Crows delist three players

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

Moss looks like he is only a solid pre seasn away from being able to play at AFL level. With Petrenko upgraded, Moss could be a chance to play some games with Burton being on the long term injury list.

Jericho just on 10 news claiming he wasnt given a fair go!! Now i've heard everything. He believes he would have excelled had he been given consistent games. Sorry Luke, you were consistently dropped because you were a soft ****!

i've got a feeling that, having lost 6 players through delisting/retirement we might be looking at either elevating 2 Rookies or keeping a pick for the PSD and upgrading Petrenko
i can't see us taking pick 76 (surely the draft isn't that deep?)

Took Kite with a similar pick last year and last years draft isnt as deep as this years.

We'll use every pick

Rendell "we'll take our picks into the draft and we're very happy to take them"

Jericho just on 10 news claiming he wasnt given a fair go!! Now i've heard everything. He believes he would have excelled had he been given consistent games. Sorry Luke, you were consistently dropped because you were a soft ****!

Good to see him copping it on the chin.

From his perspective however he could be a little confused, this after all was probably his best ever season for the AFC!:o

I think you'll find the Crows were saved from using some of their aggression by the retirements of Mcgregor, Basset and to a lesser extent Biglands. The loss of Biglands, Basset, Mcgregor and Massie will significantly decrease the average age of our side again. Following last season's end of year clean-out, this one wasn't going to be massive.

Next year will be pretty crazy too

McLeod will probably go to 2010 baring injury, but Edwards Goody Shirley and Doughty could all be lacing them up for the last year

We got Kite with pick 71 last year in a draft considerably less deep than this draft.

I can only see us elevating Petrenko, Moss and possibly Martin should be retained but not upgraded.

The PSD is a possibility but I believe the Crows already said something about not intending to use a PSD pick.

Bugger, it's already been said.....bloody driving home.

I guess I just agree in that case :D

he'll probably get picked up else where. wouldn't suprise me if we pick him up again in the PSD either.

No bassett, no massie.. Wheres the medium size mobile backman?

Terrible decision on massie i think.. Good year this year, played some great games..

And yes a terrific person, one of the nicest involved in footy..

Agree shocking decision, in the later part of this season he has been a rock in defence and his defensive marking abilty being a standout, could have given 4 years more to the AFC:thumbsd:

he had what 5 years to prove himself jesus what more does he want?

Joke right? :confused: lol, he's ot to be kidding

6 years

0 contests hit hard

All very good decisions by the club. I effectively called this decision a couple months ago, although I thought Edwards would retire and Massie would be saved, but did mention he would be next in line due to the role he plays.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=12216642&postcount=54

[/brag]

Gallman started the year injured and then played out of position at FB at 188cm. Its funny how the tide changes so dramatically on BF regarding players that no one really knows much about. He has a great tank and has a real shot at making it as a midfielder as well.

Massie was unlucky, but he truly is the definition of a 2nd/3rd stringer. He was drafted quite high on the prospect of spending most of his time in the middle, which he could have used his height and overhead skills very well. However, he never graduated from the medium defender role, which is essentially the spot on the ground for development players. Gallman fits right into this role, but hopefully over time he can use his tank and pace to take his game where Massie was unable to. Not to mention Symes, Stevens, Otten, Dangerfield and Kite amongst others all more than capable of filling the Massie role. Also keep in mind, we did plenty fine in the first 10~ games of the year without Massie. He is younger, but wasn't as highly valued as Torney. If we are really renewing our list, Massie was an obvious choice. I look forward to seeing Kris down at The Parade next year, fingers crossed.

Campbell, also a great SANFL footballer, but without the disposal and pace to every make it at AFL. Drafting him in the first place was ludicrous and a desperate lunge for a flag by topping up on a fringe player.

Also, anyone who thinks we should have cut deeper - keep yer hats on Holly Hotpants. Do you really rate a 6th rounder over someone still on our list? Remember that in the last "ultra deep super draft" 2006 that Campbell & Gill were our round 4 & 5 picks. I'd hate to imagine what we would have picked in round 6 - although there was some OK talent in that rookie draft - Gallman at #54!

Anyway, thanks to all three players for their contribution to the club and I'll cheer on next year to a Legs flag!

