kuepper

Croad & McPharlin Done Deal

By Shane Richmond
Date: 9/10/2001

Fremantle have pulled off a trading coup which will see two of Hawthorns rising stars headed to Fremantle. Hawthorn, Fremantle, Trent Croad & Luke McPharlin have all come to agreed to a deal to get the two players in purple, red, green and white next season.

Fremantle have given up draft selections 1, 20 and 37 leaving them with the number 4 pick and number 26 pick as their low draft picks. In exchange they will pick up two of the most exciting talents in football.

Croad is believed to be getting around $400,000 a season to play with Fremantle. He announced his intention to leave the Hawks last week after the Hawthorn hierarchy was believed to be offering him around to other clubs as a trade.

The Croad\McPharlin deal comes on top of trades which have already seen the Dockers get "The Wizard", Jeff Farmer coming to Fremantle in 2002.

Hawthorn are expected to use the number one selection to snare Victorian Luke Ball. Fremantle are likely to take whoever is left from Graham Polak and Ashley Sampi after the Eagles take their number 3 pick.

Trent Croad was picked up by the Hawks at number 3 in the 1997 draft. Since then he has played 84 games for the Hawks and kicked 80 goals. He has been used in key positions at both ends of the grounds. He is 21 years old.

Luke McPharlin, from East Fremantle, was picked up at number 10 in the 1999 draft. He debuted last season and has only managed 12 games largely due to injuries this season. McPharlin isn't expected to be running until some time in January due to a groin injury but should be value for money once he gets going.

Great new for Freo suppoerters, and Hitman ... what was that you were saying? ;)

Bloody oath. I can hear Sabre telling us WC supporters where we finished in relation to the dockers now! :eek: Oh well, at least we get first crack at the WA talent, thats of course they haven't traded the picks...:rolleyes:

I'm too upset to put together a proper post right now. Needless to say I think we are a making a mistake.

However, Luke Ball come on down! :) Poor bloke - can you imagine the pressure he is going to be under next year, especially from Hawthorn supporters? Even worse if he chooses to play school football next year.

Originally posted by Savatage
Congratulations :)

Cheers bro - certainly with the addition of Trent and Jeff alone, our squad has been strenfthed considerably, our CEO C Schwab has done a fantasic job this week, and am looking forward to seeing a couple of other deals closed in the next few hours ... and enjoy Heath Black next year ... he's a goer. :)

Originally posted by kuepper

Cheers bro - certainly with the addition of Trent and Jeff alone, our squad has been strenfthed considerably, our CEO C Schwab has done a fantasic job this week, and am looking forward to seeing a couple of other deals closed in the next few hours ... and enjoy Heath Black next year ... he's a goer. :)

Cheers to you too- and we will enjoy Heath, he's a gun!

This is great news!

I can't believe it, we pick up a couple of top shelf players and still retain a top shelf draft pick.:)

Well done Freo, bad luck Hawthorn although I think Luke Ball will be the best midfielder in the draft for a long time, but they did have the same raps on Travis Johnson!

I said this a long time ago, Cameron Schwab has an astute football brain and will be the best thing ever for the Fremantle Football Club.

I can finally see a future at Freo:confused: :confused: .

well you guys have done well, Croad can be anything, and McPharlin if he gets over his injury may be just as good .... at least the Hawks did well getting those three draft picks, could still end up being a win/win deal, considering you guys would of got McPharlin for nothing through the draft if we didnt trade .... Good Luck to Croady, hes a good kid

YOU BLOODY BEAUTY!!!

Finally Fremantle gain some ground in the trading game. Is Cameron Schwab the messiah? Or are the Hawks hierachy on drugs? Who knows, all we know for sure is the Dockers have pulled off a recruiting coup.

:D :D :D :D :D :D

The one thing that has made me happy the trade went through is the strength of character shown by Peter Schwab.

The board (in particular Dicker and Dermie) and the supporters didn't want it to happen, but Schwabby and the coaching staff stood up for what they believed in.

I have no idea if it will be a correct decision, I'm still wary. However if Schwab had backed down it would have meant he had lost the faith of the board, and could have resulted in the board influencing other decisions down the track.

