Crowd

• Thread starter Thread starter kirky

A nothing final?

Cant say ive heard that one before.

Given Collingwoods good record here and the fact its a knockout final, I would have thought its anything but a nothing final.

I can see where relapse is coming from. If we win and god hoping we do, we are basically in the same boat next week against either Geelong or St Kilda fighting it out for a preliminary final spot against Hawthorn. However if we lose, it won’t be any different to missing the finals.

No final is a ‘nothing game’ but on the other hand last week’s game against the Western Bulldogs was exactly the same as an early final. Yes i am going today but can see where Relapse is coming from.

There is nothing (relatively) to gain ... but everything to lose.

That's what I am sure he meant but it is totally incorrect. With our recent finals record, this becomes the most important game we have played in years.

If we lose, there will be calls for Craig's head again. If we win, he will have proved he can coach in a final.

It would also be just reward for a great season if we win. If we lose, we have not improved from last year in many ways.

Also, we are playing against one of the big Vic teams. This doesn't come around in a final often. That alone makes this a huge day in the club's history.

Aaaaah ..... Carlsberg before Midday :) :) :)

I'm feeling pumped for this game! About to leave now...do not want this to be our last game for the year!!

Go Crows! :thumbsu:

I'm sorry but two weeks ago we knew we were more than likely to be holding a final (first week more likey than the second) and you didn't bother to put $40 aside in case we did. Unforgiveable.

The show comes every year, always has and always will - home finals don't necessarily come every year. As I said, unforgiveable.

There are some poor attitudes by fellow Crows supporters.

PS : A season ticketholder at work isn't going coz he can't have his usual seats. You don't reckon I gave him a blast. Piss poor!

That is weak, **** I wish these clowns would just piss off:thumbsd:

Ohhh know its not my beloved seat ohh dear god how will I cope, **** me harden the **** up:mad:

A nothing final?

Cant say ive heard that one before.

Given Collingwoods good record here and the fact its a knockout final, I would have thought its anything but a nothing final.

Ridiculous isnt it, clearly most AFC supporters dont have a clue:rolleyes:

I am not going today unfortunately as I dont have the money. If it was next week I would have been fine, but we went to the show yesterday and now I am flat broke. It also doesnt help the crowd numbers with it being a "nothing" final ie winning just means that you have to play again next week for an opportunity to get into a prelim final. If we got top 4 the final at home in the second week would have sold far better IMO.

Disgraceful. Absolutely disgraceful. :thumbsd:

I can see where relapse is coming from. If we win and god hoping we do, we are basically in the same boat next week against either Geelong or St Kilda fighting it out for a preliminary final spot against Hawthorn. However if we lose, it won’t be any different to missing the finals.

No final is a ‘nothing game’ but on the other hand last week’s game against the Western Bulldogs was exactly the same as an early final. Yes i am going today but can see where Relapse is coming from.

true stupidity. so following your logic....win NEXT week in the semi and we face another nothing knock out game in the prelim final

seriously i shake my head at some crow fans here. just get to the game FFS

Went with a Physics class a couple of years ago.

The best thing there was ducks in some hats. I just about pissed myself.

There was a Hungry Jacks too. That was exciting (and expensive)

Ahh, good times :thumbsu:

We'll struggle from 35k from the looks/what I've heard.

I would be there, but in about an hour I've gotta go out and officiate in some silly sporting finals thingo, which will mean I miss the second half too :thumbsd:

Ahh, good times :thumbsu:

We'll struggle from 35k from the looks/what I've heard.

I would be there, but in about an hour I've gotta go out and officiate in some silly sporting finals thingo, which will mean I miss the second half too :thumbsd:

I respect the ref as much as I respect Fab's perm. Respect. :thumbsu:

I'd be there if it wasn't for the fact that I'd have to leave the game early to get to work on time. Though the only timeslot I could have made this weekend was last night.

Just got home from work - is anyone surprised the crowd is shit?

Saturday Arvo games are always rubbish crowds - even worse with the show on.

**** you AFL.

I know that Saturday arvo games always draw smaller crowds, but if a supporter thinks that the show is more important than an AFL final, they are pretty bloody soft...

I couldn't care less about the show - but there will be people (especially families) where the kids would rather go to the show, and the parents aren't that passionate about the footy; or families who spend a couple of hundred dollars at the show and not want to spend more.

