Crows delist 5

Well he used to a basketballer when he was younger. Only a footy player in last 4-5 years so still developing but apparently came leaps and bounds this year and it shows by cementing a spot at North and then beating off rivals like McIntyre who was dubbed the next Ben Hart at the start of the year. Very athletic (good leap and mark, good kick) Jars has enormous faith in him and at just 18/19 years old could be an awesome prospect. I reckon he'll probably pinch Shirley's spot by the end of next year.

Not to mention the amount of guts that boy has.

Will be a very good AFL player

Well he used to a basketballer when he was younger. Only a footy player in last 4-5 years so still developing but apparently came leaps and bounds this year and it shows by cementing a spot at North and then beating off rivals like McIntyre who was dubbed the next Ben Hart at the start of the year. Very athletic (good leap and mark, good kick) Jars has enormous faith in him and at just 18/19 years old could be an awesome prospect. I reckon he'll probably pinch Shirley's spot by the end of next year.

Liking the sounds of Gallman, I only saw his last 2 games of the season and he looked ok, never really got beaten. If he is also a good user of the ball then I say by all means lets groom him to take over Shirleys role.

I am a massive fan of Gallman, he was pretty good this year considering none of us North supporters had even heard of him before the Crows rookied him. He is very gutsy, loves throwing his body in and goes the punch whenever he's in doubt. Top bloke.

Doesn't your post say Gallman should be developed into an oversized midfielder??

Whereas Rugged_Battler says he should be a tagger??

Not to say Gallman couldn't be an oversized midfielder...

I really like the idea of Gallman being a tagger, was thinking the same could apply to campbell. Havn't seen too much of Campbell this year but knowing he is a tough tackler and competitor having him and gallman as our future taggers would set VB free from those roles and run a muck in the midfield with his tank.

On the topic of endurance, how is campbell's motor? If it's pretty good then by all means we could have a the best tagging combo in the future, with the likes of kornes/cassisi and ling/enright.

Yes....

So your saying Robert Shirleys not a midfielder?

Well I personally don't see him as a midfielder, just a tagger really, but many people here will disagree with me here. I wish Shirley was more than just a tagger and I really hope this coming season he will show that he can also be damaging with the ball whilst at the same time shutting down his opponent (ala Kane cornes or Cameron Ling).

I hope Gallman can be this type of player and not just a pure tagger.

i would have agreed with you this time last year, but he strung some really good games together at the end of the season. i reckon he was one of our big improvers.

cant agree. in the bottom quartile of taggers imo - neither stops opposition gun mids getting heaps of the ball (and please start on him keeping judd to a few possies 4-5 yrs ago!) and has virtually no hurt factor himself

a real club man who flogs his guts out every week by putting his body on the line. unfortunately though he aint up to the job and is waiting to be surpassed by younger players (VB etc). WW has been saying this for yrs and I agree with him

cant agree. in the bottom quartile of taggers imo - neither stops opposition gun mids getting heaps of the ball (and please start on him keeping judd to a few possies 4-5 yrs ago!) and has virtually no hurt factor himself

a real club man who flogs his guts out every week by putting his body on the line. unfortunately though he aint up to the job and is waiting to be surpassed by younger players (VB etc). WW has been saying this for yrs and I agree with him

How about this game? Check out his Stats and then compare them to the player he was on - Simon Black.

I think shirley is one of those players that will ALWAYS generate debat amongst fans. I wouldn't have him in my best 22 but I am willing to let his 2008 season do the talking.

If he becomes the player that I would like by consistently shutting down opposition players whilst also doing damage when he has possession , then I will be more than happy to have him in the side and I will get off his back.

So I hope in 2008 shirley shows us the true player he can be otherwise I would prefer a younger player in his position.

How about this game? Check out his Stats and then compare them to the player he was on - Simon Black.

Hi NN

Couldnt get the stats to work but I assume he towelled Black up in this game

My comments are based on an overview of his career/year however. How do you rate Shirley against his peers (ie top 25%, top 50% etc)? i feel the vast majority of other teams have a superior tagger to Shirls.

I am a Shirls fan and in fact have watched him quite closely over the last couple of years. He does some very good in close work and I think he rates up there with other taggers in the style of Kirk. Most people see the flashy outside players and never really notice who got it out in the first place.

I don't call Cornes a tagger as I don't think he really does that job well.

I am a Shirls fan and in fact have watched him quite closely over the last couple of years. He does some very good in close work and I think he rates up there with other taggers in the style of Kirk. Most people see the flashy outside players and never really notice who got it out in the first place.

Haha....A Shirls fan?!?!? :)

Wasn't it the Sherbs, after they capitulated? Or am I getting my groups (Skyhooks/Sherbert) mixed up?

You don't think Cornes tags better than Shirls??

I guess its personal opinion, but I think hes a much better tagger and has a bigger engine.

You don't think Cornes tags better than Shirls??

I guess its personal opinion, but I think hes a much better tagger and has a bigger engine.

Nope I think he is more an attacking player that occasionally recognises that he is there to stop the other player. He is not that close checking that I associate with a tagger, so overall I would describe him as an attacking player that has a defensive side to his game ala Goodwin.

Fair enough, thats the great thing about a forum like this, we can see things in many different ways.

i really admire shirls for getting 100% out of himself. but i would have to think the following taggers (using my defintion :D) are all considerably more valuable to their respective teams than shirls:

cornes
cassisi
stenglein
selwood (wc)
j carr
kirk
crouch
selwood (lions)
ling
carazzo
sewell
baker (the little pr1ck)