Cringe-O-Rama

• Thread starter Thread starter Big Kev

Interesting point I heard on the radio tonight.

What if Slim Dusty had come out wearing a One Nation tee-shirt?

What's the diff between that and Garrett? Bugger all, but it's on the wrong side of the trendy politically correct issue.

Garrett is just a publicity seeking leech trying to save his flagging career, he said in 1986 that Jabiluka was a place where buffalos went to shit - now it's god's own territory. Says alot about the shallowness of the man.

Peter Garrett is an Aussie legend!

And so is Rick Burch. For having the guts to ask the 'Oils' to perform in the closing ceremony. He must have known that they would make a political statement, because that's all they do.

Peter Garrett and his band have their opinions and they should be applauded for speaking their mind to the rest of the world. I reckon that even Bruce McAvaney enjoyed it. (Not to sure about Bruce Ruxton though)

What sought of party in Sydney wouldn't include Drag Queens? and lets be honest, no-vody really noticed them, as they were pretty close to the end.

I was surprised that Kylie didn't sing Better the Devil you know around the Drag Queens, but as it was, Dancing Queen got the biggest cheer of the night. Probably because it was the only one that the International athletes and spectators knew!

I concur with others, that the Arse shot was priceless.

Despite going on a bit long, the highlight of the night was Rick Burch and his Blow up Kangaroo getting run over by the Lawnmower man. And as Will Anderson said yesterday, it showed the true Aussie talent of being able to tear apart a vehicle in 15 seconds.

Brilliant show, loved every minute of it.

As Juan said "Orsy, Orsy, Orsy"

Oi Oi Oi.

Why is it wrong for Midnight Oil to have 'SORRY' on there outfits,yet it was okay for Athletes at the closing ceremony to have an Aboriginal flag.

Wasn't it SOCOG who choose Cathy [she doesn't have a last name anymore] to light the flame because they were making a political statement.

smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif

[This message has been edited by JUBJUB (edited 03 October 2000).]

"The Olympics should not be the place to push a political agenda, be it left or right."

And a footy board is the place?

Be careful with your consistency, TigerTank.

Interesting to note that in today's paper it said that both Midnight Oil & Yothu Yindi agreed to wear the 'sorry' clothes.

But Yothu Yindi declined at the last minute declined deciding that the olympics weren't the place to politicise the aborignal issue and it would do more harm than good in the long run if they did.

But the Peter Garrett ego couldn't see the same point.

And in anycase if you read some of the articles about the OCC on Yahoo, Sportsline, AP, CNN, BBC - Midnight Oil and their antics didn't even rate a mention. So what did it achieve in the end?

I thought it was fantastic. You all try and put something better together and then you can whinge and complain.

I gotta agree with big kev.

I thought the closing ceremony was pretty ordinary.

B1 & B2 were the best things on the floats.

Elle's brain is bigger than a peanut though. Give her credit. She was blessed with good looks & was smart enough to make a packet out of it. But as far as talent goes she is just something pretty to look at.

It just seemed to be a case of get anyone we think the rest of the world might know. They should have dragged Australia II around the track with Bondy in handcuffs on it. Everything else was from 1983.

Midnight Oil & Barnes shit me so I was never going to like them.

It's no big deal anyway. These things are nearly always stupid. That's why it was a suprise the Opening Ceremony was so good.

Doesn't detract from the "best games ever".

some additions could of been:

acdc- thunderstruck (or anything else really)
hunters and collectors- holy grail

and we saw that nikki girl grow up and become kylie so why not do the opposite with aussie rock, have the handover from inxs, jimmy and midnight oil to the new aussie rock gods- powderfinger

or what about having regurgitator playing their new sone crush the losers, i heard jumpin jai say he listened to that before he started his long jump final

also i hope all the americans listened closly to workin class man "did his time in vietnam, still mad at unle sam", i know its only a small reference but i think its something all australians feel pretty strongly on

Working Class Man was actually written by an American especially for a crummy American movie of the same name. Was supposed to break Jimmy in the US but the movie flopped and so did the song.

While we are on the musical part of the ceremony my thoughts. INXS - just go away as Big Kev said Hutchance is dead it's over, Oils - stop pouting Garrett and run for Parliament (again and lose) instead of forcing your thoughts on the majority, Barnesey - well atleast he sang live unlike Ms. Minogue, Amorosi and Savage Garden. So 1980's should of had Powderfinger, (Over)Killing Heidi or some band that has had a hit in the last 5 years.

