cricketer's you have met

I've been lucky enough to meet nearly all of the current side.

Nice:
Tugga
Bich
Hoggy
Pidgey
Boof
Symo
Campbell
Dizzy

Pricks:
Junior
Warney
Punta
Bevo
Blewey
MacGilla

Gilly an absolute legend, have never met a sportsperson who comes close to how friendly and down to Earth he was. He stood around singing autographs for almost an hour and I was lucky enough to have a bit of a chat with him, top bloke. Won't meet many better.

I went to see them train one afternoon. And there was a little kid that kept saying "Mark Waugh, Mark Waugh." The kid was completely in awe of his hero and Mark turned around and practically yelled... "Look, just leave us alone we're trying to train. I'll sign autographs later." ...he never did sign autographs either. And another time I met him, I asked him to sign something for me and he acted like it was a big problem, rolled his eyes, signed it so looked like a two year old had scribbled on the page, then shoved it back in my hands and walked off. A few of my friends have had the same sort of experience with him as well.

I usually stay clear of hassling footy or cricket players or so called "celebrities" for autographs. I don't want to bother them or don't want their autograph.
The only time i've got something signed, was a few days ago when I got punter's book signed. I felt sorry for him, as he was looking bored as hell, waiting for someone to buy his book (and i followed his career closely as a cricket fan). And hey, I'll give the book to my mates little brother for christmas.

I hate people that just want their autograph just because he/she is on tv or plays footy or whatever. True fans are ok, it's just when people crack the s**ts when he/she gets told to f**k off because their hassling them.

Used to drink at the Cathedral Hotel which is just oppostie Adelaide Oval

One night the Redbacks squad were in and we had a skulling race against them. 10 a side, teams on different sides of the bar.

They kicked our arse.

Harrity Mcintyre et al were there. They were all absolutely smashed including the coach.

Ponting - Quiet bloke but pretty cool
Warney - deadset legend, he is a top bloke. Invited us into the members changerooms one time to watch a PM XI's game
Watson - Like Punter i guess
Hoggy - top bloke, really easy to get along with
Dizzy - Funny
Pigeon - SAme as Dizzy
Bevo - Fairly up himself
Tassie Tigers team - Bunch of legends always willing to have a talk
Slats - Top bloke again
Katich - ****er

Originally posted by swans_supporter
Ponting - Quiet bloke but pretty cool
Warney - deadset legend, he is a top bloke. Invited us into the members changerooms one time to watch a PM XI's game
Watson - Like Punter i guess
Hoggy - top bloke, really easy to get along with
Dizzy - Funny
Pigeon - SAme as Dizzy
Bevo - Fairly up himself
Tassie Tigers team - Bunch of legends always willing to have a talk
Slats - Top bloke again
Katich - ****er
Destroys the credibility of everything else you've said.

Australia
Glenn McGrath - Share my birthdate with him, great bloke, stood around chatting with me about the wonders of being an Aquarian. :D
Shane Warne
Ricky Ponting
Damien Martyn
Steve Waugh
Adam Gilchrist
Andrew Bichel

England
Ronnie Irani :D
Owais Sha
Nasser Hussain :rolleyes: :mad:
Andrew Caddick - "The bus is leaving, unless you're walking!"
James Anderson
MICHAEL VAUGHAN! :D:D

Have any of you people actually met these guys? Or, did you just see them train, or get them to sign an autograph for you? Like, are there any stories here about playing with these guys, or having a meal with them, most of them are, yeah, i went to watch them train and Mark Waugh swore, so, he is a ****er.

Met a heap of cricketers
but the best story is thus

Nearly had a punch on with Viv Richards at a club function a few years back, he didnt like question i asked him during Q & A time and came over to me afterwards to discuss it further, we were both a bit sloshed and I told him he was talking **** and walked off turning my back on him, that got him right ****ed off and he chased me outside and started to talk about himself in third person ie" Viv doent like people doing that and Viv is ****ed of with you".

What prompted me to do what I did next I can never quite understand but having a verbal with Viv Richards one of the greatest cricketers of all time and a belly full of **** probably spurred on the balls a little and I basically told him to go get Fcuked and he was an idiot in much more colorful language.

Luckily by this stage a couple of the bigger blokes at the club came out to break it up and Viv was ushered inside whilst I wandered off not wanting to cause anymore trouble.
He is one scary bastard staring you down i was ****ting myself, luckily the guys came out, mind you they did it after watching the verbals and letting me sweat for a bit.

I was a bit of a hero at the club for while, got word from some other guys that know him through various cricket links and they reckon he is a fricking madmen and it wasnt out of charachter for him to start crap like that.

Originally posted by fearlessone77
Met a heap of cricketers
but the best story is thus

Nearly had a punch on with Viv Richards at a club function a few years back, he didnt like question i asked him during Q & A time and came over to me afterwards to discuss it further, we were both a bit sloshed and I told him he was talking **** and walked off turning my back on him, that got him right ****ed off and he chased me outside and started to talk about himself in third person ie" Viv doent like people doing that and Viv is ****ed of with you".

What prompted me to do what I did next I can never quite understand but having a verbal with Viv Richards one of the greatest cricketers of all time and a belly full of **** probably spurred on the balls a little and I basically told him to go get Fcuked and he was an idiot in much more colorful language.

Luckily by this stage a couple of the bigger blokes at the club came out to break it up and Viv was ushered inside whilst I wandered off not wanting to cause anymore trouble.
He is one scary bastard staring you down i was ****ting myself, luckily the guys came out, mind you they did it after watching the verbals and letting me sweat for a bit.

I was a bit of a hero at the club for while, got word from some other guys that know him through various cricket links and they reckon he is a fricking madmen and it wasnt out of charachter for him to start crap like that.

Sounds as though you were lucky, apparently he is a bit of an animal, and he is a big unit as well.

Warney- He is actually a top bloke!
Gilly- Probably the nicest bloke I've ever met.
Hoggy- See Warney.
Slater- Tosspot.
Healy- See Slater.

Destroys the credibility of everything else you've said

I am going on from who I have met and experienced and Slater was a top bloke at the time regardless of what the media beats up.

Also Sunil Gavasker is a legend. I got into the commentary box when India were over last, the day when Langer got a double ton and punter 144*. All the boys in the box are champions, sunil ecspecially. He talked to us for ages and even went to get us guest passes for the next days play, but the Aussies wrapped it up that arvo :mad:

I've met most of the current WA team and they're all top blokes(espescially Big Jo and Hoggy). Also Justin Langer, Gilly, Geoff Marsh, Boonie, Merv,Michael Holding and Dennis Lillee. I haven't actually had a bad experience with meeting any cricketers yet.

Originally posted by swans_supporter
I am going on from who I have met and experienced and Slater was a top bloke at the time regardless of what the media beats up.
Well he must have been going through a phase (when you met him).

i've met ricky ponting on a number of occasions and as my dad is in the media has interveiwed him on a number of occasions (great bloke)

have also been coached by Damien Fleming and
John Scholes (R.I.P)