Crisis Talks

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

1. I'm fairly sure that the likes of Caro and Hutchinson get info from various sources, rather than pulling it out of their arses (though the sources may have)

2. After yesterday, I'm willing to believe it if it gives an indication about why we came close to a 200 point loss.

Apparently a heap of media are all slinking around the club waiting for some blood to be spilled.

Lowest form really, Hutchy would be digging through some dumpster out the back of the club.

Mate, Hutchy was one that said we would be top 4 this year. No one is gonna believe anything he says.

I thought Stynes was overseas

Not sure about overseas but Gary Lyon said he was "away", but as said Bruce just reported breaking news during the pies v bombers game that Jimmy & McLarty just left Stynes has to go meet the rest of the board.

Expect news today

Not sure how true it is, but someone on Demonology has said an announcement will be made at 7pm tonight!!

My prediction is Schwab definitely gone, Bailey and Connolly probably gone.

Not sure how true it is, but someone on Demonology has said an announcement will be made at 7pm tonight!!

Hang on, hasn't Brian Royal been our coach for the last 5 and a half hours? :rolleyes:

No offence, but I'll take the news when it arrives. Still have no idea why Connelly and Schwab are in the gun beyond "Jim doesn't like them anymore."

Much like anything that has to do with the Melbourne Football Club, this is going to get a whole lot worse before it gets any better:o

7pm sounds like a weird time to make an announcement. Would have thought 12pm tomorrow would suit better, but that's just me.

maybe garry lyon wants to take on a job in the footy department, who knows i dont really no who to nominate for the ceo or footy department cuz thats not really my area of expertise

You know what Garry likes to do? Kick the club when it's down and do nothing to help. He's seen as a "key figure" for the club but all he does is pot the club and do nothing constructive. Schwarz isn't much better - all talk and no action.

Edit: Let me clarify that I don't expect him to coach but rather be proactive and help the club either find a solution or change the culture.

if all 3 are gone who would you like to replace them with?

Good point, we can't remove all 3 at once without others to step into the roles.

Gerard Whateley on Fox sports news just then said he thinks the coach will go now, others are saying they're source say the other 2 will go now, but either way they'll get rid or A or B and they'll deal with the others at the end of the season.

He was also asked today or tomorrow, he said most likely tomorrow

Wouldn't surprise me. Pretty strong rumour of a similar thing happening at Carlton during the dying days of the Pagan era. There were games against norf and brisbane where it was obvious half the side just didn't want to play, and went around at 60%.

Pointedly, most/all of the players responsible were moved on pretty quickly after that (most of them were rubbish anyway, to be fair). Bottom line is, you just can't decide not to put in and get away with it.

The bottom line is dees are too small, lack key posiyion players.The recruiters are the problem, key posiyion players win finals etc.Sacking Bailey wont make a srap of difference.I rekon sacking the coach just does not address the problem.Get some big fellas like cloke, dawes, etc

Ive got the inside scoop guys, here it is:

-Brad Green will captain coach us for the rest of the year, he wants to out do big Karl. Nicholson will be dropped this week for ignoring Brad chipscabbing in the goal square, selfish players, Brad cant stand them.
-Jared Rivers is going to be our CEO, you might say numbers arent really his thing but neither is stopping his direct oppenent. Jared is awesome.
-Aaron Davey is now in charge of the football department, bruise free football department, any bruises wont be tollerated from now on.

Great leaders at our club, always stepping up when required.

Problems solved, we win heaps now. :thumbsu:

You know what Garry likes to do? Kick the club when it's down and do nothing to help. He's seen as a "key figure" for the club but all he does is pot the club and do nothing constructive. Schwarz isn't much better - all talk and no action.