Next year will be pretty crazy too

McLeod will probably go to 2010 baring injury, but Edwards Goody Shirley and Doughty could all be lacing them up for the last year
Doughty is signed on for 2 years...but next year, i do see at least 2 of the big 3 retire and Shirley might be pressured to do so as well.
he'll probably get picked up else where. wouldn't suprise me if we pick him up again in the PSD either.
:eek: i think there would be uproar.
i agree; 6 years in a team which has lacked forwards...??? he can go play for a bottom team to see if he can get a gig there. my guess is, he'll be overlooked.

Disappointed for Massie and agree Gallman should've gone. I think the Torney situation was a little different because we still had Bassett and Massie in what i call the 'courageous' department down back. Now both have left in the season, I'm intrigued as to what Neil Craig will do next season. Gallman better be good.......

I reckon Jericho will be picked up in the PSD too.

Jericho is complaining about not getting a fair go? Christ almighty. The sad thing is, some people (who obviously haven't watch him play) agree with him, I often get my Port supporting friends making fun of the Crows because they don't play him even though "every time you play him he kicks four goals and then gets dropped".

What a bloody sook. He had years to make a career and the talent to succeed but clearly never wanted it enough.

Disappointed for Massie and agree Gallman should've gone. I think the Torney situation was a little different because we still had Bassett and Massie in what i call the 'courageous' department down back. Now both have left in the season, I'm intrigued as to what Neil Craig will do next season. Gallman better be good.......

I reckon Jericho will be picked up in the PSD too.

To be honest, and I rate Massie as a player who did his role and got a lot out of a little and I rate him as a person, but I rather see what Gallman is like with another preseason than persist with someone that we know what we have, and wont be on the team in 2 years when we begin our premiership run.

Oh and if we pick up Softy MaGee in the PSD i'm flying over and heckling him through the summer to see if he'll grow a pair and fire up, if he doesn't i'll step on the fleshy sack where his balls should be and bitch slap him until something starts growing.

Why do so many people think Jericho will get picked up in the PSD?

We would have shopped him around trade week for three straight years where no one showed any interest.

In a year with a supposedly strong draft wouldn't the chances of absolute duds being recycled be minimalised?

I reckon Jericho and Campbell's best chance to have another shot at the AFL would be to sign up for Southport in the QAFL to try and get right under GC17s nose!

No real surprises.

I think Massie can count himself unlucky in as much as he probably had one of best seasons or at least half a season this year. Unfortunately for him where the club is and the profile of the playing group, he was a fairly obvious choice to go. I admit I had Doughty to be delisted at the end of this year. Certainly will be very interesting to see who gets the job down back of the youngsters.

As for Jericho, good riddance. Never have I had less confidence in a Crows player winning the ball in a 1 on 1 situation. So glad he is gone.

We would have shopped him around trade week for three straight years where no one showed any interest.

In a year with a supposedly strong draft wouldn't the chances of absolute duds being recycled be minimalised?

I reckon Jericho and Campbell's best chance to have another shot at the AFL would be to sign up for Southport in the QAFL to try and get right under GC17s nose!

players get picked up in the PSD all the time - look at Cam Cloke - why pay for something if you can just grab it for the equivalent of pick 93

Very sad to see Massie go, but it was definately the right decision for the development of the list. Very similar to the Torney de-listing, minus the shock. I feel sorry for the guy, but he did have a good, lengthly AFL career and I'm sure he has a few years in the SANFL left. Congratulations on a very decent stint in the AFL, Kris.

Campbell tried very hard but just didn't have what it takes to be an AFL level footballer.

Jericho... plenty of talent but just way too soft and inconsistant.

I don't think thats quite true!

Carlton showed interest in Jericho last year but we decided to keep him because we didn't like what they were offering.

As for this year, there is no way any club that was interested in him would have given up anything because they are confident that he would be delisted and they can pick him up for basically nothing.

I think he is a pretty good chance to get picked up!

Jericho was drafted with pick 32 at the end of the 2002 season.

He's had six years to prove himself and earn selection, not expect it.

Why he thinks that the rest of the team has to bust their guts and he doesn't is beyond me.

On your bike Luke and start pedalling :mad:.