Opinion Cricket thread

You had a bad series. You're not a bad side.
India won more of the key moments

I think you'll beat South Africa

Only because they are weak at the moment.

The proteas of a few years ago would decimate us.

Huge transitional period for them.

You had a bad series. You're not a bad side.
India won more of the key moments

I think you'll beat South Africa

I like your optimism, I do think we are about par with SAF
Hope we bounce back though, NZ deserves to be on top though

Only because they are weak at the moment.

The proteas of a few years ago would decimate us.

Huge transitional period for them.

Got some handy bowlers, but their batting batting looks a bit suspect. Bit like you guys at the moment
Should be some interesting cricket

Those two never won fu** all, which is the point.

It’s an incredibly boring, tough and gruelling sport played by a lot of blokes with Mental Illness, some of which are genuine psychopaths.

Marnus and Smithy are both on the spectrum. Wade is ya typical dumb campaigner keeper moron who just has non stop verbal diarrhoea.
What do you mean played by a lot of blokes with mental illness?

I like your optimism, I do think we are about par with SAF
Hope we bounce back though, NZ deserves to be on top though

I mean, I am as disappointed as the next fan, probably more so, but we absolutely pantsed NZ here last year, an absolute rogering, so I'm not sure how NZ deserve to be on top more than us. They've had an amazing Summer, but it has been against an awful Pakistani side and an even more awful West Indies side. We would have done a number on both of those teams this Summer too.

cause we pantsed India in NZ and then Pants from India pantsed you :cool:

Am I right to think world cricket is in the worse shape it has been for 40 years? Apart from India and the Kiwis everone else currently have close to if not their worse teams over that period. And a lot of this due to poor batting quality? Or is it just me forgetting all the bad stuff from previous years?

Wade failed for Hurricanes. Horrible "shot".

He should be axed for good

Wade failed for Hurricanes. Horrible "shot".

He should be axed for good

He hasn't made a 50 for 14 Test innings and averages under 30 in 36 Tests, and the last straw is a shot in a meaningless BBL game? To para-quote from Apocalypse Now - "Criticising a man for a reckless dismissal in a T20 match is like handing out speeding tickets at the Indy 500."

Don't be a dickhead.

Enough is enough.

Kane Williamson is still a fraud.

Always gets found out against good teams.

wow so he averages less against the good teams and more against the poorer teams.

I bet that's never happened before in the history of cricket ......

your batsmen don't have to face your bowling attack or bat on green pitches like he does too

but hey its your opinion

wow so he averages less against the good teams and more against the poorer teams.

I bet that's never happened before in the history of cricket ......

your batsmen don't have to face your bowling attack or bat on green pitches like he does too

but hey its your opinion

Not my fault you can’t mow and roll grass, I just said Kane Williamson was a fraud. I wasn’t attacking him as a person, although I do find him to be like your PM a bit holier than thou, I just can’t believe he is ranked 1. It’s an outrage. Virat, Smith, Labuschagne and Azam all better. He is in the next rung down with Root, Sharma and Pukovski(who will go past him within 12 months)

What did he average in Australia on Australian Roads against our nude balls?

Not my fault you can’t mow and roll grass, I just said Kane Williamson was a fraud. I wasn’t attacking him as a person, although I do find him to be like your PM a bit holier than thou, I just can’t believe he is ranked 1. It’s an outrage. Virat, Smith, Labuschagne and Azam all better. He is in the next rung down with Root, Sharma and Pukovski(who will go past him within 12 months)

What did he average in Australia on Australian Roads against our nude balls?

well a touch under 86 in 2015 with 2 hundreds and a 50 in 3 tests. Obviously not so good the last series when he was crook and missed the last test.

Ive got no problem if you think Smith and Kohli are better . In fact I've stated the same recently. Hardly makes him a fraud though does it.
Labuschange and Azam need more time to be judged with the other 3 in my opinion.

and personally I like our pitches. They recognise the fact that there is 2 sides to cricket and that 350 is a good score. They also allow swing bowling which makes the game so much better to watch. Makes it tougher to bat against quality attacks, but hey I like that

and yes I agree re our prime minister.. she is too Holier than Thou who gets an armchair ride from our media who fawn over her. She hasnt achieved anything yet apart from the very obvious thing of listening to medical advice when covid hit. Even then they handled the closing the borders poorly( hell even the opposition parties were calling for it for some time before she acted).
I dont find Williamson to be like that at all. He's just a naturally shy, humble person

Trying to pick the current World XI. Selection is based on talent across a career, but they have to have some current form. (ie. A player may not have done as well as others lately, but if they have "runs of the board" they get a bit of leeway. But players with good records but no form get "dropped"). I actually don't think it is that hard except there is a lack of great openers at the moment (especially right handed - Markram might be the best? - so I've gone with two lefties. Warner is probably stiff. Four lefties in the top 7) and which quickies to leave out (Wagner gets in ahead of Broad, Rabada, Anderson, Hazlewood, Southee as he's a left armer and I rate him just ahead of Boult)

1. Dean Elgar (SA)
2. Tom Latham (NZ)
3. Kane Williamson (NZ- VC)
4. Virat Kohli (IND- C)
5. Steve Smith (AUS)
6. Ben Stokes (ENG)
7. Quinton de Kock (SA - WK)
8. Ravi Ashwin (IND)
9. Pat Cummins (AUS)
10. Neil Wagner (NZ)
11. Jasprit Bumrah (IND)

Babar Azam, Marnus Labuschagne and Cheteshwar Pujara unlucky but Williamson, Kohli and Smith are locks. You could have Pujara as an opener but I've tried to keep everyone in the role they have in their national team.