The reality is, every Saturday arvo guy has a shit turnout, and everytime, the AFL demands answers and reasons; well, the reasons don't matter - they draw rubbish crowds, so stop scheduling them.

You've got easily two of the biggest drawing teams in the comp, playing in the worst time slot. If this was a night game, it'd be packed, and would rate it's junk off.

true stupidity. so following your logic....win NEXT week in the semi and we face another nothing knock out game in the prelim final

seriously i shake my head at some crow fans here. just get to the game FFS

Yeah ok. Cheers for your response. Hope you enjoyed the game.

U have inspired me to get drunk today in order to fire myself up further. I usually don't drink at AAMI cos I have to drive but my girlfriend is going to day so she can drive home ha ha!

gotta love inspiration.

I got to AAMI with a crappy feeling, my gut told me we werent going to win. Parked the car right next to Joffa and the Bogs. So I sank a few Draughts down.

1Q- Shit, what a crap day. Abused Medhurst once.

2Q- took me 10mins to get a beer. Got back and we were nearly in front. I got to abuse the umpire once and laughed when the Collingwood Cheer Squad went as quiet as a mouse. That gut feeling was still there, I was nervous

3Q- Well Ill be honest, I abused the umpire like you would not beleive. Move over Medhurst, Hello number 9 umpire. I think someone ran onto the ground as well. I cheered that bloke, wasnt alot to cheer about obviously

4Q- Medhurst carved up. Oh no Goodwin...Nearly pulled out my hair, went limp in my seat. Stopped drinking, wanted to stop life altogether. Not again.

I sat in the car on the way home, feeling like crap. Should have listened to my gut. Glum. So I pulled out my trusting air horn and scared the shit out of about 100 people walking to their cars. Made me feel a little better.

haven't read the thread thus far but my 2c.... the old farts that have held their season tickets for longer than they really wanted to just because if they give them up they won't get them back are killing this club, they turn up when they feel like it and when they are there all they do is bag the players it gives me the shits!!!!

I personally think that the amount of football on tele compared to 10 years ago, as well as the inclusion of Foxtel and greater prevalence of "live-against-the-gate" - or near enough - has meant that football supporters in SA are not as willing to put up with the imperfect surrounds of AAMI Stadium anymore.

Sure, the diehards like us are there, but football is more about entertainment than raw passion these days, the absolute driving life-or-death NEED to be there is disappearing.

Well, my thoughts anyway (from a Power supporter nonetheless).

prices, the show, suburban footy finals, work committments etc are all contributing factors to low crowds. Still I was a bit embarrassed that we only got 37,000 odd at the game. It doesn't look good to the AFL and I think potentially harms our chances of home finals in the future.

I can get there every week EXCEPT for Saturday afternoons - I simply cannot change my work - but I do agree that there are a lot of people hanging onto their Cat 1 /2 tickets waiting for the good times again.

Is there still a waiting list ? And if there is, maybe the club should see how many Members/Season tickets weren't used at all and contact those people.

Guest passes could be arranged to compensate them relinquishing them for people who do want to go.

On the flip side - sometimes live against the gate are beginning to tempt me - especially in sh!t weather !

prices, the show, suburban footy finals, work committments etc are all contributing factors to low crowds. Still I was a bit embarrassed that we only got 37,000 odd at the game. It doesn't look good to the AFL and I think potentially harms our chances of home finals in the future.

No it doesn't.

Everytime there is a Saturday Arvo game, we have a rubbish turn-out.

The AFL knows this, and continues to schedule our games there, so it's their own stupid fault.

So I pulled out my trusting air horn and scared the shit out of about 100 people walking to their cars. Made me feel a little better.

Genuine LOL!

King amongst men mate!

ps. go the Pies tomorrow!

It doesn't look good to the AFL and I think potentially harms our chances of home finals in the future.

Demitriou can go **** himself. You earn the final, you get it, no questions. He ever pulls one of our clubs from a home final due to crowd reasons, it will be the last thing he does as boss of the AFL.

haven't read the thread thus far but my 2c.... the old farts that have held their season tickets for longer than they really wanted to just because if they give them up they won't get them back are killing this club, they turn up when they feel like it and when they are there all they do is bag the players it gives me the shits!!!!

Absolutely spot on. I see 2 problems. The AAMI stadium Cat 1 membership where Power supporters take a potential seat (& vice cersa) and grey nomads that have had season tickets and went regularly in the 90's but now migrate north for the winter and don't give up their tickets.