Crowd memories

Essendon vs Melbourne 1992
Didn't Go to see game but I did listen to it on the radio, I almost burnt my house down after the final quarter.

I was at that game with my old man. My first huge disappointment as a Melbourne fan that I can remember.

Not a crowd-related one but I remember when we lost the 2002 semi to the Crows... I was at the game with dad, age 11, and was so pissed off with the way they had the Adelaide song on repeat after they won... It just kept going! I was not happy.

Also the previous year I think, we got flogged by North in maybe the elimination final. It may have even been 1998. We taped the game for some reason and I was disgusted when mum suggested we watch it a few weeks later.

Strangely I don't really recall the 2000 GF, not sure why... Maybe I purged it from my memory.

The first game I remember well was the 2000 Qualifying Final. Which is a pretty good feat seeing as I was 7. I remember thinking Brad Green and Cam Brucehasgonemad we're going to be the 2 greatest players ever to play the game (I was young and innocent alright...), I also remember the Pre-lim and how we completely destroyed North. I didn't get to go the GF, but I remember going into my bathroom at QT, and literally praying that we win, to this day it's maybe one of the 3 times I've properly prayed in my life. Back to Crowd moments:
Junior and Jones sailing through goals in the dying stages of the Adelaide game, the week after the Collingwood draw 1 point loss, I swear there were 90,000 people if there were 20,000. It was like closure of the shit days of 07-09, but little did we know haha

My first lasting memory of a Demons match was THAT prelim in 87. Also not crowd-related, but anyway... I was 9, and watching it on TV from Adelaide (moved from Melbourne a year earlier).

I remember putting together a red and blue Lego construction during the game, and after Buckenara's goal, I smashed the Lego to buggery with a hammer.

Geez, you guys are bringing back some memories.

For a kid going for the Dees in the 70s and 80s that semi final against Sydney in 87 was epic - the only time I can remember the sea of red and blue and the feeling that I was witnessing something magically destined. The elimination final win against the Roos the week before by almost 20 goals set that up. ****ing Buckenara ended it...

I've been in a fight twice at the footy and one of those times was following the Essendon comeback game in 92. From memory we weren't travelling too well at the time and were coming off a 5 day break having been beaten by Collingwood the week before (Queen's birthday?). So, most Dees fans were absolutely filthy to have lost having been 47 points up early in the last quarter. But bummer fans aren't that bright and instead of just going home in smug quietness, they were getting really stuck in. As I went through the gates some Moo got right up in the face of a Dees guy in front of me who had his kids with him and yelled something about a loser and all hell broke loose. Fists were flying everywhere and I was squashing some guy's face down into the asphalt while somebody else was punching me in the ear. Then it all disapated, but I'll never know what happened to my scarf.

The other fight was at VFL Park at half time in the 89 elimination final against the Pies. I'd just been to get a pie and coke from the shop around the back of the stand and was walking through the tunnel back to the seating area and there were two Dees fans walking ahead of me. I don't know if they said anything, but suddenly the lead guy of about 5-6 Pies fans coming the other way just starts punching the crap out one of the Dees fans. The Dees were fighting back, but thinking they were badly outnumbered, and being young and stupid, I thought I had to do something, so dropped my pie and coke and jumped in and got one of them in a headlock and started punching. Next thing I knew there seemed like there 20 Dees fans and a couple of them was pulling me away from the guy I was smacking and telling me to calm down. I don't know where they all came from, because there probably 50,000 Magpie and 20,000 Demon fans there that day, but thank god they showed up, because I think we would have really gotten our heads kicked in.

Might have been a nothing game, but the most elation and crowd excitement I can remember was a win we had against Carlton at VFL Park in 90 or 91. Carlton had got a jump on us and led all day but Rod Owen, Ricky Jackson and Earl Spalding went bananas in the last and we piled on 10 or 11 goals to maybe a couple to win by 45 points. I was behind the cheer squad and we were all going absolutely mad.

Non-crowd related, just fired up some old footage of the dees, geez the ox was a force. Still believe he could've been one the greatest players of all time. The wiz could play too haha, looking back on these 2, and you throw in Gary Lyon, Nietz and of course flower and you just realise how rare these blokes bloody are. Off topic again, but who do you think has been our best midfielder in the past 25 years?

I reckon Glenn Lovett, but my memory tells me that he struggled with injury at times, so he may not be as highly rated as he should be. Todd Viney and Steven Tingay would be up there too. I remember several times when the chips were down, Todd Viney would be in at the stoppages and just bowling guys over as he monstered the ball out. Garry Lyon occasionally went to the centre for a ball up after a goal when the opposition were getting a run on and did the same thing. Guys would be struggling to keep their feet and hang onto him as he bullocked his way through. Great days.

I remember this, I also remember how disappointed I was when all of Melbourne jeered Dids of the ground last year when he shanked one from 50 and hobbled off the ground with a torn groin muscle, in our defence though, it was more the shank then the injury.

I was there for that also. Definately had a laugh but it was at the kick. Can you imagine the Collingwood fans if instead of Didak it was Watts that did that kick and then hobbled off? Jesus.