If you are going to have Jimmy Barnes sing Working Class Man, why not go the whole hogg and get Ian Moss, Steve Prestwick, Don Walker et. al. together to do Khe Sahn?

Kylie did sing live - thats why she sounded so shithouse.

It was always going to be a brave call - get Kylie to sing an ABBA song - it didn't pay off.

You don't need to be an ABBA fan to realise a few things about this :

1) - ABBA songs are well crafted pop tunes that are deceptively difficult to sing

2) Annafrid and Agnetha are some the most accomplished singers pop music has ever seen.

3) Kylie dosn't even come close to these two in musical ability.

And one more thing - Scheduling INXS in that show would have been the biggest mistake - all I kept thinking of was Michael Hutchence !

hey I loved the Closing ceremony! They never are suppose to be that classy they are just suppose to be like one big party.....and basically that is what it was.
And Big Kev.....who the bloody hell cares what Americans think!??!?!?!?!?!??! Too bad you arent proud to be an aussie because the rest of us are....including the entire olympic team (oh yeah except for miss dokic)
BJ

------------------
Eagles Rock!Go Ben and Jaxon!

Molly's Hat, Ms Minogue did infact sing live. And her version of Dancing Queen isn't new. She sung it and released it as a radio single here during her last concert tour. It's a cover single that she crafted her own way, it was quicker than the original, but not overlly different from the ABBA hit. I also thought that her new single 'On a night like this' was very appropriate for the event.

I would have liked to have seen Cold Chisel sing Khe Sanh, simply for the line 'The last plane out of Sydney's almost gone'. The song on a whole is a bit political for the Olympics, (not that beds are burning and Treaty aren't) and that was probably the reason it wasn't peformed.

I have heard that The Seekers were originally going to close the games with 'The Carnival is Over' but Judith Durham broke her hip a week before the games started and they had to pull out. Slim Dusty was the replacement, but I reckon The Seekers would have been better.

Also, I'd like to know what happened to 'I am Australian' and 'I still call Australia home'. Even though they were played on every second ad, I thought they might have been involved at some stage.

Grendel,

Unfortunately, Mark Seymour singing "Holy Grail" failed dismally at the 1997 Grand Final.

Well, the song was awesome but the result of the game is history, ancient history.

gocatsgo,

The seekers???

We could also have had Dame Nellie Melba, Julie Anthony and more annoying, over bearing singers and groups but the whole point of the closing ceremony was to create a celebration type atmosphere for the athletes. Not a snooze fest!

On the whole I think both the Opening and Closing Ceremonies were excellent. I agree with the others who suggested Powderfinger should have been given a go. A song like "These Days" would have been great otherwise Mark Seymour and "Holy Grail" would also have been appropriate.

I do agree with you regarding your thoughts on Peter Garrett. Midnight Oil are Aussie icons and part of that reason is because they are not afraid to make a statement - controversial and otherwise.

By the way, I have no problem with the rest of the world seeing artists such as Savage Garden and Midnight Oil show their support for reconciliation. It would be good for the rest of the world to realise that the majority of Australian's feel the same way.

They could of had Barnsey doing Dancing Queen (I've got an mp3 of him doing it and it's 10 times better than what ABBA and Kylie ever did) and get Kylie to do Khe Sanh. Hitting the Hong Kong mattresses with the Chinese princesses - she'd be into that
wink.gif

Now we are just getting all silly and perverted - time for bed.

Sainter said: "... Savage Garden and Midnight Oil show their support for reconciliation. It would be good for the rest of the world to realise that the majority of Australian's feel the same way."

Have you seen an opinion poll from a reputable company that supports this statement (if so please quote the source) OR DID YOU JUST MAKE THIS UP.

Unless you have evidence to back up such a claim then don't make it in the first place!!

Maybe most of your chardonnay sipping friends who have never left the sanctuary of their know-nothing cafe world support this particular view. There are a lot of people living in rural and regional Australia that don't.

When Politician Garrett says: "... it belongs to them, let's give it back" he is not talking about YOUR suburbs, he is talking about OTHER people's farms or mines. No wonder he isn't opposed to giving it back ... it's not his to give!!!

Maybe there should be reconciliation between aboriginal and non-aboriginal Australians, but self-righteous w***ers like Garrett don't help by cheap point-scoring at an event that is supposed to unite Australia, black and white - Left and right. Yeah, shoving it down our throats is really going to make people feel warm and fuzzy about reconciliation
rolleyes.gif
!!!

At least Yothu Yindi made their point with dignity...