Edit: Let me clarify that I don't expect him to coach but rather be proactive and help the club either find a solution or change the culture.

hopefully this was the straw that broke the camels back in relation to garry and sitting on the fence

damian barrett did say on the footy show this morning that garry is looking at becoming more involved in the running of the club and JB seemed to agree, and you can bet that between the 2 they would have a fair idea of what Gaz is planning to do

i dont think he has the balls to coach because currently he can say what ever he wants as an analyst and people listen mainly because its after the fact, but as a coach you have to back it up

Ive got the inside scoop guys, here it is:

-Brad Green will captain coach us for the rest of the year, he wants to out do big Karl. Nicholson will be dropped this week for ignoring Brad chipscabbing in the goal square, selfish players, Brad cant stand them.
-Jared Rivers is going to be our CEO, you might say numbers arent really his thing but neither is stopping his direct oppenent. Jared is awesome.
-Aaron Davey is now in charge of the football department, bruise free football department, any bruises wont be tollerated from now on.
-Colin Sylvia is now in charge of player development as he will always get the best out of himself and everyone around him

Great leaders at our club, always stepping up when required.

Problems solved, we win heaps now. :thumbsu:

oh and russell robertson has been asked back to the club to take charge of the backline whilst alistair nicholson has been given charge of the forwards

Resigning myself to the fact that rightly or wrongly we will sack 3 people by the end of the season:

CEO - Someone like Stuart Fox (who was 2IC at Geelong then became CEO at Hawthorn) who was rumoured to be our first choice when Schwab got the job. A successful business person who has a sports administration experience and has had a role in an AFL club.

Footy manager - Someone with AFL experience in coaching as well as sports science knowledge/game development knowledge. Personally I'd love to stay away from a Melbourne person. Neil Craig would be the dream obviously. Daniher and Balme seem to be working well at West Coast and Geelong respectively.

Coach - this is an easy one, we know the names who are out there. Roos and Malthouse are gone, but Eade may be available. He'll have learnt a great deal from this year at the dogs. Otherwise I'd pick from these names - Mark Neeld, Leon Cameron, Brendan McCartney, Ken Hinkley. All senior assistants with experience in successful environments. The latter 3 have the advantage of working at 2 clubs. Neeld seems a great operator who set up the leagues best backline and then put the icing on the leagues premier midfield. It will be extremely important to get quality assistant coaches around these guys.

Football director - this role needs to be filled by someone of great character, who can objectively report to the board without having undue (or really any) influence on the department. Can Garry Lyon take this role?

All this is going to cost big bucks, but we can't skimp on recruiting/fitness/sports science/medical spending either. Jimmy has to work the PR campaign of his life. Our players must know that once this is all sorted that they ultimately caused all this, that it's been done for them, and works will count for nothing anymore.

RCoach - this is an easy one, we know the names who are out there. Roos and Malthouse are gone, but Eade may be available. He'll have learnt a great deal from this year at the dogs. Otherwise I'd pick from these names - Mark Neeld, Leon Cameron, Brendan McCartney, Ken Hinkley. All senior assistants with experience in successful environments. The latter 3 have the advantage of working at 2 clubs. Neeld seems a great operator who set up the leagues best backline and then put the icing on the leagues premier midfield. It will be extremely important to get quality assistant coaches around these guys.

No love for Brenton Sanderson?

What's wrong with Schwab? Very experienced CEO

Schwab has a great reputation as a CEO, in terms of the actual job requirements.

Unfortunately he also has a reputation for meddling in the football department and really micro-managing players and areas.

Ask Freo fans.

I think this will be my last season as a MFC member.

I am sick of the lot of them. Schwab atleast had brains which is more than you can say for our board or leadership group.

I really just don't care what happens to this club anymore.

Those that played yesterday should be made to stand in a circle with Stynes in the middle and one at a time explain whether they "cared" and why. There's some lessons to be learnt, for sure, but things can only improve from here.

Mate, Jim doesn't need to go through that. He has his own issues at present and I really wish he didn't have to go through all this crap and put all his focus on his health.

It's a disgrace that it has come to this and he has been put in this predicament whilst so ill.

Schwab has a great reputation as a CEO, in terms of the actual job requirements.

Unfortunately he also has a reputation for meddling in the football department and really micro-managing players and areas.

Ask Freo fans.
It would be a shame to lose him because of that, all we need is a senior coach that can tell him to piss off at times.

His job as an actual CEO has been tremendous.