News Crows eye Walker, Jacobs

• Thread starter Thread starter Ricksta13

didn't Carlton offered Robbie Warnock $400k per year over a 3 or 4 year contract which is more than what we are offering Jacobs
While this may well be true, have you ever tried to add up the amounts that players have "reportedly" signed on for?

Try doing it and see if you can get under the TPP.;)

Reporting........speculating.......not much difference these days.

didn't Carlton offered Robbie Warnock $400k per year over a 3 or 4 year contract which is more than what we are offering Jacobs

and what was the trade?

Warnock and 69 to Carlton for 24, 56 and 72

Carlton have set their own precedent on this issue

Which is closer to pick 14 and a late exchange of picks in your favour than pick 33 in this draft.....good to see the penny has finally dropped :)

and what was the trade?

Warnock and 69 to Carlton for 24, 56 and 72

Carlton have set their own precedent on this issue

Precedent's mean zip in a trade. It's not a Law case. Negotiation is all about Leverage. Who has it, and who doesn't.

:)

I'm enjoying the way the blues are handling this, Rendall from Sadelaide said that blues are being fair and expected a deal to be done............Icke walks out this arvo and says they a miles apart on a trade so i take from the this :

Adelaide are the worst possible traders in the AFL, They obviously had a fair deal from us and then "Craig" who's list did not need improvment this time last year and was expected top 4 side must of piped up with some bull**** and Swanny and the lads smiled and quietly asked them to take their second heads and ****off across the border!

Tippet will be lead ruck for them next year and Jacobs will be at St Kilda on Gardeners wage with Armitage at Blues.:D

Will be interesting to find out the other Clubs we're talking with about Jacobs. Suspect it'll be the Saints, and maybe the Hawks, Cats, or even Port. Opens up a new set of possibilities in terms of draft pick and player compensation. Interesting.

Bad news for Crows supporters.

Icke just confirmed "several" other clubs are now pursing Jacobs as well as the Crows.

Not surprising..
Sure he's expressed his interest in going home, but if he wasn't 4th in line he woud be staying anyway. So hopefully Sam isn't against going to another Melbourne club.

I think St.Kilda would have to be into him..

I reckon Geelong might be in the box seat, after all Geelong is pretty much the same as Adelaide anyway, so he won't be homesick.

So who would be the best Club for us to trade with in terms of compensation/players?

Saints?
Hawks?
Cats?
Port?

Port have the highest draft picks, and they have a better midfield than the crows and so would benefit more. Not sure if they have any players we'd be interested in.

The other 3 have latter draft picks, but potentially better players.

It's morphing into a bidding war.

I reckon Geelong might be in the box seat, after all Geelong is pretty much the same as Adelaide anyway, so he won't be homesick.

Blake and Hawkins were a total disaster in the ruck this year. Ottens is still very good, but is struggling to stay on the park. Sammy would be perfect for them.

Would Jacobs want to go anywhere other than Adelaide. Probably he'd settle for Port, but otherwise... I did get the impression that his move was more towards 'going home' rather than 'greater opportunites'.

I get the feeling, but if he doesn't really mind being away from home and would prefer to play consistent AFL footy then he could stay in Melbourne

Can I ask why Jacobs chose Adelaide over Port. Apart from the fact that it's a shithouse club.

Same opportunities at both clubs? Or does he have connections at the Crows?

rumour is adelaide only want to give up their second rounder :o

this week will be very interesting

But Parrot said we were handing over pick 14!!!! lol I think the crows would be saying 2nd rounder or you can keep him. I would only offer a 3rd rounder plus Sellar.

Can I ask why Jacobs chose Adelaide over Port. Apart from the fact that it's a shithouse club.

I was wondering that too? Why one team over the other (apart fromt he obvious lol)

I'd suggest he believes success will be more easily attained due to the highlighted bits above.

I think the crows would be saying 2nd rounder or you can keep him. I would only offer a 3rd rounder plus Sellar.

Well considering Adelaide really don't value him enough then, I'd suggest he would be staying then, which he's quite happy to do as well.;)

But Parrot said we were handing over pick 14!!!! lol I think the crows would be saying 2nd rounder or you can keep him.....

lol. I said he won't be going to the Crows without pick 14, UNLESS you throw in a quality player i.e. NOT Sellar. I actually suspected the crows were regional amateurs, and that's why we're talking to professional clubs now. Doesn't bother us at all. In fact we'll probably get a better trade with the Saints, Cats or Hawks.

Crows are only one possibility. It a sellers market.

lol. I said he won't be going to the Crows without pick 14, UNLESS you throw in a quality player i.e. NOT Sellar. I actually suspected the crows were regional amateurs, and that's why we're talking to professional clubs now. Doesn't bother us at all. In fact we'll probably get a better trade with the Saints, Cats or Hawks.

Crows are only one possibility. It a sellers market.

Exactly. Jacobs is a quality ruckman, and he's still very young. The Crows seem to think that he's crap enough to be worth only a 2nd round pick (in which case, why do they want him?) or that their club is so wonderful that we should just take whatever they choose to throw our way. You want to offer a 2nd round pick? Good for you. We'll go elsewhere and talk to teams that are actually willing to make a fair trade. Call us back when your low-ball plan fails to land you anyone decent and maybe we can talk.

Most probably because, with us he'd be battling with Maric for no.1 ruck. At port, he has to battle Brogan.

That and the fact that Port weren't interested. Probably even less now too with the sub rule.