Cronulla. Pride

Shopping... at the beach???

You should be rallying against all racism, or are you saying only aussies are racist? You should also be rallying against all protests that turn to violence, I didn't see you posting your outrage at the people at G20....

To the first questtion yes, aren't there any shops or restaurants on the street the rally was. semed to me there was on the news footage.

I have never rallied against racism, your point?

Come on monk, you read ALL my posts, I said I was angry at the idiots who caused violence at that rally & the S11 rallies.

Now how about actually contributing to a thread on here & give your opinion, instead of just mine, maybe then you won't miss so much other content. :rolleyes:

The funny thing that came out of this Cronulla incident, is that us white Australians are viewed as racist for retaliating. And, the Lebanese are viewed as the victims.

ROFL!

I was watching a 60 minutes special afterwards. The Aussies in the audience had an attitude of conciliation. They were talking about how the anger was on both sides. On the other hands, the Lebs just talked about how they were victims.

They also had Jason Stevens in the audience. He is a Christian that played for the Sharks. He was trying to engage some Leb boxer in a concilitory conversation. But the boxer just had his arms folded and looked forward. Maybe the lack of a concilitory attitude it is a muslim thing that sees the world as the enemy is evil, and one that should not be forgiven. (Christianity has the concept of forgiveness.) Otherwise, it might be the media's fault for choosing one side at fault in a blue. Either way, when one side is so assured of the fact that it is right, it doesn't instill a great deal of optimism that all will be well in the future.

To the first questtion yes, aren't there any shops or restaurants on the street the rally was. semed to me there was on the news footage.

So people just decided to go shopping on the day a massive rally was held? I'm pretty sure you've said previously that people wouldn't have been there for any reason other than the rally.

I have never rallied against racism, your point?

You know what I meant by rally, as in speak up against.

Come on monk, you read ALL my posts, I said I was angry at the idiots who caused violence at that rally & the S11 rallies.

I've never seen you speak up against the violence at the S11/G20 rallies.

Now how about actually contributing to a thread on here & give your opinion, instead of just mine, maybe then you won't miss so much other content. :rolleyes:

I contribute to threads and give my opinion all the time, maybe if you actually had a look you could see.

I agree entirely.

Crunulla is so over-rated its not funny.

And declaring it a 'national disgrace' is a travesty, a complete misrepresentation and very dangerous.

The politicised morons in this country need to put the event into perspective. A few people were punched, a women had her hijab pulled of, BIG DEAL!!!

You must have seen different news reports to me. And my best guess is that you don't live in Sydney.

I was watching a 60 minutes special afterwards. The Aussies in the audience had an attitude of conciliation. They were talking about how the anger was on both sides. On the other hands, the Lebs just talked about how they were victims.

They also had Jason Stevens in the audience. He is a Christian that played for the Sharks. He was trying to engage some Leb boxer in a concilitory conversation. But the boxer just had his arms folded and looked forward. Maybe the lack of a concilitory attitude it is a muslim thing that sees the world as the enemy is evil, and one that should not be forgiven. (Christianity has the concept of forgiveness.) Otherwise, it might be the media's fault for choosing one side at fault in a blue. Either way, when one side is so assured of the fact that it is right, it doesn't instill a great deal of optimism that all will be well in the future.

islam has the concept of forgiveness as well. just its a cultural thing. as for what happened in cronulla it just to shows the troublemaker lebs are only in sydney. we have people of lebanese descent here in perth and theyre very friendly and cheerful people. the little ********s who act like hardcore gangsters are the ones that need to be dealt with.

The funny thing that came out of this Cronulla incident, is that us white Australians are viewed as racist for retaliating. And, the Lebanese are viewed as the victims.

ROFL!
1. The lebs who attacked the lifesavers was not racially motivated. Just Lebs being Lebs.

2. The mob gathering at Cronulla was racial. Dispicable.

It's hard to comment when you have no knowledge of Sydney and have never come into contact with any Lebanese.

