Crowds a concern

Aussie Covid Killer ingenuity from a Melbourne based biotech which is meant to be used before you head into a crowd. Along with vaccination, the end of the restrictions is in sight.

Crowdwatch Round 8

Year
Round 8 average
25,774​
10,825​
29,661​
31,123​
29,647​
29,704​
32,377​
31,948​
32,122​
33,744​
Round 8 2021 - % above or below
+138%​
-13%​
-17%​
-13%​
-13%​
-20%​
-19%​
-20%​
-24%​
Round 8 - lowest since (excluding 2020)
1994​
1943​
2017​
2017​
2002​
2002​
2014​
2010​
2010​
2010​
Round 8 - highest since
2019​
2019​
2018​
2015​
2016​
2015​
2012​
2013​
2012​
2011​
Season average to Round 8
28,500​
5,602​
37,652​
37,148​
35,393​
34,738​
33,726​
33,662​
34,009​
33,395​
Season to Round 8 2021 - % above or below
+409%​
-24%​
-23%​
-19%​
-18%​
-15%​
-15%​
-16%​
-15%​
Season to Round 8 - lowest since (excluding 2020)
1993​
1920​
2018​
2017​
2016​
2015​
2014​
2012​
2012​
2003​
Season to Round 8 - highest since
2019​
2019​
2010​
2010​
2011​
2011​
2013​
2013​
2011​
2011​

Lowest Round 8 crowds since 1994, despite a Showdown and a GF rematch. The AFL would be hoping for a decent attendance boost this week with reserved seat holders able to resume their usual seats.

Ticketing and pricing continues to be an issue. Sadly the SCG for the Rd9 game v the Pies may be CV19 affected. Maybe mum's day had an impact yesterday. Pie and Roo fans reckon there were scanning problems that underestimated their crowd. Still it is clear the Pies, Hawks and Dons fans are not turning up.

Lowest Round 8 crowds since 1994, despite a Showdown and a GF rematch. The AFL would be hoping for a decent attendance boost this week with reserved seat holders able to resume their usual seats.
I still don’t think they will all come back.

Seat holders still need to go to Aps to download digital tickets. There’s still mucking around. Club members still need to be free at 1pm tomorrow to go through the thing again.

This week Essendon play at 1:10pm. Normally this would draw a good crowd as parents finally take their kids to our first family friendly slot of the year (form lines aside). Families just walk in and sit upstairs on level 3 anywhere. This week they need to book allocated seats and it’s still simply too many barriers and therefore the crowds still won’t come.

COVID measures aside, until the barriers are removed the crowds won’t return. Moving back to actual seats is a step in the right direction. However until patrons can simply scan in and do what they used to do they won’t bother.

Ticketing and pricing continues to be an issue. Sadly the SCG for the Rd9 game v the Pies may be CV19 affected. Maybe mum's day had an impact yesterday. Pie and Roo fans reckon there were scanning problems that underestimated their crowd. Still it is clear the Pies, Hawks and Dons fans are not turning up.
The issues are being felt more in Victoria, a legacy of those extended lockdowns that changed the mindset and culture of this state. It will take time for Victoria to catch up with the other states.

FWIW, I think Essendon’s crowds are holding up ok. Apart from the Saints in round 3, its crowds have been decent. ANZAC sold out, ~58K against the Blues at 3:20 last Sunday was ok and they should still draw close to 25K to Marvel this week against the Dockers despite being in 15th place. In many ways the Bomber fans have become the Tigers of the 1990’s/2000’s, among the most resilient fanbase in the game given its relative failures the last 17 years. Their crowds are still excellent and membership is still around that if it’s piers (Richmond aside).

Still it is clear the Pies, Hawks and Dons fans are not turning up.
Que?
4 of our first 8 have been interstate and another was our away game for ANZAC Day.
We have had 3 home games with the Hawks and Saints at a reduced capacity Marvel which I think reached near capacity and our 3rd home game was at the MCG against Carlton which was a half decent crown.

According to Snake and North fans, we have it all wrong. The AFL are purposefully under reporting North game crowds.

They swear there were 27k at the North v Collingwood game on Saturday, and not the 22.5k reported.

Poor North. AFL is dead set against them.

They weren't in any sport in Sydney on the weekend so don't think should be next weekend.

