes the Stoinises and MMarshes of the world look like kids.

Fun fact.

I met Watson through one of my best mates (played for Tassie for years) when just arrived in Tassie to start his career - at New Town oval as playing a local game.

About 19yo at the time.

He was actually a really good bloke unlike others I've met but whether he changed later or not no idea.

Put it this way I've met Clarke too and he's a genuine knob of the highest order so no wonder there was friction at leader level at the time.

I reckon we'll have their measure this year in Test series.

Once the Mickey Mouse stuff ends we will have a formidable team Warner or not.

Alphabetically between

Other Camerons to play:

Other Greens to play:
None

Other CGs to play:
None

226. D’Arcy Short (2018)
222. Andrew Tye (2018)
211. Joel Paris (2016)
208. Ashton Agar (2015)

Six of the last ten ODI debutants from Western Australia (seven if you include Stoinis, who was playing for Victoria at the time), three from the same club (Subiaco-Floreat), and four if you add Stoinis, who plays for them now.

What a load of irrelevant bulltwang. You must have no life.

Alphabetically between

Other Camerons to play:

Other Greens to play:
None

Other CGs to play:
None

226. D’Arcy Short (2018)
222. Andrew Tye (2018)
211. Joel Paris (2016)
208. Ashton Agar (2015)

I got all giddy about the opportunity to discuss Clarrie Grimmett, and then noticed this list was ODI players :) Great list.

World Cup qualification points?

India are hosting the 2023 so they are irrelevant to them. And what odds are Australia of not being in the Top 8 and not qualifying? It might be interesting when Zimbabwe are playing Afghanistan, but the very nature of Zimbabwe playing Afghanistan isn't interesting. Hate to see the ICC get their hands on a chook raffle.

Kohli averages so much due to tiny grounds.

Best ever?

No way imo.

Hall of famer sure.

Kohli averages so much due to tiny grounds.

Best ever?

No way imo.

Hall of famer sure.

Best ever has been undisputed since 1948. Hall of Famer is the best anyone else is going to get. And even then you could say that Bradman never played a Test outside of Australia or England. And only 15 were against anyone other than England (5 v WI in Aus in 1930/31, 5 v SA in Aus 1931/32 and 5 v Ind in Aus 1947/48).

Kohli? In Tests on the bigger Australian grounds, Kohli has played 12, for 6 centuries, 3 fifties at an average of 55.39 (as opposed to 53.62 across his entire career). You don't have to like him but he's an absolute gun in all formats.

Best ever has been undisputed since 1948. Hall of Famer is the best anyone else is going to get. And even then you could say that Bradman never played a Test outside of Australia or England. And only 15 were against anyone other than England (5 v WI in Aus in 1930/31, 5 v SA in Aus 1931/32 and 5 v Ind in Aus 1947/48).

Kohli? In Tests on the bigger Australian grounds, Kohli has played 12, for 6 centuries, 3 fifties at an average of 55.39 (as opposed to 53.62 across his entire career). You don't have to like him but he's an absolute gun in all formats.

Nup. Don't agree.

I respect him massively as a gun yes but I've seen more talented batsman. Most disciplined and style may be.

Lara for one, Ponting the other etc.

He can't dominate like the very best, he regularly is beaten by good bowling.

Nup. Don't agree.

I respect him massively as a gun yes but I've seen more talented batsman. Most disciplined and style may be.

Lara for one, Ponting the other etc.

He can't dominate like the very best, he regularly is beaten by good bowling.

Fair enough. Good bowling should regularly beat good bowling. An vice versa. And if you're in the conversation with Lara and Ponting, well, like you say, he's massively respected as a gun.

Please don't get me wrong, Kohli is a superstar.

I just feel other batsmen have been basically impossible to bowl to - Kohli is regularly nicking or mistiming, he's a master of staying in and accumulating.

If I had my life on someone getting runs it would likely be Kohli, but on ball striking and freakish ability he's down the order.