However, the day certainly got out of hand and pictures of drunk blokes in an Australian flag chasing and bashing innocent people were sickening. I don't care about the catalyst, that was really disgusting to watch, broadcast around the world and was a disgrace to those involved.

Pride in Australia should have had absolutely nothing to do with the day at all.

Those Asians and Islanders and other wogs weren't there to go shopping;) Rightly or wrongly they were there because they were sick of Lebs and their anti social behaviour.

IMO The issue really is:

Mum and Dad come from a different culture & religion strictly enforced at home. The kids go to school in a completely differnt more free and casual world. There are massive conflicts with issues such as sex!

Sister and Mum are not permitted at business meetings, often only invited into discussion with strangers or home guests when the boss man permits which is rare.... but the kids see a differnt world at school.

They grow up and their mates have already scored ( in more ways than one), and they feel lost... so outside of the home and on the street or at the beach they act like lecherous sexmaniacs trying to prove they belong are as good and men.

Then when they behave that way in the security of a group of like minded and confused young people... the "dinky dies" reject them as tools and they feel more alienated and resort to violence

Go on tell me I'm wrong .....I have seen it!

IMO The issue really is:

Mum and Dad come from a different culture & religion strictly enforced at home. The kids go to school in a completely differnt more free and casual world. There are massive conflicts with issues such as sex!

Sister and Mum are not permitted at business meetings, often only invited into discussion with strangers or home guests when the boss man permits which is rare.... but the kids see a differnt world at school.

They grow up and their mates have already scored ( in more ways than one), and they feel lost... so outside of the home and on the street or at the beach they act like lecherous sexmaniacs trying to prove they belong are as good and men.

Then when they behave that way in the security of a group of like minded and confused young people... the "dinky dies" reject them as tools and they feel more alienated and resort to violence

I reckon you're wrong - or at least not hitting the nail on the head.

There's a theory that they don't have an affinity with this country like other immigrants. Other immigrants come here and know they're going to stay so just get on with it whereas Leb (Muslims in particular) see this as a place to stay and then go back to Lebanon. Note* this is not my theory.

I think that theory has some creedence along with their inbuilt nature - they're violent, aggressive, and ego maniacs. Their lack of respect for our different culture and their lack of respect for women also adds to the problem. It doesn't help when they've been brought up to believe how Aussie women act as promiscuous.

Lack of education doesn't help either.

There's a theory that they don't have an affinity with this country like other immigrants. Other immigrants come here and know they're going to stay so just get on with it whereas Leb (Muslims in particular) see this as a place to stay and then go back to Lebanon. Note* this is not my theory.

I think that theory has some creedence along with their inbuilt nature - they're violent, aggressive, and ego maniacs. Their lack of respect for our different culture and their lack of respect for women also adds to the problem. It doesn't help when they've been brought up to believe how Aussie women act as promiscuous.

If it is not your theory then I guess you agree with it as you propose it?

I would be interested in what basis of fact that has.. can you expand on it... how did that come to your attention?

cronriot.jpg

Yeah im heaps proud of these guys...

Seriously, ******** the shire, "God's Country" just full of right wing racist citizens. Cronulla riots were an absolute disgrace, cant believe its being debated that it wasnt. Bunch of people chanting "No More Wogs" is something to be proud of i guess? People wearing shirts with such slogans as "Ethnic Cleansing Unit" - brilliant.

IMO The issue really is:

you aint wrong. ive seen this to a few mates of mine back east. its exactly what it is. problem with some lebs they have huge egos its just a cultural thing. they think the world revolves around them and look at it now they are copping it hard core. serves them right. all those arrogant lebs need to cop a smack in the head to remind them they aint it but still there are decent lebs out there and I know that as an Australian witnessing Cronulla at the time when I was there and also hearing about the revenge attacks just made me utterly disgusted.