I think the players will have respect for Schwab and the way he stood firm. And I'm very much looking forward to Luke Ball DOMINATING from next season!!

christ what a mistake...i have no idea why Hawthorn would do that deal at all.....what the hell is going on down at Glenferrie???

Next you will hear that daniel Chick has been traded for Brayden Lyle

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
And I'm very much looking forward to Luke Ball DOMINATING from next season!!

Not too likely. Kids tend to take a little while to develop.

So the hawks now have picks 1, 20 and 37 - along with 16 and 32. Croady, McPharlin and Rock are gone, so at least 2 other players will go to make way for 5 top picks in 2001. Unless the hawks have a secret deal for some of those picks. Looks like we'll stay top 4 for 2002 and dominate from 2003 on.

Originally posted by Dave

True Dave ... may be wishful thinking but i still reckon we did ok getting the #1, #4 and #26 draft picks ........... McPharlin was going regardless, so in essence we gave up Croady for those three, if Nick Holland stands up next season we should cover Croads loss alright ....... like i said wishful thinking perhaps

Absolutely, with the other picks that you have it's not a bad deal from Hawthrons perspective at all. Though my sister in law will be shattered :eek:

Originally posted by Dave

Yeah, Dave....I meant to say DOMINATING....the APS School League. ;)

Chances are he will be playing a lot more games for Xavier than Hawthorn next season - I don't think that will make many Hawthorn members happy if that occurs.

Originally posted by BUBBALOUIS
True Dave ... may be wishful thinking but i still reckon we did ok getting the #1, #4 and #26 draft picks ........... McPharlin was going regardless, so in essence we gave up Croady for those three, if Nick Holland stands up next season we should cover Croads loss alright ....... like i said wishful thinking perhaps

*IF* you had got those picks you would have been doing well, but you didnt!

Picks 1 20 and 36 wwas the final deal - so Freo keeps it's #4 pick and first pick in the pre season draft ...

Hawthorn finished equal third this year, with no contribution from Luke McPharlin and precious little from Trent Croad.

Cap space for the resigning of Daniel Chick and Jonathan Hay. Luke Ball at No 1. Four more exciting youngsters to add to one of the league's youngest, fittest and best lists.

Let me know when I'm supposed to start crying.

Good luck Trent, Luke. We'll miss you. But not much.

Originally posted by kuepper

*IF* you had got those picks you would have been doing well, but you didnt!

Picks 1 20 and 36 wwas the final deal - so Freo keeps it's #4 pick and first pick in the pre season draft ...

Yep your right ... look kuepper you guys have done well, so be happy .... i still think we got a fair deal with the #1 pick being a bonus, remember initially Fremantle were only offering pick 4 ...... So be happy, for your sake i hope Jeff Farmer doesnt sook his way through another season, McPharlin actually gets out of rehab and plays a game, and Croady doesnt fumble and drop chest marks :D

Well, it's all done now.

Good luck to Croady-you've left me with some great memories. Good luck to SuperLuke-I hope you live up to your potential.

Hawthorn has taken a risk but it might pay off. Remember drafting McPharlin was seen as a risk in the first place. Drafting Salmon and Rehn was seen as a risk.

I'm hoping the gamble does come off. Kids do take time to develop but look at Greene and Lonie. I am totally stoked at how far they both have come in a very short amount of time.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Hawthorn finished equal third this year, with no contribution from Luke McPharlin and precious little from Trent Croad.

Cap space for the resigning of Daniel Chick and Jonathan Hay. Luke Ball at No 1. Four more exciting youngsters to add to one of the league's youngest, fittest and best lists.

Let me know when I'm supposed to start crying.

Good luck Trent, Luke. We'll miss you. But not much.

What he said.

Believe it or not, i'm more worried about McPharlin. If he gets fit he could be anything. Croad will either stay at his current level or improve greatly. After 80 games you would think he would've improved..... Sorry Dockers, not trying to sound bitter. On face value it's a very good trade for you guys, well done. :)

Surely Luke Ball won't be playing school football! Although Tim Clarke had the year off in 2000..... Oh well, we'll figure it out.

GO HAWKS!