Crowley a Don

• Thread starter Thread starter johnnomac

After all the Essendon players we took when Harvey was coach I'm glad that we can donate one back to the Dons.

Well done Crowley. Now I hope they can get at least one more ex Docker with Ballard getting a chance!

Would love that, but it doesn't sound likely at this point. :thumbsdown:

Thanks for all the support and well wishes on the bomber's board, looking forward to seeing Crowley in action for the Dons. Also I must say that you're easily the best opposition posters I've seen, good friendly bunch and good luck for the season :)

+1, you lot are a good shout for Least-Awful Supporters On BF, us included. :P

Yeah I'd like to echo the sentiments of some of the other Essendon posters here. Had nothing but well wishes from Freo posters on our board which is very welcome. Have always enjoyed discussions with you lot.

Very much looking forward to pre and post game discussions come round eleven. :thumbsu:

Never kicked 5 before in 100+ games so I'd say unlikely ;) I would actually like to see him played up forward for Essendon and be able to actually relax and enjoy his footy properly. Never shows it during a game but he actually gets so anxious/nervous about his task he throws up before every game.

Debut game against Geelong as a forward I thought he kicked five to help us break our Kardinya Park hoodoo? But certainly it must be the worst to never be able to creatively run. He can run all day and kicks ok but never that quick across the ground.

All the best to him, wonder if he is designing his new red and black sweatbands now....

Now this is a player that I'll enjoy watching. Anyone that gives Hawthorn (Mitchell) and North (Boomer) trouble means that I'll like them. Very likely to get to 200 games this year.

Look forward to Crowley vs Fyfe :)

Suban will get into Crowley for good measure and to protect Fyfey. The real game to watch will be when Essendon plays GWS and Crowls and Johnson go at each other. No Man Love there.

+ Pinchgate in red & black.

Blubber Harvey will need extra Scotties when he realises that Creepy is heading his way.

Don't think it was five but there's no doubt he can hammer them home.
Just give him the license.

He kicked 3 on début v Geelong.

Has also kicked 4 against the Bombers and Blues and 5 against Port.

Round 11 should be fun.

The guy has nothing to lose - very likely his last year in the game - I hope he terrorises all of his old friends (Boomer / Johnson) just not us too much!

Crowley has never been popular with the umpires, and I could see the Bombres enjoying the short straw from them now. May be a few clubs keen to dish out a bit of retribution of their own too. I also think Crowley was found out a bit in his last actual playing season with us, not only getting hammered by the opposition but taken forward where he struggled as a defender. Will be interesting to see how it works out. He is massively competitive and wily. Will need all of that.

I remember Gaz complaining that Crowley annoyed him by pretending to be a best mate of his.
The trouble is when he plays us he will be!

All the best to him as he was always willing to sacrifice himself for the team and put his body on the line.
He also went well in Derbies so it is no surprise that he is the first one Worsfold picked up.

If anyone deserves to get to 200 games it is him.

Also looking forward to the Black or Red sweatbands.

Really really happy for Crowley. Always admired him as a player for us, gave his all and off field came across as a top bloke. I wish him the very best at the Bombers and will certainly not be booing him ever.

Wow I don't think there has been a player with such a roller coaster career as Crowley (from my memory)

-Drafted as a late pick
-Delisted after a year or 2
-Received a phone call from the airport to come back to Freo as a potential rookie
-Elevated off the rookie list
-Finds his role as a tagger
-Tries a different role and loses his way. Almost delisted
-Ross Lyon comes to Freo gets fit and back playing a hard nose tagging role
-Plays in a Grand final (if you believe the media that week it was Hawthorn vs Crowley )
-Banned for taking pain Killers
-Delisted by Freo after he believed he would be resigned
-Receives a life line by Essendon

Probably would have been more likely to torment our younger midfielders playing for Swans against Peel, especially with that feral crowd, er, sorry those knowledgeable supporters, down there at Basso, than he will be in the AFL.

Wow I don't think there has been a player with such a roller coaster career as Crowley (from my memory)

-Drafted as a late pick
-Delisted after a year or 2
-Received a phone call from the airport to come back to Freo as a potential rookie
-Elevated off the rookie list
-Finds his role as a tagger
-Tries a different role and loses his way. Almost delisted
-Ross Lyon comes to Freo gets fit and back playing a hard nose tagging role
+Wins a B&F in a top 8 side
-Plays in a Grand final (if you believe the media that week it was Hawthorn vs Crowley )
-Banned for taking pain Killers
-Delisted by Freo after he believed he would be resigned
-Receives a life line by Essendon

Nicest guy you could meet who opitomises freo. The booing and smashing he got from the local and melbourne media was always discraceful. Then the Harvey incident by the afl. He was always goibg to cop a bit of flack but being grei madw him an east target. Bit did he ever stop smiling. Love ya crowls. You are up there with pav. Mcpharlin and Sandi for dragging our sorry ass team from the perennial lose to where we are today.

Got heaps more love for Essendon now! (except for the coach - ewww)

Might get along to a few games to support our man... the haters over here for the bloke need to be heard to be believed. I read Robert Walls slammed the move saying he was "nowhere near the mark as far as a footballer goes." bit rich coming from a guy who is "nowhere near the mark as far as a human being goes"

Get around him Vic Freo supporters, even for giggles to wind up the other Vic club supporters.