If it is not your theory then I guess you agree with it as you propose it?
If you re read the post you'll say I believe it has some credence along with other things.

I would be interested in what basis of fact that has.. can you expand on it... how did that come to your attention?
You really need to learn to read properly. The bit that says "theory" might point you in the right direction.

you aint wrong. ive seen this to a few mates of mine back east. its exactly what it is. problem with some lebs they have huge egos its just a cultural thing. they think the world revolves around them and look at it now they are copping it hard core. serves them right. all those arrogant lebs need to cop a smack in the head to remind them they aint it but still there are decent lebs out there and I know that as an Australian witnessing Cronulla at the time when I was there and also hearing about the revenge attacks just made me utterly disgusted.
How are they "copping it"?

Yeah im heaps proud of these guys...

Seriously, ******** the shire, "God's Country" just full of right wing racist citizens. Cronulla riots were an absolute disgrace, cant believe its being debated that it wasnt. Bunch of people chanting "No More Wogs" is something to be proud of i guess? People wearing shirts with such slogans as "Ethnic Cleansing Unit" - brilliant.

ive heard the same stuff about the shire. have friends who live there and declare it to be the best place on earth. however....

i want to believe that the protest was a march against violence, the way the lifeguards (who are doing the country a massive service) were treated etc. it started as such, but when booze comes in all hell breaks loose. then you get a minority of right wingers who have their own agenda. morons who chant "no more wogs" and ethnic cleansing unit shirts being paraded made me sick. i was thinking which ethnic group is next? stir vigorously and your get nothing but trouble.

what saddened me was that apparently khe sahn was blasted over speakers, and the national anthem sung as what looked like some sort of war chant (thats what i felt, but could very well be wrong). anyway, i love khe sahn. you could see me singing it at kareoke....yep an asian singing it verbatim. :)

i hope that we as a country have learnt something about from this. we can live together. this day opened the eyes of australians to what happens in sydney no doubt.

The day the response to ethnic violence is more ethnic violence is a sad day. Anyone who has pride that the Cronulla events happened are sad, deluded fools.

I have told you a million times not to exagerate.

You are in serious denial if you believe its a national disgrace...........what about housing and health among aboriginals........overpaid sportsmen .......politicians on the take and spending taxpayers moneys like turning a tap on........the disgrace of our heath, education and law enforcement departments, i could go on but i am sure you get the picture.

There are many more important things than some riot in cronulla where as far as i am aware no one was killed let alone seriously injured.

The blackfellas riot up in northern towns much more seriously than this trumped up one.

It was actually an international disgrace.....it probably more than any other event received coverage here in England and none of it was sympathetic to the "proud Aussie" cause. What it demonstrated was that beneath the veneer of the "lucky country" ideal whcih the Australian Government sells through its tourism ad's is an ugly side to Australians, an ugly side based on Nationalist principles. It is one thing to show suppport for a lifesaver who was bashed, but it is another to target individuals simply because of their appearance and likelihood that they are "leb's".

Sydney does have a problem with Lebanese youths. That cannot be denied. That does not justify a lynch mob heading out under the guise of "Australian pride" to make things right. The Cronulla riots underlined a growing nationalist sentiment in society and as history tells us nationalism divides communities. "White" Australian's have no more right to be here than non-white Australians and constant reference to "they don't assimilate" or "we should just send them back to where they came from" is a view that just doesn't wash.

At the end of the day, we are ALL Australian's. Just being White, driving a ute, drinking VB and all of the other stereotypes of a good Aussie don't make us Australian......what makes us Australian is the fact that as a nation, over the last 200 years we have opened our borders to many different waves of migrants from all over the world and each of those groups of migrants has taken time to add a part of their culture to Australian society. A country's culture is not set in stone. It develops and changes as the people that are part of that country change. The Aussie stereotypes are just that stereotypes....

If you re read the post you'll say I believe it has some credence along with other things.

You really need to learn to read properly. The bit that says "theory" might point you in the right direction.