Essendon vs Melbourne 1992 was probably one of the angriest crowds I've experienced. Essendon fans were pretty grumpy after being flogged by Hawthorn the week before and your lot were giving them a nice old touch up. I was standing behind the Punt Road goals and Melbourne fans were a bit cheeky but nothing untoward really.

Anyway they rolled you. 9 goals to nil in the last or something like that and Salmon, who had copped it all day was all of a sudden the saviour.

And it kicked off afterwards. Fights everywhere inside and outside the gate and a couple broke out on that green footbridge. Bombers supporters were mouthy as ****.

Flat out the worst ****ing game of football I've ever been too

Was just stunned, shocked, utter disbelief

Kicked the first of the last quarter then just could not get near it for the rest of the game

I was there for that also. Definately had a laugh but it was at the kick. Can you imagine the Collingwood fans if instead of Didak it was Watts that did that kick and then hobbled off? Jesus.
They would be throwing their false teeth at him

Flat out the worst ******* game of football I've ever been too

Was just stunned, shocked, utter disbelief

Kicked the first of the last quarter then just could not get near it for the rest of the game

I remember that match as well.

That is the "best" comeback in history if you ask me. Shame we were on the wrong side of it.
I believe we were 48 points up early in the last.

Most people believe the Essendon vs North 2001 match was the greatest comeback (it was on pure deficit I believe. 69pts) but they had cut the margin to 21 by halft time. In 1992 it was a 49 point turnaround in less than a quater.

...and was so pissed off with the way they had the Adelaide song on repeat after they won...
Similar to Green's last game? They played the Crows song as he came to thank the crowd, and we booed so they turned it off. They then played it again as he was carried off. Disgrace! Tex Walker tweeted how disrespectful it was after the game.

2000 Preliminary final against North Melbourne, for some reason I felt confident we'd win, and we did by 50 points. I remember after we'd won, sitting in a fairly vacant forward pocket in the mcc just thinking "shit, we're playing in a grand final". Good times (minus the actual grand final of course).

The other fight was at VFL Park at half time in the 89 elimination final against the Pies. I'd just been to get a pie and coke from the shop around the back of the stand and was walking through the tunnel back to the seating area and there were two Dees fans walking ahead of me. I don't know if they said anything, but suddenly the lead guy of about 5-6 Pies fans coming the other way just starts punching the crap out one of the Dees fans. The Dees were fighting back, but thinking they were badly outnumbered, and being young and stupid, I thought I had to do something, so dropped my pie and coke and jumped in and got one of them in a headlock and started punching. Next thing I knew there seemed like there 20 Dees fans and a couple of them was pulling me away from the guy I was smacking and telling me to calm down. I don't know where they all came from, because there probably 50,000 Magpie and 20,000 Demon fans there that day, but thank god they showed up, because I think we would have really gotten our heads kicked in.
These days you would be set back a solid $10.10.

We all laughed at the kick. It was actually the MCC who booed him as he came off.

Last year vs Essendon. Honestly nothing tops the crowd reactions in that final quarter. Essendon fans were in shock, Melbourne fans were in disbelief. When the ball got locked in our forward 50 in the last 30 seconds and you could see the reactions of the coaches and players on the boundary line, and the Essendon fans began to quickly make their way out of the ground. It was sensational. I don't care how lame it is being our first win of the season, the atmosphere was just electrifying.

I was being a teenage emo and missed all of 1996 and the first half of 1997 sitting at home listening to the radio and refusing to leave the house. Until my mate suggested we go and watch the Dees against Carlton. We were 2 wins and about 14 losses but rolled them, and the guy sitting in front of us leapt to his feet at the end when I was cheering the win and started screaming in my face "THE UMPIRES! THE UMPIRES GAVE IT YOU!" and being both 16 and disinterested in living I just laughed in his face and said words to the effect of "Yes they did and I loved it!". He didn't belt me, but he probably should have.

A couple of weeks later I went again when we played St Kilda on the Friday night. Jason Heatley kicked five in the first quarter and when I yelled "GO THE REDLEGS!" out of the old Olympic Stand somebody yelled back "WHAT A ****!"

Apart from most of 2001/2002 when I was too bloody poor to go and had to go back to listening on the radio I've been rusted on pretty much ever since.

Can't remember what year but jako was playing for the dogs. We were pasting them. Jako had enough of not seeing the ball so he took Shaun smith down to our forward line to get a touch and smith kicked one on him playing full back. It was awesome.

One I'll always remember was a couple of years ago against Freo when we were down by 8 goals at half time. We have our reserved seats (which is a double edged sword, on one hand it's great rocking up and having a good spot every week but there's always the danger of getting stuck next to numbskulls for a whole season) and that year we had some particularly annoying women 'supporters' who spent every week paying out on every player who wasn't "Jazzy" Rivers. So when we got to half time and they've had their fill of bagging our team, they pissed off home and missed one of our greatest comebacks ever. I couldn't have been happier and didn't see 'em much for the rest of the year.