Roast Crowd behaviour

Re: Essendon Fan Disgrace....Again!!!!!!

LOL I wonder whether some of you attend many sports at any level. This happens every week, with every clubs fans, with every sport around the world. Doesnt make it right, but it also doesnt mean we have to go on some moral high ground crusade against anyone who dare speak out against the club.

Get over it.
Well said.

I think some are getting a bit carried away here. Hopefully they don't start roasting every time a supporter throws their arms up in annoyance.

There are a few players who are not playing for the jersey, not playing for the colours and are just rocking up expecting to win without putting in 120% in each game on the field.

And Yes I will name names - Ryder, Lovett-Murray & even Bellchambers has been dissapointing recently.

That is fair dinkum bullshit.

Well said.

I think some are getting a bit carried away here. Hopefully they don't start roasting every time a supporter throws their arms up in annoyance.

There's a bit of a difference between throwing your arms up in annoyance and making a b-line for the players race so you can unload a mouthfull of abuse at your own to make yourself feel a bit better.

I don't like it and I'd never do it.

By the same token though, I wouldn't make a b-line for the players race so I could clap them off regardless of the performance they put in.

So one person mouthed off at some players after a game, is it a crime to vent some frustration? Although i do not condone this type of action, if this type of supporter is the only reason for this thread then you have a pretty poor life. I think worrying about your famiily is more important than some goose of a supporter.

For goodness sakes, harden up and laugh it off, it is only a game.

Why bring light to it.

It's happened for the last 150 years at every club and will continue to happen every week at every club to some degree.

Get over it and move on.

:thumbsdown: to the big boy yelling at the boys, I presume he has played 300 games for us and delivered a premiership. o i guess not then why abuse, sure during the game we all get passionate and say the odd silly thing.

I was disappointed at the number of supporters that left early. yes it was tempting but if you are a fair dinkum supporter you should be there for the team.

i wanted to leave at 3qtr time considering how disappointing we were but stayed to the end despite sitting amongst about 10 melbourne supporter friends and the whole mcc of dees supporters it felt like.

i really hope we dont get a bad reputation and are seen as more supportive, passionate supporters, rather than abusive and bandwagon types (only on when the going is good, and jump off when tough).

abusing the players doesnt help, but neither does clapping them off when they know they put in a hopeless effort. very very poor game, played well for about 15 minutes in total, and shouldn't be commended for playing games like that for blokes who are played a lot of money to run around out there.

It was a horrible performance so in the words of Malcolm Blight, "I couldn't give a rats tossbag".

exactly right, no matter how bad we play supporters should never abuse the players, if they where saying your crap? i don't see them playing AFL.

Just like the Stanton incident a couple of weeks ago, we don't want you, these type of supporters are absoloutly terrible and Hird will agree.

on a positive not, glad to see Stanton have a good game and none of the supporters turn on him.

but again, it's terrible to see what our suppoters are saying to our players.

So they shouldn't be accountable? I am sorry but that is the attitude that has caused us to be missing finals for a while. The players should be told when they are terrible. I have no problem with us losing- I do have an issue with players not turning up. Save for possibly 5 or 6 players last Friday...the rest didn't turn up!:thumbsdown:

So they shouldn't be accountable?

What to you yelling abuse over a fence? No they shouldn't. Would you yell abuse in their faces if you met them on the street? I think not.

It's not about "accountability" so don't try and fool yourself and others that it is. It's 100% about ****wits trying to make themselves feel better after a loss.

What to you yelling abuse over a fence? No they shouldn't. Would you yell abuse in their faces if you met them on the street? I think not.

It's not about "accountability" so don't try and fool yourself and others that it is. It's 100% about ****wits trying to make themselves feel better after a loss.

This is their job. I ask you this, you have a builder doing your house...he stuffs it up...what do you do? Please don't tell me you skake hands and clap him for stuffing it up. You would be ropeable. There is my point- these players, yeah they are footy players, but this is their profession, of which people pay thousands of dollars to see perform- not put in half efforts. My problem was not the loss- but the fact that they all played like they did not want to be there! If the players gave 100% and lost and THEN people gave it to them, I'd be cranky, but they didn't. They committed the no1 cardinal sin- expecting to win!

Not to mention that they are in a position that 95% of amateur footballers would give up everything to be in whether they are abused while they walk off the field or not (which incidentally happens every week in local footy).

Whilst they don't and shouldn't like it, they should big enough in most cases to understand that it is what it is. A few dick heads leaning over the fence carrying on. Cop it and move on. Or tell them to piss off and move on. It's a non issue.

Just personally, I wouldn't scream at the builder. I'm not a nutcase.

I'd say "hey mate, this isn't what I paid for. Fix it, please."

And if he didn't, I'd never use his services again.

You can write to the club if you want. They encourage it. You can even vent your frustrations out loud at the game; it's part of it.