"Maybe there should be reconciliation between aboriginal and non-aboriginal Australians,..."

???

What "maybe", TigerTank? Are you arguing terms? Or against the concept itself?

Ok I've bit my tongue for long enough Tiger Wank and all your other unregistered responces. Here's some facts for you dickhead:
Every I repeat every Aussie Premier, and that includes the arch conservative Richard Court, has appologised to the aboriginals re. the Stolen Generation. Howard is the one exception. This is not a marginal or minority view, as 500,000 people of many different backgrounds showed by walking across Sydney Harbour bridge.

Take some of your own advice Wank and cease from discussing political issues on a footy site, or just **** off all together your hardly an interesting contributor. Come to think of it have you posted a footy topic?

Don't forget to tune into your hero the Bolt today on 3LO. He'll be frothing at the mouth to get into this topic, He missed out in his last column 'cause all he spoke about was the opening ceremony he he he.

Sorry for my tone but I get a bit pissed off when forcibly stealing babies because of their skin colour is described as a "Chardonay set issue". They never served wine in the caffeteria, at the meat works in which I worked for 2 years.

Cheers

Just so easy to slip into Talkback Radio mode isn't it Tiger Tank ?

Why do people such as yourself continually refer to people like sainter as chardonnay sipping cafe dwellers ?

Don't you think this cliched stereotype is worn out ?

Why do you insist on prefacing every criticism of a liberal viewpoint with a cheap, denigrating insult of a most personal nature.

You don't agree with sainter, and have a different view on the whole 'Reconciliation' issue - thats fine mate - I don't have a problem with that - but why do you insist on playing the man and not the ball ?

I doubt very much whether sainter wears a black skivvy, or hangs out in cafes talking about left wing causes, or has even drunk one single glass of chardonnay. I know he most definitely not an elitist - he barracks for StKlida after all.

If you want to debate the issue fine - lets debate the issues - but don't go around slanging off cliched personal insults that is just re-gurgitated bile straight from the mouths of the Talkback Radio and tabloid press bully boys.

Your cheap personal shots just drag you down mate - and make it hgard for the rest of us to take your arguements seriously.

Hawkforce ...

No I was not arguing against the concept of 'reconciliation' as such. "Maybe" was not the correct word. I was simply stating the the Olympics was neither the time nor place.

BSA ...

I didn't think the term 'Chardonnay-set' was offensive ... I added it for colour only, just as you used the phrase "talk-back radio mode". And I didn't direct the comment directly at Sainter, I was just hinted that he is basing his view of the world merely on his close circle of friends.

Wouldn't you agree that the previous post by RICE80SF as considerably more offensive than mine?

RICE80SF,

You disagree with me? Fine.

Do you spit such bile at everyone you disagree with?

Are you so small-minded and fanatical that you can't rationally argue a point without resorting to phrases like "dickhead" and "**** off?

I have many friends who are left-of-centre and I have no problem having a civil discussion with them. But you are just plain ignorant, and an offensive bully. Don't pretend I'm your only target.

As for your comments on my lack of football posts ... do some research before you make false accusations. Or perhaps you did your research and you were deliberately peddling a lie?

As for your comment about me being unwelcome here ... that's for others to decide, not a bad-tempered, vicious lout like you.

And I might add that NOT ONE OF THE UNREGISTERED RESPONSES ON THIS THREAD IS MINE.

They are not written in the same style ... nor do they have the same tone. Others should prove otherwise or shut up!

This discussion/thread was on the Olympic Closing Ceremony and all I was attempting to do was comment on an aspect of the Olympic Closing Ceremony I didn't like. There's no footy at the moment - does that mean that all dialogue should cease?

HAWKFORCE and BSA, please feel free to correct errors in fact or tone in my posts.

RICE80SF, I'm not in the least bit interested in what you think. Don't bother responding!

I've got no problem with you giving your view but you go on and on and on, then give some unregistered gutless ones (you did not deny this). "POLITICS CHEAPENS SPORT" your words not mine.

I didn't accuse you of not posting footy topics, it was a question as I can't remember any, maybe they wern't memorable. Perhaps you can recant some of your footy posting highlights.

Terribly sorry about the profanities, a "vicious lout" (if using dick and **** constitutes being a vicious lout then Australia's in real trouble),just can't help himself at times. Went to the wrong school I guess.

You degrade a regular fair-minded poster like Sainter with your cliched clap trap and expect respect, it's a two way street buddy.

Cheers, oh morally superior one
biggrin.gif