Opinion Cricket thread

Yep but it's a very suspicious way to do it.

Riley Meredith hits 150 and Fast Medium......so Not sure outside get much quicker than that (outside a select few)

I think Lee consistently quicker than Akhtar who burnt out way too quickly. Brad Williams, the NZer I forget and Tait as quick as both.

The Windies 80s quicks had bounce against poorly equipped batsman but they'd be smashed around now imo. The videos show they weren't quick just batsman not good enough.

Fidel Edwards and Tino Best hit 150plus and treated with contempt against the modern age with bowling machines and best padding etc - the old blokes before cricket became so professional. (and $$$$)

The best current batsman would smash Malcolm Mashall and co.

I always rate Tino Best as a bloke whose record doesn't reflect his skill. He was a legitimately good bowler, and having chatted with him a few times, appears to be an excellent fast bowling coach.

You watch some West Indies cricket videos mate.

Ambrose, Holding and co would be no quicker that Starc, Hazelwood or Cummins.

Thing is batsman looked inept against it which makes it look faster. The modern batsman smashed quicks to make look slower.

I should know. I hit 140 and made batsman look scared as but find a top batsman with helmet, chest, arm guard and a bat near a Gumtree size?

Smashed and I looked as slow as. Just like Warner does, Smith does, Kohli does and that's against the best

Missed it all as I was at cricket training, but I'm pissed of with myself that I didn't take the $10.50 for an Indian win when Gill went out. You could see it coming a mile off.

We couldn't finish the job with the ball in the last 2 Test's. The Sydney pitch was a shocker though, didn't deteriorate at all. Lyon and Starc were below their usual standard.

Our batting is still crap. Smith and Marnus carry the team. Green did was well as could be expected. Got bogged down a bit, but is the future. Better hope Puc holds up and Warner gets fit cos our opening spots this series were putrid. Wade is done. We had the chance to put the games out of reach of India the last 2 games with the bat but failled.

Paine was good with the bat but struggled behind the stumps and his Captaincy very average.

I'm ok with Paine the player. The captaincy and the keeping seem to suffer though when the heat is on. Too much on his plate.

No I hate the prick so I'm happy with Paine gone. Dead set fraud as "a leader". He's fooled everyone. (ask his University teammates what they think)

Wade is a better bloke just stupid batsman.

We need to move on from both imo.

ps; Bailey a gun person and leader. So I'm not being accused of being bitter

Is he in Aust mate?

I didn't realise.

Can't see too many Windies in these clips. (outside Fidel who was *ing fast)

They would be 10Ks slower at minimum compared to modern cricket and batting.

A disgraceful exhibition and India were worthy winners.

Gil made Starc look like a suburban 3rds pie chucker.

Heads must roll.

Benefited a lot from having Steyn at the other end IMO. That bounce that would have been a nightmare to play. I reckon Ntini was scarier but has a worse record.

Morkel a fantastic bowler.

It's bounce that is hard to play not pace at the high levels

Seems like I'm bragging.

I'm actually taking the piss on myself as my only claim to fame is how quick I was.

However I learned very quickly at the (near) top level pace (unless freakish Lee etc) is actually a liability.

No different to in AFL speak the mid who gets 30 touches but can't kick looks great on stats but probably lost the game.

I was horribly smashed by top players. (Tassie level)

In other words I'm Liam Anthony of cricket!!

Pujaras innings will no doubt go unheralded, but I’m sure behind closed doors his teammates love him and his competitive spirit. Tough as teak today, took 11 blows to the head, elbow, shoulder and hand and fought through it all.

The big boys that hit the big ball get all the credit. Australia would kill to have one of him.

As someone who just loves good test cricket, I'm not someone who 'goes' for a particular nation (obviously I love it when we do well), this has just been a phenomenal series and a treat to watch.
Has it though? Pitches played far too true. There was very little deterioration, in fact they seemed to get better, and that’s not how Test cricket is meant to be. I found the series pretty boring because of this.

This didn't stop Cummins & Hazlewood bowling well, nor did it manage to assist about half of our batting line up.

We lost because we were mentally soft, and the cull starts with Langer.

Anybody who thinks badly of Mohammed Siraj, is a tool.

He's the first man at Green's aid, after getting smashed in the face. (By the way, how tough is Green?)

Magnificent series win, by India. As a proud Aussie, I'm just as proud of India, and test cricket.