But to go down and scream abuse at them? Just seems a bit petulant and pointless. Won't achieve much, for you or the players.

Just personally, I wouldn't scream at the builder. I'm not a nutcase.

I'd say "hey mate, this isn't what I paid for. Fix it, please."

And if he didn't, I'd never use his services again.

You can write to the club if you want. They encourage it. You can even vent your frustrations out loud at the game; it's part of it.

But to go down and scream abuse at them? Just seems a bit petulant and pointless. Won't achieve much, for you or the players.

LOL you are better than I am than- I would let the builder have it! I don't think anyone minds losing- what we mind is players putting in NO EFFORT!

I agree, it's really frustrating. Really, really frustrating.

It's the only time this year that I've seen us not put in a good enough overall effort, though.

Yes I agree, that said, it is not an excuse though. The effort was Z garde, it wasn't there. Dead set there was 15 people that looked like they were on an end of season trip to Cancun!:thumbsdown:

I don't really follow the whole "building a house" analogy. So are you saying that you've personally employed the players to build you a premiership?

You also didn't answer my question about whether you'd yell abuse at them if you saw them on the street. If you wouldn't do it on the street then why behind the safety of a fence?

And to all the people saying "that's the way it's always been get over it", do I really need to point out the ignorance of that argument?

Believe it or not, the coaching staff actually know more about football than you, me or anyone else on here and they will let the players know in no uncertain terms that the performance they produced was both substandard and totally unacceptable. That's part of their job and their employment ultimately depends upon it.

I understand that it'll probably always happen (until some ******** takes things too far and we get fences erected between us and the players of course) but that doesn't mean I have to condone it.

I honestly think that people who feel the need to hurl abuse at players coming off the field after a loss need to get a life.

sorry to intrude...
i think it is a disgrace that a bloke would do that, but you guys are right, every team has them. it sucks.

i honestly want to know what the deal is with stanton? noone i have asked on collingwood board gives me an answer to why he has been booed. I know it would be a tiny minority of supporters who boo him, but why do they do it?

i'm honestly not trying to have a dig at you guys..,. just confused

I don't really follow the whole "building a house" analogy. So are you saying that you've personally employed the players to build you a premiership?

You also didn't answer my question about whether you'd yell abuse at them if you saw them on the street. If you wouldn't do it on the street then why behind the safety of a fence?

And to all the people saying "that's the way it's always been get over it", do I really need to point out the ignorance of that argument?

Believe it or not, the coaching staff actually know more about football than you, me or anyone else on here and they will let the players know in no uncertain terms that the performance they produced was both substandard and totally unacceptable. That's part of their job and their employment ultimately depends upon it.

I understand that it'll probably always happen (until some ******** takes things too far and we get fences erected between us and the players of course) but that doesn't mean I have to condone it.

I honestly think that people who feel the need to hurl abuse at players coming off the field after a loss need to get a life.

Spot on. Abusive supporters like that make me laugh, angry and make it extremely difficult to enjoy a day at the football, regardless of the result.

Wanting to take my niece to see our team, but if I ended up next to a supporter like that, would be extremely difficult not to revert back to my violent 20s again, rather than have her hear or witness that sort of garbage hurled at the players.

Spot on. Abusive supporters like that make me laugh, angry and make it extremely difficult to enjoy a day at the football, regardless of the result.

Wanting to take my niece to see our team, but if I ended up next to a supporter like that, would be extremely difficult not to revert back to my violent 20s again, rather than have her hear or witness that sort of garbage hurled at the players.

So don't take her to the footy. Abusive supporters with foul language will be at every game every week.

It's the reason why I won't take my 4 yo boy to a game until I think he's at an age that he can process it.

I agree, it's really frustrating. Really, really frustrating.

It's the only time this year that I've seen us not put in a good enough overall effort, though.

So what was yesterdays game Whomb? Because I was there, and it was as insipid as I have seen all season. Which would make at least 2 in a row for you...

:thumbsdown: to the big boy yelling at the boys, I presume he has played 300 games for us and delivered a premiership. o i guess not then why abuse, sure during the game we all get passionate and say the odd silly thing.

I was disappointed at the number of supporters that left early. yes it was tempting but if you are a fair dinkum supporter you should be there for the team.
Oh man I cannot begin to explain how much I hate this kind of attitude.

Everyone should sit there and cop a disgusting loss sweet on the chin because we haven't played 300 games for the club. Or, maybe, I should not have an opinion on the latest chart-topping CD that has been released because I haven't gone Multi-Platinum all across the world and therefore have no idea about music.

Give me a break. :rolleyes:

While I don't condone what he did, it's good to see some peoples' passion explode sometimes. And, as stated, this happens everywhere. The players put in a heartless effort, they have to be able to cop the criticism that comes with it. Happens in every workplace, they are no different.

Roast Crowd behaviour