Crowdwatch Round 9

Year
Round 9 average
26,652​
8,366​
34,031​
32,375​
29,840​
32,882​
32,392​
37,067​
34,587​
30,364​
Round 9 2021 - % above or below
+219%​
-22%​
-18%​
011%​
-19%​
-18%​
-28%​
-23%​
-12%​
Round 9 - lowest since (excluding 2020)
1993​
1942​
2018​
2017​
1998​
2015​
2012​
2013​
2012​
1998​
Round 9 - highest since
2019​
2019​
2014​
2016​
2016​
2014​
2014​
2011​
2011​
2011​
Season average to Round 9
28,289​
6,090​
37,250​
36,618​
34,837​
34,532​
33,578​
33,935​
34,073​
33,058​
Season to Round 9 2021 - % above or below
+365%​
-24%​
-23%​
-19%​
-18%​
-16%​
-17%​
-17%​
-14%​
Season to Round 9 - lowest since (excluding 2020)
1993​
1920​
2018​
2017​
2016​
2015​
2012​
2012​
2012​
2003​
Season to Round 9 - highest since
2019​
2019​
2010​
2011​
2011​
2011​
2014​
2013​
2011​
2011​

The media has finally jumped on this crowd issue this week, blaming everything from COVID, public transport reticence, KAYO sports, people being precious about their "normal" seats... and the likely reality, which is that the booking fees and requirement to use one of 2 dogshit ticket sites turns people off, and there's a certain age cohort of devotees who might not have smart phones, and if they do they only know how to text, call, check footy scores and make stupid comments on facebook.

I get that early in the season they wanted to know where everyone was sitting and space them out... but I would've thought we're at a point now where you can do walk ups again as long as they're prepared to QR code before they enter. Yeah, it'll take heaps longer to get in, but I think you get a few thousand a game back just by doing that. (I realise that doesn't solve the problem with older people.)

That said, there might be something to KAYO. I got a deal of $5 a month before the season, and when I'm still COVID unemployed because my industry still won't exist until next year, it's hard to justify the 30 or 40 bucks to go to the footy even if I could wipe out the booking fee and just roll up.

edit: I do think it's interesting that, in my own personal experience (so certainly not claiming a scientific study!), people have rushed back to more cultural things much more quickly. We're talk about different scales - tens of thousands of people at the AFL vs a few hundred or a few thousand people at a cultural event - but that series of gigs at the Myer music bowl, the local wrestling near my house, the first few gigs out my way in the northern suburbs, even the first couple of trivia nights... you couldn't get into these things for love nor money if you weren't online at exactly the right time to get tickets. And the people attending weren't bitching about QR codes or anything, they would've let you photo ID their bellend if that's what was required to get in.

With my membership i dont get booking fees or any cost at all to redeem my seats which are part of my membership. Is that the case for all clubs? Is it just the non members/ genera public that are getting the extra cost on top of the seat cost?

Nah it's the same with us BUT anytime you login to Ticketek or Ticketmaster, you invariably get taken to a page trying to get you to pay for seats when you've already paid for them. I had a mate give up on trying to get tickets to Carlton-Hawthorn on Saturday because he couldn't redeem his seat. He had a second go and finally found them but it's a trial finding them. He was ready not to go to the game because there was too much stuffing around.

It's fine once you've got the hang of it.

.. and the likely reality, which is that the booking fees and requirement to use one of 2 dogshit ticket sites turns people off, and there's a certain age cohort of devotees who might not have smart phones, and if they do they only know how to text, call, check footy scores and make stupid comments on facebook.

I had to help a nice old lady at our blockbuster against your team at the G. She rocked up asking where to buy tickets only to be told you have to buy them online. I think the Ticketek window helped her out but yeah, I reckon there's plenty of older people who are intimidated by the whole process - I know my dad would be stuffed. He used to struggle with buying tickets from an actual person.

Nah it's the same with us BUT anytime you login to Ticketek or Ticketmaster, you invariably get taken to a page trying to get you to pay for seats when you've already paid for them. I had a mate give up on trying to get tickets to Carlton-Hawthorn on Saturday because he couldn't redeem his seat. He had a second go and finally found them but it's a trial finding them. He was ready not to go to the game because there was too much stuffing around.

It's fine once you've got the hang of it.
Hmm ok. Weird. For suns on ticketek, its clear that you can redeem your free(already paid for) seats, or pay for upgrade.

Not for us. When I tried to redeem my tickets for this week's game, I was taken to a page trying to get me to fork over $50 per ticket (which would have put me out $150). I followed the instructions as per their website.

Trick is to select General Seating and look for the $0 options.

Can we please rename this thread?

Its fraudulent. Its a Victorian Crowds concern only

Eagles and Dockers both have record membership and Eagles crowds are higher then ever for exampke. Both Adelaide teams are similar too

Higher than ever? 43k on Sunday. Cool story