Trying to pick the current World XI. Selection is based on talent across a career, but they have to have some current form. (ie. A player may not have done as well as others lately, but if they have "runs of the board" they get a bit of leeway. But players with good records but no form get "dropped"). I actually don't think it is that hard except there is a lack of great openers at the moment (especially right handed - Markram might be the best? - so I've gone with two lefties. Warner is probably stiff and Karunaratne was next. Four lefties in the top 7) and which quickies to leave out (Wagner gets in ahead of Broad, Rabada, Anderson, Hazlewood, Southee as he's a left armer and I rate him just ahead of Boult)

1. Dean Elgar (SA)
2. Tom Latham (NZ)
4. Virat Kohli (IND- C)
5. Steve Smith (AUS)
6. Ben Stokes (ENG)
8. Ravi Ashwin (IND)
9. Pat Cummins (AUS)
10. Neil Wagner (NZ)
11. Jasprit Bumrah (IND)

Babar Azam, Marnus Labuschagne and Cheteshwar Pujara unlucky but Williamson, Kohli and Smith are locks. You could have Pujara as an opener but I've tried to keep everyone in the role they have in their national team.

Good side. Would maybe have Rabada ahead of Wagner but that's all really.

I agree and I love Wagner but Rabada is very classy
Could make an argument for BJ Watling too. He's a better keeper than De Kock, averages the same with the bat.It depends on if you want more explosiveness with the bat vs reliability with the gloves.
Watling very under-rated in international cricket

good side though

well a touch under 86 in 2015 with 2 hundreds and a 50 in 3 tests. Obviously not so good the last series when he was crook and missed the last test.

Ive got no problem if you think Smith and Kohli are better . In fact I've stated the same recently. Hardly makes him a fraud though does it.
Labuschange and Azam need more time to be judged with the other 3 in my opinion.

and personally I like our pitches. They recognise the fact that there is 2 sides to cricket and that 350 is a good score. They also allow swing bowling which makes the game so much better to watch. Makes it tougher to bat against quality attacks, but hey I like that

and yes I agree re our prime minister.. she is too Holier than Thou who gets an armchair ride from our media who fawn over her. She hasnt achieved anything yet apart from the very obvious thing of listening to medical advice when covid hit. Even then they handled the closing the borders poorly( hell even the opposition parties were calling for it for some time before she acted).
I dont find Williamson to be like that at all. He's just a naturally shy, humble person

I much prefer your pitches too, I’m not being serious mate, relax.
He’s an absolute gun in all forms and I genuinely look forward to playing you in Test Cricket on those pitches (they do tend to turn pretty white when we arrive historically though). Just find it a tad bizarre he’s ranked 1 given he averages 8 less than Smith.

Better one day record obviously and your second greatest cricketer ever.

I don’t agree at all that cricket is played by a lot if blokes with mental illness. On what basis do u have that opinion? Who in the current Australian team do I think might have a mental illness?

the obvious ones?

Warner (psychopath, bully, sociopath)
Smith (spectrum)
Labuschagne (spectrum)
Pukovski (admitted depression, didn’t he?)

I much prefer your pitches too, I’m not being serious mate, relax.
He’s an absolute gun in all forms and I genuinely look forward to playing you in Test Cricket on those pitches (they do tend to turn pretty white when we arrive historically though). Just find it a tad bizarre he’s ranked 1 given he averages 8 less than Smith.

Better one day record obviously and your second greatest cricketer ever.

the obvious ones?

Warner (psychopath, bully, sociopath)
Smith (spectrum)
Labuschagne (spectrum)
Pukovski (admitted depression, didn’t he?)

Warner may come across like an ordinary bloke and as sharp as a bowling ball, but psychopath/sociopath is probably a bit of a stretch. And being on the autism spectrum is definitely not a mental illness.

Trying to pick the current World XI. Selection is based on talent across a career, but they have to have some current form. (ie. A player may not have done as well as others lately, but if they have "runs of the board" they get a bit of leeway. But players with good records but no form get "dropped"). I actually don't think it is that hard except there is a lack of great openers at the moment (especially right handed - Markram might be the best? - so I've gone with two lefties. Warner is probably stiff and Karunaratne was next. Four lefties in the top 7) and which quickies to leave out (Wagner gets in ahead of Broad, Rabada, Anderson, Hazlewood, Southee as he's a left armer and I rate him just ahead of Boult)

1. Dean Elgar (SA)
2. Tom Latham (NZ)
4. Virat Kohli (IND- C)
5. Steve Smith (AUS)
6. Ben Stokes (ENG)
8. Ravi Ashwin (IND)
9. Pat Cummins (AUS)
10. Neil Wagner (NZ)
11. Jasprit Bumrah (IND)

Can’t leave out Marnus or Babar, reckon we’d blow you off the park! ;)

1. Kane Williamson (NZ)
2. Babar Azam (Pak)
3. Marnus Labuschagne (AUS)
4. Virat Kohli (IND- C)
5. Steve Smith (AUS)
6. Ben Stokes (ENG)
7. Rhishard Pant (IND - WK)
8. Ravi Ashwin (IND)
9. Pat Cummins (AUS)
10. Kagisa Rabada (SA)
11. Jasprit Bumrah (IND)

Can’t leave out Marnus or Babar, reckon we’d blow you off the park! ;)

1. Kane Williamson (NZ)
2. Babar Azam (Pak)
3. Marnus Labuschagne (AUS)
4. Virat Kohli (IND- C)
5. Steve Smith (AUS)
6. Ben Stokes (ENG)
7. Rhishard Pant (IND - WK)
8. Ravi Ashwin (IND)
9. Pat Cummins (AUS)
10. Kagisa Rabada (SA)
11. Jasprit Bumrah (IND)

When did Williamson and Babar become openers? You must have helped pick last years AA team.