Excuse me but

You say it * is not your theory... that either means
1. You disagree with it
or
2. It is someone elses theory.

Then you say

so it can't be 1. because you think it has some creedence:confused: I asked based on it can only be 2. Who's theory?

Unless you are saying here is a theory I do not entirely agree with but it might have some creedence? which is saying very little if anything at all :confused:

I live in the Shire and whilst I wouldn't quite call it a hotbed of neo nazis with confederate flags on top of their cars, it is less tolerant than most other areas of Sydney.

On Australia Day, even though it was Australia Day, and even though everyone has the right to parade around in an Aussie flag, it pi ssed me off. I saw a few young guys cruising around wrapped in a flag, and although I didn't see anything racist I did get the feel it was a case of "I'm a real Aussie and you ethnics should get with the progy".

5 years ago no one used to walk around draped in Aussie flags on Aussie Day. I'm just a bit suspicious about what some of these people are trying to infer.

As an Australian I'm immensely proud. Even though we invaded this country, warts and all, I'm still proud. Australia Day is a celebration of all Australians that are lucky enough to live here - and that goes much further than just the anglo saxons.

Excuse me but

so it can't be 1. because you think it has some creedence:confused: I asked based on it can only be 2. Who's theory?

Unless you are saying here is a theory I do not entirely agree with but it might have some creedence? which is saying very little if anything at all :confused:
Obviously I'm talking to a slow learner. It's quite clear what I said. If it's too hard for you then there's no point talking to me.

I live in the Shire and whilst I wouldn't quite call it a hotbed of neo nazis with confederate flags on top of their cars, it is less tolerant than most other areas of Sydney.

On Australia Day, even though it was Australia Day, and even though everyone has the right to parade around in an Aussie flag, it pi ssed me off. I saw a few young guys cruising around wrapped in a flag, and although I didn't see anything racist I did get the feel it was a case of "I'm a real Aussie and you ethnics should get with the progy".

5 years ago no one used to walk around draped in Aussie flags on Aussie Day. I'm just a bit suspicious about what some of these people are trying to infer.

As an Australian I'm immensely proud. Even though we invaded this country, warts and all, I'm still proud. Australia Day is a celebration of all Australians that are lucky enough to live here - and that goes much further than just the anglo saxons.

Well said......

It was actually an international disgrace.....it probably more than any other event received coverage here in England and none of it was sympathetic to the "proud Aussie" cause. What it demonstrated was that beneath the veneer of the "lucky country" ideal whcih the Australian Government sells through its tourism ad's is an ugly side to Australians, an ugly side based on Nationalist principles. It is one thing to show suppport for a lifesaver who was bashed, but it is another to target individuals simply because of their appearance and likelihood that they are "leb's".

Sydney does have a problem with Lebanese youths. That cannot be denied. That does not justify a lynch mob heading out under the guise of "Australian pride" to make things right. The Cronulla riots underlined a growing nationalist sentiment in society and as history tells us nationalism divides communities. "White" Australian's have no more right to be here than non-white Australians and constant reference to "they don't assimilate" or "we should just send them back to where they came from" is a view that just doesn't wash.

At the end of the day, we are ALL Australian's. Just being White, driving a ute, drinking VB and all of the other stereotypes of a good Aussie don't make us Australian......what makes us Australian is the fact that as a nation, over the last 200 years we have opened our borders to many different waves of migrants from all over the world and each of those groups of migrants has taken time to add a part of their culture to Australian society. A country's culture is not set in stone. It develops and changes as the people that are part of that country change. The Aussie stereotypes are just that stereotypes....
Good post, but one point:

Whilst it does annoy me that some rednecks think assimilation means driving a ute, sinking pis s, and going to the footy, other cultures do need to assimilate - but to the changing evolving culture you talk about. This is why all other Australians from whichever background have a problem with Lebanese. They have no respect and a f*** you attitude that goes against the grain of Aussie culture.